Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Write A Review
August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I once wrote to Project Vote Smart asking about a rating they had received from an organization that rates charities. The head of the project wrote me a long letter with a great explanation about how they don't easily fit into the rating categories and I am now a donor for life. They do amazing work on a shoestring budget, and manage to stay neutral while reporting facts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012

more

October 5, 2012

This is a marvelous, top notch organization. They accomplish a lot with very little.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

With a crazy election process such as this one is turning out be, it is good to know Project Vote Smart is there to clear the confusion.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

No other organization provides such detailed and in-depth information on the workings of our various governmental elected servants and keeps it current so that it can be used as a guide to evaluate how our elected officials are serving the interests of those who have elected them. And the leadership of Vote Smart is constantly seeking ways to expand their services and methods of getting their results out to the public.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

What a wonderful source of information, and it gets better every year. I have donated annually and several years back volunteered for a week in their Montana headquarters. During my visit I had a chance to see in person how carefully they record, accuracy check, and analyze the mountains of data they collect. PVS allows us voters to go way beyond the slogans, false and misleading statements of the candidates, and truly determine how well they represent our views and values. PVS should be the core resource for every voter at election time. Tom

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

I am a retired grocery checker. 20 years ago I heard of this Project to provide accurate and unbiased information to voters. I was intrigued. Imagine being able to research candidates without wading through all the ads and mailers! Never would I have guessed 20 years ago all the misinformation and vitriol in our 'bought' elections today. I am so glad that in a small way I am contributing to civility and reason in our society today.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Information on candidates and how they are vieweed by organization that support or oppose my own position. Information on where each candidate gets his or her financing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its visibility. Get it more funding. Increase the number of interns supported so we can expand the research to judges-educational background tells so little. We need information on cases, bias, demeanor, ideology.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Voter education, making informed choices among candidates.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

They are underfunded. Voters are not hearing facts.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Information is gathered from voting records, speeches, funding disclosures, then triple fact checked. Candidates positions are requested multiple times on topics of importance to voters. If not forthcoming, their positions are deduced from the voting records,speeches etc, Then candidates are asked if the deduced positions are wrong and they are allowed to change those positions. This information is then available to everyone who cares about American democracy.

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

What could be more important now than to find something that is truly 'spin-free' and 'fair & balanced.' They don't always tell me what I want to hear; they just tell me the truth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

PROJECT VOTE SMART provides faces, not opinions or spin. In my career as a teacher and librarian I have always promoted PVS as a tool vital to young voters who want to be truly informed before voting. How much more non-partisan could you want ? Remember both Barry Goldwater and George McGovern helped to launch PVS !!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

I found Votesmart.org while researching my book, and I have been hugely impressed with the quality of the service they offer. The Political Courage Test, in particular, should be something that every American demands their Representatives and Senators complete. It is shocking that only 35% of Congress completes this test, and even more shocking that those who refuse to complete the test often cite advice from their party leadership as the reason they dont complete the test.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

A very low key positive fair outfit. They call 'um as the voting record shows what each politician behaves.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers