Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
123.7545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've followed this group for 2 years. It concinced me that the "Our" in their name is inclusive, not exclusive as one writer suggests. I am continually reminded that the Public Trust Doctrine in this country makes us all responsible for the health of our aquatic resources, and that we all have rights to access those resources, even the waters across private tidelands. I live in the country, but my friends in cities cannot grasp how Washington State governments can literally give away Puget Sound to commercial interests who pay little for the use of local government agencies, very little in property tax compared to the return from their aquatic products, and fight any attempts to regulate their practices. Protect Our Shoreline links many communities who would otherwise feel left out of the decision making process, lack easy access to ongoing scientific studies, and/or lack information on how to engage with others who share concerns about salmon recovery and the health of Puget Sound as a national treasure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This was one of the first organizations to make agencies and the public aware that the shellfish industry was no longer the benign and passive industry it used to be. Among many other things, Protect Our Shoreline has made people aware the shellfish industry has: introduced non-native species into Puget Sound's waters and tidelands; consider native species to be "pests" which should be erradicated with chemical treatments; consider tideland habitat to be nothing more than somewhere to place their structures to grow shellfish in; and, are becoming wealthy at the expense of future generations ability to enjoy Puget Sound's natural habitat and species.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization helping to preserve Puget Sound's shorelines from being developed for aquaculture.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 13, 2009

more

October 13, 2009

Do NOT donate to these folks if you are looking to support environmental conservation. They are a conservative property rights group that operates under the guise of environmentalism in order to roadblock projects to cultivate native shellfish species in Puget Sound. "Protect Our Shorelines" opposes these projects because they primarily represent homeowners whose waterfront views are impacted by aquacultural activities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Slanderous and untrue newspaper articles written by uninformed reporters who have interviewed Ms. Hendricks, the group's principal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Ways to make it better...

The organization had fostered debate with the other side instead of totally disregarding their opponents beliefs.

One thing I'd also say is that...

They often use dubious scientific data to get their point across.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers