Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.981825
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

I first got involved with Proyecto Itzaes 12 years ago and have had the privilege of watching it grow from changing lives in one village to supporting education in five villages. PI provides a unique space in each community that allows for hands-on learning for kids and their parents (while making it fun!) that did not exist before PI. This resource and the activities that take place there reinforce the importance of community and early exposure to reading. I have watched kids grow up to pursue higher education as a result of PI.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 25, 2013

I have followed Proyecto Itzaes activities closely for many years and know Cindy Wilber very well. Cindy's energy, values, and devotion to helping others are a model for non profit leadership. She und... more

August 21, 2014

Proyecto Itzaes is an excellent example of how to be a high impact non profit. It is managed by a highly competent people with a passion for the organization's mission. As a financial supporter who has personally observed PI's activities, I can say that its work is having a big impact on local Yucatan communities. Financial resources are used very efficiently and are well focused on the organizations mission. It is easy for me to urge others to support PI as well. Bill Gomez

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 25, 2013

I have followed Proyecto Itzaes activities closely for many years and know Cindy Wilber very well. Cindy's energy, values, and devotion to helping others are a model for non profit leadership. She understands the Yucatan community and its needs extremely well. Proyecto Itzaes services are very well targeted and cost effective in servicing the community. My wife adn I are very enthusiastic donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Many places on this planet could benefit from using Proyecto Itzaes as a model. The seed for this project, planted by Cindy Wilbur in 1995, has grown and blossomed into a flower of literacy, education and community involvement that should travel well beyond the little Mayan village in the Yucatan Peninsula. Watching the progress on the PI Facebook page, and learning that once-illiterate children have been helped by PI to graduate from college and then come back to help others to do so tells me that the seed Cindy planted is bearing abundant fruit. Definitely a worthwhile organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Doctoral candidate in math education at Stanford University specializing in teacher education of linguistic and ethnic/racial minority students, and I have been a mathematics teacher for 22 years. What I like most about Proyecto Itzaes is that our donations translate into real differences for people at both the everyday and big-life levels. For example, the summer science projects brings engaging enrichment activities to children in these Yucatec Maya communities, and not only does this put smiles on their little faces, but it also lays the groundwork for their lifetime love affair with education. I have seen photos of children buried amidst mountains of legos, and they are building, creating, and flourishing. I have seen pics of children making games and activites, armed with only their imaginations and cardboard. I met a 22 year-old woman who was ushered through their programs since elementary school, who is now teaching at Proyecto Itzaes and is finishing her degree in math. She will be helping me with my research project in the Yucatan next year, and we are hoping that she goes to Stanford in the future to study math education to bring back her expertise to her local community. When you donate to Proyecto Itzaes, you are not just teaching a child for a day or a week or a school year, you are teaching a kid to love to learn for a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them have more money to bring even bigger opportunities to the local community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

PI is performing sustainable work in the Maya community of Yucatan. Its education programs are helping and inspiring children to pursue higher education. Support their mission!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes provides resources for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal villages of the Yucatan. PI has been providing access to books, essential school and learning sup... more

August 11, 2014

Proyecto Itzaes provides education resources, conservation of cultural heritage, and health information for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal Mayan villages of the Yucatan. I have been a donor and friend of PI since 2004. They provide access to books, essential school and learning supplies, 21st Century technology education, life skills and generational literacy programs and services producing amazing results. Many of the youth participating in the Proyecto Itzaes program have gone on to become graduates of the University of Merida, a testament to the quality of this extraordinary program! Many graduates have returned to their villages to start careers and businesses and also to volunteer at PI "to give back, pay it forward, and help the next generation of children and improve the quality life of the village." I know every dollar I commit to Proyecto Itzaes benefits and helps to improve the quality of life for children and will improve opportunities for their future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

Proyecto Itzaes provides resources for thousands of children and families living in the small coastal villages of the Yucatan. PI has been providing access to books, essential school and learning supplies, computer education, life skills and generational literacy programs and services producing amazing results. Many of the children participating in the Proyecto Itzaes program have gone on to become graduates of the University of Merida, a testament to the quality of this extraordinary program! Many of the graduates have returned to their villages starting successful careers and businesses and also volunteer at PI "to give back and help the next generation of children and improve the quality life of the village." I know every dollar I commit to PI benefits and helps to improve the quality of life for children and will improve opportunities for their future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

The work of Projecto Itzaes is extremely important and admirable! Their focus on educational resources is effective in improving the opportunities for the mayan community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2013

Projecto Itzaes is an amazing organization that is performing critical work to empower the Mayan community in Yucatan, Mexico. Providing both educational and health resources, the staff of PI works di... more

August 10, 2014

PI is an amazing organization with a devoted staff that is committed to improving the lives of Maya families in Yucatan. Please support generously!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2013

Projecto Itzaes is an amazing organization that is performing critical work to empower the Mayan community in Yucatan, Mexico. Providing both educational and health resources, the staff of PI works directly with the community to listen and comprehend the needs of a people that live on less than $1 a day. Respecting their cultural heritage, PI also provides the educational materials for the Mayan community to connect with the environment. PI has also coordinated trips so that the young children can visit the famous Mayan ruins in Yucatan and have the opportunity to get a glimpse into the history of their culture, which they otherwise would not be able to do given the high price of tourism. Thanks to PI, many of the families and young children are learning the value of eating healthy rather than spending the little money they make on cheap processed foods and drinks that have had a negative impact in the health of their community. Furthermore, with the resources and help of PI, some of the young people have gotten themselves into college and are using their education to help back home! It’s truly admiring the work that founder, Cindy Wilber, and Simon Clopton have done in this humble community. Donations to PI are more than just donations, they are an investment in the human capital of this indigenous community that has been undermined by society and the Mexican government for so long. PI is the organization to trust and believe in when it comes to using all the funding for the Mayan people it serves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

It's been a pleasure to work with the Proyecto Itzaes team; their longtime record and passion for serving students in the Yucatan region of Mexico is impressive and inspiring .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

The mission of Proyecto Itzaes (PI) is to help impoverished and neglected Maya families in the Yucatán with literacy, health, and a stronger economy. I’m very familiar with it, because as chair of International Service for the Rotary Club of Palo Alto, I have worked to have our club make several grants to PI and also traveled there three times to do hands-on work. When PI was founded, most people in the affected villages were illiterate fishermen or subsistence farmers. With our help, PI equipped an empty local library in one village with books and furniture and offered after-school classes on computer skills. The result was absolutely transforming: Children lined up every day with their book bags, and families began reading to each other. PI gave college scholarships to promising students, who returned with higher skills to teach others, following the motto of “Learning in order to Teach.” PI has since extended its program to five other villages, expanded its offerings to include subjects such as nutrition (to avoid Diabetes) and organic agriculture, and set up a successful farmers market. It would be hard to imagine a program with greater positive impact on people’s lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't see how they could do better with their limited resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers