Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.857145
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

Protect Yourself1 has helped us push our prevention program to the next level by putting our program in a youth attractive format. What is better than to find the right and best channel to convey one’s message to the audience? Thanks PY1 and keep up the great work…

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I am the organizer of TechSoup's NonProfit Commons in Second Life community of nonprofit practitioners , NGOs, and those who support social good organizations. Protect Yourself 1, is a valuable, long-time member of this community, who have shared their best practices and wisdom gleamed through the amazing work they do. They have also hosted numerous networking and awareness raising events for their professional peers. They are a community asset, doing great work, and share back freely to the community-at-large.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

Humanbe and Protect Yourself 1 are partners since 2013 to develop the Be A Protector Campaign – A social media and distance learning campaign to promote environmental education and sustainability, and provide community-level solutions for under-served, under-represented vulnerable populations to live healthier lives.

It is a great pleasure to work with the PY1 team comprised of professionals and share our goals to educate youth about a healthy lifestyle and environment protection...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That would be by giving them more opportunities to go further in what they do.. PY1 deserves to be supported.. They are the future of this planet..

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

PY1 is such an amazing program! The team of professionals there helped me and a group of students complete a SWOT analysis of their program. Not only did we find their program to be strong and fluid, but the connection and relationships we gained with them is unforgettable! Thank you PY1 for the great work that you do! Your community is very blessed to have you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

PY1 is no ordinary non-profit organization I have come across.Being from Africa,and specifically Kenya,where there are so many NGOs working on issues concerning on youth education,I am confident to say PY1 has stood out for me as quite unique. PY1 exhibits that helping young people is not just about giving them information, but making them be part of what they acquire. For example the use of horses,appreciating the environment, use of social media for youth to share experiences, these are elements that guide the young people to appreciate what is around them. That life is not just about problems and what you don't have, but embracing what is around you.There are many gifts around us but we do not easily identify them.
Molding young people in different ways to discover themselves and that's how they get to identify their strengths.In this way,the weaknesses and vulnerability are overshadowed by the wonderful discoveries.That is what PY1 has taught me.To me, PY1 is a guide who journeys with the young person to get to that destination of total discovery and empowerment.
As a youth educator in a faith based organization, I feel blessed to be associated with PY1 and for being such a source of innovative ideas for educating young people.
PY1, keep building this vital foundation by educating the youth,as you will be securing a great tomorrow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make changes but rather try yo help them better known,especially in Sub-Saharan Africa.They need to be known beyond the United States where there could be more impact .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

PY1, Inc. uses cutting-edge technologies and innovative programming to provide education about HIV and other sexually transmitted infection to young people of color. Its team of highly experienced professionals and cost-effective programs let PY1, Inc. offer donors the most "bang for their buck." I have been working as a journalist and consultant on HIV-related issues for more than 25 years, and can say from lots of experience that PY1, Inc. stands out and is worthy of funding and a five-star ranking.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013

more

June 1, 2013

PY1 has developed an innovative way to engage and educate youth. Their programming is entertaining and fun to participate in, while at the same time delivering positive messages and good advice that the audience can use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get more funding to expand the scope of their work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Protect Yourself 1, Inc. [ PY1 ] is currently working with youths in the Baltimore City Schools system this year and next due to a generous grant from the Annie Casey Foundation...I had a chance to volunteer my services at their booth at the recent Global Aids Conference in Washington DC [ July 2012 ].I am very familiar with the organizations and the work they do in this region. What I witness was the amazing reactions that PY1 was recieving from men and women from all over the world. Everyone from Africa and Europe to the Caribbean and Latin America were amazed at the accomplishments of the organization andit reaches out to a diverse populations. People [ Gayand straight ] recognized how important and valuable that these type of programs reach young kids before they reach High school. Many testify how alot of kids in their country are bullied or cast out by their friends what for the unwanted pregnancy to STD's and HIV. They talk about the stigma is overwhelming. People all acknowledge that PY1 is a program that can reached out to their youth and I was recieving orders and inquiries on how they can bring PY1 to their village , tribes , provinces, urban cities, and countries. They view PY1 as a 5 "star" organizationwith a program as a 5 "star" Safe Sex educational program. My experiences was of true amazement. I went away that evening totally blown away as to how many people of all ages and skin colors were affected by the mission and the dedicated staff of PY1. My experience as a professional in this field and a volunteer that week far PY1 far exceeded my expectation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Protect Yourself 1 is a dedicated educational group that seeks to present highly sensitive science information about HIV, STIs and other illnesses in a framework and medium that is both portable and palatable for children of all ages. PY1 has been accepted in local schools to conduct activities and full school presentations at all class levels. PY1 takes learning through skits and puppetry to a whole new level. Extremely enjoyable, highly interactive - bottom line, kids LEARN!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

ProtectYourself1 has proven to be one of the best tools for reaching an important market across the nation which is very important to those of us who are health professionals. I am a Senior Fellow in Social Marketing with the National Center for Health Behavioral Change (www.nchbc.org) which is funded by the Kellogg Foundation, and the one responsible for bringing PY1 to the attention of our Principal Investigator, Dr. Jay C. Chunn. We write the curriculum for the school of publichealth at MOrgan State University in Baltimore, MD, and advise other schools of public health across the nation. At the time (2004) we were preparing to participate in a national conference on HIV & AIDS in Atlanta, GA (a city known for men on the "down low", and the home of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). By partnering with PY1, and making PY1's club video available to night clubs in the city, and using it as an incentive to get conference attendees to visit our table, we were able to get the HIV prevention message distributed to over 100 cities in less than six weeks. In addition NCHBC was able to grow its mailing list for future collaborations with health care professionals all over the nation. PY1 is an important organization in the effort to keep attention focused on HIV & AIDS because now that people are living longer with the infection disease many have retruned to risky behavior. PY1's music, and video format is perfectly tailored to educate without being intrusive, or condemning. The message resonates, and is free of stigma. PY1 has my vote. John Milton Wesley

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with rescue horse husbandry:(water, feed, groom, clean stales; assist with youth scholar supervision; teach life-skills; educate youth scholar about HIV/AIDS , health and wellness. Volunteer