Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 30, 2012

more

September 30, 2012

I feel priviledged to be able to give two weeks of my time working with the greatest group of young people to create an accurate, non-partisan database that is offered to all people who can access the web or call an 800 number. This database allows each person to determine what positions their candidate holds on 12 issues and, if that positiion agrees with their own. To build such a resource for all incumbents AND candidates at the federal and state level is a labor intensive effort. Volunteers are an important contributor. Their creation is available FREE to all who seek such knowledge. And this Republic cannot survive without educated politically involved citizens. It is the most patriotic mission imaginable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

Project Vote Smart is the gold standard for accurate, up-to-date, unbiased information on political candidates. Its website, votesmart.org, will tell you everything you ever wanted to know, and more, about the candidates who are asking for your vote. It will tell you how they've voted in the past, what interest groups endorse them, and who contributes to their campaigns. For anyone who wants the facts, not the spin, votesmart.org is the destination of choice. Their award-winning "Vote Easy" feature is a design triumph and raises the bar for user-friendliness. As a volunteer, I worked on updating, checking and double-checking data that's entered on the website.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

Volunteer AND donor. I first encountered PVS in about 2002 while living in Asheville NC. A May, 2004, move to Bellingham WA provided an opportunity to visit the MT ranch. After meeting the people, volunteers and paid staff alike, and helping with some work for a day, I was hooked. I returned that autumn for a 2-week member internship and each year since. The trip from the Seattle area is pleasant, and there are many attractions within driving distance for weekend enlightenment. Far more impressive is the dedication of the staff and interns to PVS' important work, particularly since the Supreme Court's "property is speech" decision. Unfortunately, while many people fund candidates' access to the media, too few support PVS' efforts to bring truth and perspective to their claims. Being retired, I do what little I can for PVS and snd will continue to do so.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Using their information on the internet. The bredth and depth of their information is impressive, and it remains surprisingly up-to-date, a tribute to both staff and interns.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to suggest. The PVS management repeatedly requests suggestios from participants and implements them. I would like to change the mindset of the media, that likes the excitement of conflict resulting from ignorance over the relative calm that information produces.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Hard. The situation at 6,000ft i the MT Rockies is excellent, the activities and organization are mature after many years of experimentation and improvement, and oft-changng (by design) personnel (students and staff) are knowledgeable and dedicated. My only wish would be more time to contribute.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The tasks are, unfortunately, necessarily mundane and repetitive. However, working on a national scale helps me better understand the benefits and problems of my own state of residence. Washington state turns out to be one of the best of the lot, in terms of fair politics.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I've done something worthwhile for the BIG American political PICTURE. The rest of my time is spent in little political pictures, so this experience, once a year, helps me maintain perspective. Additionally, each visit is a good, two-week therapy session.

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Great time as a "senior" working with young folks at the PVS headquarters in SW Montana. My work was data-input, fact-checking and envelope stuffing for two weeks....giving a little bit of help in this non-partisan effort to educate voters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

My wife and I had an enjoyable two-week working vacation at Great Divide Ranch in October 2011. We were impressed with the dedication of staff and volunteers to fairness, accuracy and thoroughness, as well as their kindness and appreciation of each participant. That spirit continued even after the sad deaths of a staff member and a volunteer. After the day's work, horseback riding, canoeing, fishing for bull trout, reading in the Goldwater/Proxmire Library, hiking and just enjoying the beauty of the mountains or watching the flock of wild turkeys was refreshing. A word of caution: Adelaide Kimball is a gracious winner, but she is one powerful tennis player!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers