Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

We are an organization that provides academic residential housing for at-risk youth in Baltimore, MD. We have partnered with Protect Yourself 1 which has given our scholars a tremendous awareness of HIV/AIDS prevention through youth-friendly technology. Also, it gave them an opportunity to have hands-on experience in nature (gardening, yoga, horseback riding, and overnight camping).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide a better way for more people to know about it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2012

more

September 5, 2012

I have witnessed an amazing group of people who are dedicated to educating our youth about risky behavior and the danger of HIV/AIDS. The cutting edge technology in which they communicate their message keeps children interested and excited in learning. PY1's team has used imagination and shown extreem effort in making a difference in young people's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2012

As an educator and librarian who values top quality programs for at-risk youth, I am honored to serve as a volunteer and advocate for ProtectYourself1 and Project Arrowhead. This unique program offer... more

July 7, 2013

Project Arrowhead is an extraordinary and unique program for at-risk youth in Maryland. It is my great pleasure to serve as a donor and to help keep this farm and its horses in a position to serve youth in need of healthy and humane learning experiences. Not only is Project Arrowhead important for youth, but also for its mission to help protect wild horses. I donate to this project as I know that all of the funds are used to directly serve horses and humans in a healthy and natural environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to find more donors to support the PY1 mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2012

As an educator and librarian who values top quality programs for at-risk youth, I am honored to serve as a volunteer and advocate for ProtectYourself1 and Project Arrowhead. This unique program offers experiences with horses, nature, technology, and classical instruction to students who are most at-risk and most neglected. All of the youth who participate in the camp and in the school game activities receive memorable experiences that will never be forgotten. Learning to trust others, to take care of oneself, and to help create a healthier and more humane environment are the invaluable lessons learned by those who participate in this program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I volunteered over two weekends with Project Arrowhead, a project of Protect Yourself 1, in the summer of 2011. I watched Jean Albert Renaud, or JAR, work with youth from Washington, DC, and teach them how to respect, handle, and ride horses. JAR is magical to watch, with both kids and horses. He speaks their language. It was clear that the experience was transformative for the young people -- their faces lit up as soon as they climbed atop a horse! The program also included education on AIDS prevention., and the youth seemed to be quite engaged with this educational piece. PY1 and Project Arrowhead provide a unique and inspirational adventure for the youth and for everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with rescue horse husbandry:(water, feed, groom, clean stales; assist with youth scholar supervision; teach life-skills; educate youth scholar about HIV/AIDS , health and wellness. Volunteer