Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12.25345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 2, 2013

more

December 2, 2013

My husband and his brother were diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2012 and that's when we started looking for more information online and came across the Prostate Cancer Foundation. We spoke with many friends and family members who are in the medicine field and heard several negative things about this charity, chiefly that the research funding they conduct is not transparent, i.e. the same folks in the same research institutions keep getting $$. To confirm we checked on their website and found this to be the case. No doubt, working to find a cure for prostate cancer might be some of these doctors' life's mission but we found it too good to be true that the same folks get the money year after year. Our friends in the medicine fraternity also pointed to the fact that many of the top executives in this charity receive direct honorariums/consulting fees etc. from top pharma. That in our minds is a direct conflict of interest. Plus, after reading other reviewers comments on the CEO's salary, we checked and were actually surprised that Jonathan W. Simmons is making over a million ($1.5 M) per year, all from money donated to find a cure for prostate cancer?? Especially when CEOs of other charities are making much less. A review of the salaries of their top executives is also very surprising. These salaries sound more like they are paying themselves at the rates of large corporations, from money that they haven't really worked hard to earn, but from money that is someone else's hard work and given out of kindness and benevolence for a noble cause. This plus the fact that the funding is not transparent and fair made us decide to donate our hard earned money elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My father died of advanced prostate cancer in 1999. Since then, I have become a patient advocate. I have two brothers who also have contracted Prostate Cancer. Our entire extended family is directly invested in finding a for PC. There are comments in other reviews about CEO compensation. Instead of assessing a charity based on compensation I believe it should be evaluated based on results. PCF is an unwavering champions for individuals suffering from Prostate Cancer. They have championed and accelerated at least 30 breakthrough drunks that effectively treat both early and advanced Prostate Cancer. One of these therapies - Zytiga would have extended my father's life. It is effectively extending life for many advanced prostate cancer patients as we speak. In addition, PCF has developed and organized teams of medical research that represent the best scientific minds in relation to Prostate Cancer. Their researchers include super stars such as William B. Issacs, PhD, and Robert Getzenberg, PhD at Johns Hopkins and Peter Nelson, MD, and Elahe Mostagel, MD, PhD, at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and the University of Washington. Both John Hopkins and Hutchinson are at the top of the treatment ladder for anyone suffering from Prostate Cancer.

Research, team building and staying focused on the core mission all falls under the responsibilities of a CEO. This is my definition of an effective charity. Our family is so dedicated to PCF that when our mother died we established a memorial fund in memory of both of our parents. I've worked in the non-profit field for several years, primarily in the fundraising and financial arena. The CEO is critical to fundraising and managing the use of donations. In my opinion the CEO for PCF is worth every cent he earns.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 26, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I agree that the CEO's pay is way too high for a small charity (assets under $40MM).How do they justify using 3+ per cent of its assets for to pay the CEO? It makes me question whether i will continue to support it .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

In 2009 Jonathan Simons President, CEO, was making $477,500. Now, three years later, he's making $1,204,968 ??? Look at the Lance Armstrong Foundation where the CEO makes $322k or the V Foundation's CEO making $174k or the Lynn Sage Cancer Research Foundation where the CEO makes zero!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers