Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.857145
Write A Review
July 16, 2013

more

July 16, 2013

PY1 is such an amazing program! The team of professionals there helped me and a group of students complete a SWOT analysis of their program. Not only did we find their program to be strong and fluid, but the connection and relationships we gained with them is unforgettable! Thank you PY1 for the great work that you do! Your community is very blessed to have you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

PY1 is no ordinary non-profit organization I have come across.Being from Africa,and specifically Kenya,where there are so many NGOs working on issues concerning on youth education,I am confident to say PY1 has stood out for me as quite unique. PY1 exhibits that helping young people is not just about giving them information, but making them be part of what they acquire. For example the use of horses,appreciating the environment, use of social media for youth to share experiences, these are elements that guide the young people to appreciate what is around them. That life is not just about problems and what you don't have, but embracing what is around you.There are many gifts around us but we do not easily identify them.
Molding young people in different ways to discover themselves and that's how they get to identify their strengths.In this way,the weaknesses and vulnerability are overshadowed by the wonderful discoveries.That is what PY1 has taught me.To me, PY1 is a guide who journeys with the young person to get to that destination of total discovery and empowerment.
As a youth educator in a faith based organization, I feel blessed to be associated with PY1 and for being such a source of innovative ideas for educating young people.
PY1, keep building this vital foundation by educating the youth,as you will be securing a great tomorrow.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make changes but rather try yo help them better known,especially in Sub-Saharan Africa.They need to be known beyond the United States where there could be more impact .

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

Protect Yourself 1, Inc. is such an innovative and engaging nonprofit, as they have utilized immersive environments to educate and create advocates by actively participating in the virtual world of Second Life. Their staff has outreach that is beyond borders through community meetings, special events, and educational seminars. They are professional and passionate about how they help those with HIV and have effectively expressed the way we all are impacted by HIV while teaching us how we can make a difference on a local and global scale.

My experiences with PY1 have been with them at the Nonprofit Commons in Second Life and I have showcased their successes at many community events. They are an amazing team to work with and support! Please visit their virtual office at http://slurl.com/secondlife/Aloft%20Nonprofit%20Commons/236/169/24

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2011

My experience with Protect Yourself 1, Inc. as Events Director has been to organize events such as PY1 HEALTHSCAPE which is a great forum for PY1 to participate in the Community‘s efforts to make a ... more

July 9, 2013

During 7 years, I was involved in PY1's organization as the Events Director. The corporate team is a small, tight-knit, organized, highly creative and motivated team of professionals working to develop programs and services aimed at increasing PY1's presence in the national fight against HIV/AIDS.

PY1 has developed programs such as Safe2Live or Project Arrowhead to engage youth living in high risk communities for HIV infection in the Washington- Baltimore corridor. The programs consist of state-of-the-art, culturally relevant, age-appropriate, and engaging educational productions to contribute to an AIDS-Free Generation.

PY1 deserves support and funding, the organization is transparent and is investing more than 90 % of their funding in these programs. I am very proud to have been part of such a great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make changes

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2011

My experience with Protect Yourself 1, Inc. as Events Director has been to organize events such as PY1 HEALTHSCAPE which is a great forum for PY1 to participate in the Community‘s efforts to make a difference in the fight against AIDS. Protect Yourself 1, Inc.'s partnership with church, government, community and business leaders enabled the development of PY1 HEALTHSCAPE as an Event that focuses on HIV/ STD testing, as well as other health issues affecting Inner City community residents. My role is to develop partnerships that PY1 HEALTHSCAPE will grow to have an increasing impact on many Communities and encourage positive health behavioral changes among African Americans from neighborhoods where the HIV infection rate is alarming.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced the effectiveness of PY1 Healthscape by the number of people tested for HIV and STD's during the event, as well as the amount of information dessiminated to Baltimore City inner city residents on many health topics.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to Protect Yourself 1, Inc.; I would develop more partnerships and give more exposure to PY1 Healthscape in order to get the necessary funding to develop PY1 Healthscape locally, regionally and even nationally to save lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Protect Yourself 1, Inc. is unique because of use of multi-media productions to spread the urgent message of HIV and STD awareness, education and prevention to at-risk populations.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 19, 2012

As an educator and librarian who values top quality programs for at-risk youth, I am honored to serve as a volunteer and advocate for ProtectYourself1 and Project Arrowhead. This unique program offer... more

July 7, 2013

Project Arrowhead is an extraordinary and unique program for at-risk youth in Maryland. It is my great pleasure to serve as a donor and to help keep this farm and its horses in a position to serve youth in need of healthy and humane learning experiences. Not only is Project Arrowhead important for youth, but also for its mission to help protect wild horses. I donate to this project as I know that all of the funds are used to directly serve horses and humans in a healthy and natural environment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to find more donors to support the PY1 mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2012

As an educator and librarian who values top quality programs for at-risk youth, I am honored to serve as a volunteer and advocate for ProtectYourself1 and Project Arrowhead. This unique program offers experiences with horses, nature, technology, and classical instruction to students who are most at-risk and most neglected. All of the youth who participate in the camp and in the school game activities receive memorable experiences that will never be forgotten. Learning to trust others, to take care of oneself, and to help create a healthier and more humane environment are the invaluable lessons learned by those who participate in this program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

PY1, Inc. uses cutting-edge technologies and innovative programming to provide education about HIV and other sexually transmitted infection to young people of color. Its team of highly experienced professionals and cost-effective programs let PY1, Inc. offer donors the most "bang for their buck." I have been working as a journalist and consultant on HIV-related issues for more than 25 years, and can say from lots of experience that PY1, Inc. stands out and is worthy of funding and a five-star ranking.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

PY1 has been helpful and very prompt with services. They have encouraged and mentored Encouraging The World, a start up non-profit that received the same BMe 2013 Leadership Award as PY1 . They are dedicated to HIV awareness and building community. Go book a stay at the ranch! The horses are amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 30, 2012

I am proud to have been supporting this organization since 2005. With minimum funds it has learned how to maximize those dollars in order to reach the greatest number of children with the Safe2Live Ca... more

June 12, 2013

As a Board Member I continue to be amazed by the outreach and impact of this organization. With limited resources of finances and manpower they still reach a wide audience through all forms of media and word of mouth. PY1 is always in an education and awareness mode. Teaching and instructing about ones personal responsibility in life, safe sex and HIV/Aids through printed material, speaking engagements, puppet presentations in schools and equine riding and training at the ranch reaches children and adults of all ages. They do a wonderful job of keeping the public informed and current on these issues. PY1 lives up to their mission and vison statements.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them with an endless stream of funds to remove the constant burden and emotional rollercoaster of chasing funds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2012

I am proud to have been supporting this organization since 2005. With minimum funds it has learned how to maximize those dollars in order to reach the greatest number of children with the Safe2Live Campaign, the creation of a mobil puppet theater and virtual games. These programs capture the attention and engage children in educational activities that teach them why they should not participate in unsafe activities. The children learn about HIV and AIDS so that they are educated and not just told NO to something that is enticing. They become advocates that teach their friends and family members one on one about the behaviors that can lead someone to become a victim. Thus, creating an unmeasurable communication system that is proactive by making the public aware and educated about HIV and AIDS. This is the best form of prevention in action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2011

I have been involved with Protect Yourself 1 as a board member since 2005. As a relatively new organization funding has and will remain a vital need to continue the mission of PY1. While everyone I have come in contact with supports the efforts and says PY1 has a great program that increases awareness, provides education on the subject and teaches prevention methods about HIV and associated diseases. What has been amazing is to watch the continued creativity of staff and PY1's partners that continue to develop information, materials and programs that are becoming acknowledged in the community but is making a difference in the lives of children and families around the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personnally experienced the results of this organization through written and verbal feedback from children and their parents that have attended a puppet presentation. I have become more aware and knowledgeable about the subject because of this organization. Most importantly i know there is now hope and life where there was death and fear before because of the efforts of PY1.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to fund the work and ideas of PY1 so that more energy and effort would be directed at the problem of HIV and those lives it impacts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Serving as a board member

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Reaching it's audience, the world one city at a time.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Ongoing financial support.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2013

more

June 1, 2013

PY1 has developed an innovative way to engage and educate youth. Their programming is entertaining and fun to participate in, while at the same time delivering positive messages and good advice that the audience can use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them get more funding to expand the scope of their work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

PY1 is a great organization because they promote HIV awareness in under served communities. My nephew was a part of project arrowhead and loved every minute of experiencing horses. It gave him a different perspective on all of the possibilities life has to offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with rescue horse husbandry:(water, feed, groom, clean stales; assist with youth scholar supervision; teach life-skills; educate youth scholar about HIV/AIDS , health and wellness. Volunteer