Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.81255
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

Protect Yourself 1 has made tremendous contributions in Baltimore for infectious disease education and related programs. I have personally seen the tireless efforts of the President of this organization to make a difference in the life of kids and youth of Baltimore.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Protect Yourself 1, Inc. [ PY1 ] is currently working with youths in the Baltimore City Schools system this year and next due to a generous grant from the Annie Casey Foundation...I had a chance to volunteer my services at their booth at the recent Global Aids Conference in Washington DC [ July 2012 ].I am very familiar with the organizations and the work they do in this region. What I witness was the amazing reactions that PY1 was recieving from men and women from all over the world. Everyone from Africa and Europe to the Caribbean and Latin America were amazed at the accomplishments of the organization andit reaches out to a diverse populations. People [ Gayand straight ] recognized how important and valuable that these type of programs reach young kids before they reach High school. Many testify how alot of kids in their country are bullied or cast out by their friends what for the unwanted pregnancy to STD's and HIV. They talk about the stigma is overwhelming. People all acknowledge that PY1 is a program that can reached out to their youth and I was recieving orders and inquiries on how they can bring PY1 to their village , tribes , provinces, urban cities, and countries. They view PY1 as a 5 "star" organizationwith a program as a 5 "star" Safe Sex educational program. My experiences was of true amazement. I went away that evening totally blown away as to how many people of all ages and skin colors were affected by the mission and the dedicated staff of PY1. My experience as a professional in this field and a volunteer that week far PY1 far exceeded my expectation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Protect Yourself 1 is a dedicated educational group that seeks to present highly sensitive science information about HIV, STIs and other illnesses in a framework and medium that is both portable and palatable for children of all ages. PY1 has been accepted in local schools to conduct activities and full school presentations at all class levels. PY1 takes learning through skits and puppetry to a whole new level. Extremely enjoyable, highly interactive - bottom line, kids LEARN!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

ProtectYourself1 has proven to be one of the best tools for reaching an important market across the nation which is very important to those of us who are health professionals. I am a Senior Fellow in Social Marketing with the National Center for Health Behavioral Change (www.nchbc.org) which is funded by the Kellogg Foundation, and the one responsible for bringing PY1 to the attention of our Principal Investigator, Dr. Jay C. Chunn. We write the curriculum for the school of publichealth at MOrgan State University in Baltimore, MD, and advise other schools of public health across the nation. At the time (2004) we were preparing to participate in a national conference on HIV & AIDS in Atlanta, GA (a city known for men on the "down low", and the home of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). By partnering with PY1, and making PY1's club video available to night clubs in the city, and using it as an incentive to get conference attendees to visit our table, we were able to get the HIV prevention message distributed to over 100 cities in less than six weeks. In addition NCHBC was able to grow its mailing list for future collaborations with health care professionals all over the nation. PY1 is an important organization in the effort to keep attention focused on HIV & AIDS because now that people are living longer with the infection disease many have retruned to risky behavior. PY1's music, and video format is perfectly tailored to educate without being intrusive, or condemning. The message resonates, and is free of stigma. PY1 has my vote. John Milton Wesley

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2012

more

September 5, 2012

I have witnessed an amazing group of people who are dedicated to educating our youth about risky behavior and the danger of HIV/AIDS. The cutting edge technology in which they communicate their message keeps children interested and excited in learning. PY1's team has used imagination and shown extreem effort in making a difference in young people's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012

more

August 10, 2012

Protect Yourself1 has a strong and vibrant track record of utilizing leading edge technology to adress long term health needs of adolescents. PY1 has received accolades from AIDS.gov and other groups who are planning for the next coming wave of health related social media. They are an ethically governed organization that is a good conservator of their resources. Simply put, they implement innovative HIV/AIDS programs for youthi with minimal capital. They are worthy of strong support

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2012

more

July 31, 2012

this is a very important organization the work they do to educate the youth will help them tremendously remember the youth is our future and education is the way

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

very impressed with the professionalism and dedication of this group. nobody else is targeting these youth. well done, very much looking forward to what else they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I volunteered over two weekends with Project Arrowhead, a project of Protect Yourself 1, in the summer of 2011. I watched Jean Albert Renaud, or JAR, work with youth from Washington, DC, and teach them how to respect, handle, and ride horses. JAR is magical to watch, with both kids and horses. He speaks their language. It was clear that the experience was transformative for the young people -- their faces lit up as soon as they climbed atop a horse! The program also included education on AIDS prevention., and the youth seemed to be quite engaged with this educational piece. PY1 and Project Arrowhead provide a unique and inspirational adventure for the youth and for everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2011

more

June 27, 2011

Protect Yourself 1 is an organization doing work of the highest importance, and one that is finding innovative ways to do so. One such way is with their Safe2Live project, in which they engage the community around HIV prevention and awareness in the virtual world Second Life. Their executive director, Monique Richert, is a forward thinker and a pleasure to interact with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am touched by the efforts to raise awareness about HIV, as well as to change the stigma of those living with HIV.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with rescue horse husbandry:(water, feed, groom, clean stales; assist with youth scholar supervision; teach life-skills; educate youth scholar about HIV/AIDS , health and wellness. Volunteer