Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Four of us from Rhode Island visited New Jersey to help out and stayed at the Little Ferry ostel. Great experience! Given how many projects are going on, I was very impressed with how well it was project managed, and I also very very much appreciated the hospitality of our host, Kelly! We made a great new friend, and just hope that our time in NJ was a help to those who need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

David Skoblar is my nephew so that you may think that this review is biased. I am an attorney and occasionally offer advice to Dave as he fights to establish this charity. I have seen him selflessly dedicate himself to this project over several years. I can proudly say that he is done a lot of good for a lot of people-both the victims of disasters as well as the charity's volunteers. This was never more evident than during the aftermath of Super Storm Sandy. David is a bear of a man. Soon after the storm a "kindhearted" landlord told him he had to vacate the premises immediately. This entailed moving thousands of pieces of donated furniture, appliances, construction materials-you name it. Not only did David collect all the stuff for the needy, he now had to move it at the worst time. My nephew spent countless hours doing so much of the work single-handedly. I was never more proud of him. Anyone who participates with this charity should be glad to have someone like David in charge.

Sincerely, Robert A. Skoblar, ESQ

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I have volunteered with Project195 twice now and thoroughly enjoyed my time serving others by rehabilitating homes, (muckouts, waterproofing, etc.). They are doing great things for Hurricane Sandy Relief in the Bergen County NJ area, and I'm thankful to have had the opportunity to partner with them. I look forward to continue working with them to serve our community in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have had the pleasure of working with the founders of this organization which I find to be unique. Most charities have executives who sit in an office and never show their face to the people they are helping. Dave and Pat are two extraordinary, hardworking and dedicated members. The work this organization completes is remarkable, inspiring and fast. Projects are completed timely with heart. I have been able to witness MANY happy families benefit from Project195 and the organization is only going to continue to thrive. Time, organization and committment are three key components this charity has and because of this, volunteers are coming from all over the country to volunteer happily, affordably and they share some amazing experiences. If you're looking for a place or organization to volunteer, Project195 is it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Our Alternative Spring Break Plans were ruined a two weeks before our group was scheduled to help with another charity. We were about to cancel our trip, when one of our group forwarded me an email about Project195.I called expecting a "sorry but we can't help you", but instead Pat and Dan(?) not only found work but lodging at the Little Moon House for all 20 of us! Project195 saved our trip. Saved us thousands of dollars in expenses(Hotel rooms&meals) and were super helpful in making our trip an amazing experience!
John was an excellent site leader.We delivered families food, clothing and furniture and helped decontaminate homes damaged by Hurricane Sandy. Dan even cooked us an amazing Italian style dinner on our last night. Project195 is awesome!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Our church group has been doing relief trips for over 30 years and nowhere have we seen a more hard working and caring organization. After we first found out about Project195 in New Orleans, we have continued to work with them in Joplin, Missouri Tuscaloosa, Alabama and now in Little Ferry N.J.
We're already looking forward to 2014 to work with them again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to get them properly funded. We've never encountered a charity that does so much, yet so well, with so little. If they had a good grant writing team or angel investor, they could help much more than even the impressive amount they already do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In August, I found myself between jobs with a month on my hands. I started looking around for groups doing volunteer work with whom I felt I could make a real impact in just a few days or a week. I found Project195 and contacted Dave Skoblar, the founder. He invited me to trek out to Joplin or to Tuscaloosa and assured me they'd find me work and a place to stay. When I arrived in Joplin, I initially booked a hotel because, as a single female traveling alone, I wanted to have a better sense of whom I'd be working with before signing up for bunk mates. The Project195 group house was absolutely perfect, however. The purchase of the house actually just went through that very week I was there, and I and the 6 or so other volunteers who were in and out that week worked hard both in the field in Joplin and on the Project195 house itself, making it habitable for future generations of volunteers. Staying at a volunteer house made the experience infinitely more rewarding. It made the trip more than just a work trip - it made it a learning experience as I met people from a very diverse background and felt like I grew close to them in only a few days. Plus it gave me people to go celebrate the end of the day with at the local frozen yogurt shop when the temperatures were well into the 110s! This was a great experience and of all the volunteer managers I ran into during that week, Dave seemed to really be the only one finding projects, networking, and getting things done. I highly recommend working with this group!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Joplin, MO

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They just need more volunteers and reliable long-term volunteers who can help coordinate.

April 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

It has been my great pleasure to participate in several events hosted by Project195. They are always well-organized and volunteers are appreciated and challenged. I was able to use my artistic skills to create flyers and posters for the organization, and to help in two fundraisers to enable others to travel to New Orleans for community rebuild. I am a Senior, so finding a way to give back that is within my financial and physical limitations is invaluable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Through pictures and website, have seen the wonderful work of this non-profit, both in LA restoration and community clean-ups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More volunteers to help with administration.

April 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My church group found Project195 when looking for a charity we could assist in New Orleans. I had shopped around for a while, so I was pleasantly surprised when Dan started talking about how to save our parish funds, instead of giving it over like those I contacted before him. Project195 saved our church over 4,000 dollars.
I was most impressed.They even checked on flights for our group. The work was a lot of fun, and thanks to his suggestions we had a great time every night after work. I cannot express our group's gratitude towards Project195 and it's members strongly enough.We're already planning on working with them again in 2011 and beyond.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

they saved our church thousands while working along side us rebuilding homes and were available to us every step of the way, before , during, and after.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The website isn't the best, but I know they're working on it.

April 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I had just graduated college, and didn't feel like wasting my summer.I was searching around different volunteer sites, when I saw Project195. I called several before them with no luck. I called late on a Friday night, and they answered their phone! I immediately got a great vibe after talking to them about what they do, and how I could get involved. As luck would have it they found a great project for me close to my grandma's house in Arizona.
I had the most incredible time working with Project195.I helped preserve and helped replant forests around Tucson, helped educate people on water conservation around the home, and even got to work with seniors on an ecologically friendly public park!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working with them in Arizona, and looking forward to again in New Orleans!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any!I had a lot of questions, and they answered every one with no problems at all.I know they went out of their way for me.I couldn't be more grateful. Oh and Dave is totally hysterical!I don't think I've ever laughed so hard on the phone in my life!!I totally consider him a friend, and I can't wait to work with him in person this year!!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Repair lives, restore homes lost to natural disaster, assist in community clean ups, help raise funds, "green" your home, and 1,000 other positive things to help make this world a better and safer place Volunteer