Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2012

more

September 30, 2012

It's hard to find a neutral resource in today's political climate. Project Vote Smart is such a resource and sorely needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

Project Vote Smart is the gold standard for accurate, up-to-date, unbiased information on political candidates. Its website, votesmart.org, will tell you everything you ever wanted to know, and more, about the candidates who are asking for your vote. It will tell you how they've voted in the past, what interest groups endorse them, and who contributes to their campaigns. For anyone who wants the facts, not the spin, votesmart.org is the destination of choice. Their award-winning "Vote Easy" feature is a design triumph and raises the bar for user-friendliness. As a volunteer, I worked on updating, checking and double-checking data that's entered on the website.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

Volunteer AND donor. I first encountered PVS in about 2002 while living in Asheville NC. A May, 2004, move to Bellingham WA provided an opportunity to visit the MT ranch. After meeting the people, volunteers and paid staff alike, and helping with some work for a day, I was hooked. I returned that autumn for a 2-week member internship and each year since. The trip from the Seattle area is pleasant, and there are many attractions within driving distance for weekend enlightenment. Far more impressive is the dedication of the staff and interns to PVS' important work, particularly since the Supreme Court's "property is speech" decision. Unfortunately, while many people fund candidates' access to the media, too few support PVS' efforts to bring truth and perspective to their claims. Being retired, I do what little I can for PVS and snd will continue to do so.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Using their information on the internet. The bredth and depth of their information is impressive, and it remains surprisingly up-to-date, a tribute to both staff and interns.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing to suggest. The PVS management repeatedly requests suggestios from participants and implements them. I would like to change the mindset of the media, that likes the excitement of conflict resulting from ignorance over the relative calm that information produces.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Hard. The situation at 6,000ft i the MT Rockies is excellent, the activities and organization are mature after many years of experimentation and improvement, and oft-changng (by design) personnel (students and staff) are knowledgeable and dedicated. My only wish would be more time to contribute.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The tasks are, unfortunately, necessarily mundane and repetitive. However, working on a national scale helps me better understand the benefits and problems of my own state of residence. Washington state turns out to be one of the best of the lot, in terms of fair politics.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I've done something worthwhile for the BIG American political PICTURE. The rest of my time is spent in little political pictures, so this experience, once a year, helps me maintain perspective. Additionally, each visit is a good, two-week therapy session.

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

What a wonderful source of information, and it gets better every year. I have donated annually and several years back volunteered for a week in their Montana headquarters. During my visit I had a chance to see in person how carefully they record, accuracy check, and analyze the mountains of data they collect. PVS allows us voters to go way beyond the slogans, false and misleading statements of the candidates, and truly determine how well they represent our views and values. PVS should be the core resource for every voter at election time. Tom

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

I am a retired grocery checker. 20 years ago I heard of this Project to provide accurate and unbiased information to voters. I was intrigued. Imagine being able to research candidates without wading through all the ads and mailers! Never would I have guessed 20 years ago all the misinformation and vitriol in our 'bought' elections today. I am so glad that in a small way I am contributing to civility and reason in our society today.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Information on candidates and how they are vieweed by organization that support or oppose my own position. Information on where each candidate gets his or her financing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its visibility. Get it more funding. Increase the number of interns supported so we can expand the research to judges-educational background tells so little. We need information on cases, bias, demeanor, ideology.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Voter education, making informed choices among candidates.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

They are underfunded. Voters are not hearing facts.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Information is gathered from voting records, speeches, funding disclosures, then triple fact checked. Candidates positions are requested multiple times on topics of importance to voters. If not forthcoming, their positions are deduced from the voting records,speeches etc, Then candidates are asked if the deduced positions are wrong and they are allowed to change those positions. This information is then available to everyone who cares about American democracy.

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Anybody who puts any serious amount of thought behind politics should be completely jaded by the political system. It is ruled by two parties that seem to be more worried about getting elected than actually helping the people. The media is extremely biased and it's very difficult to separate fact from fiction. For months, I kept thinking that there has to be an unbiased source of information that will help me base my vote on who supports my views or ideals. Not who is the most popular, or who puts out the most attack ads. Eventually, after googling for this unbiased website, I stumbled onto Vote Smart. Vote Smart is absolutely everything I have been looking for. It presents just the facts, and nothing more. It is nonprofit, there's no advertising, and it's unbiased. Nobody should be allowed to vote this November without first learning exactly what and who they are voting for on Vote Smart. The media wants to you to believe that everything is black or white, democrat or republican, liberal or conservative. Don't buy that. Do the research and learn the facts. The value of Vote Smart to this country is indescribable. They are an organization that needs your support. The United States needs informed voters this November. Vote Smart is not going to single-handedly completely revolutionize our political system, but every little step helps. With more support and awareness, I strongly believe they can make a big difference. They have already made a difference in my life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

What could be more important now than to find something that is truly 'spin-free' and 'fair & balanced.' They don't always tell me what I want to hear; they just tell me the truth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

Great time as a "senior" working with young folks at the PVS headquarters in SW Montana. My work was data-input, fact-checking and envelope stuffing for two weeks....giving a little bit of help in this non-partisan effort to educate voters.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

PROJECT VOTE SMART provides faces, not opinions or spin. In my career as a teacher and librarian I have always promoted PVS as a tool vital to young voters who want to be truly informed before voting. How much more non-partisan could you want ? Remember both Barry Goldwater and George McGovern helped to launch PVS !!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

I have watched this organization grow over the years and seen its growth pains. It has come through stronger than ever and provides a service like no other.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers