Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

I have a Project:VISION Board member for the last three years, and have watched excitedly as the organization has grown and expanded. As a Asian-American myself, I have a particular heart for the Asian American community in Chicago. Contrary to what many may think, there are Asian Americans who represent an underserved (and low-income) population. Project:VISION uniquely serves this demographic, providing homework help/tutoring and college test prep classes free of charge. Additionally, there is a huge focus on service learning, which is also particularly important to me. By getting its students involved in civic engagement of their community, PV's goal is to help its students grow to be well-rounded and caring citizens. If funding allows, PV would like to continue to expand to also provide ESL classes/services to help students new to America to adjust and thrive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I love being a volunteer tutor at Project Vision. The program is exceptional, every well developed, and focuses on each students needs individually. I get a great sense of satisfaction after each of my tutoring sessions and it's a privilege to be a part of Project Vision helping students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Project Vision is a small organization that is currently serving mostly low-income youth in the Bridgeport and Chinatown area in Chicago. It fosters academic growth and leadership-building in young adults by offering free programs for after-school tutoring, service learning opportunities, college-prep exam courses and long-lasting mentors found in the staff. Being a volunteer with this organization has allowed me to give back to the community that essentially raised me and my family during our personal hardship emigrating to the United States. Education and volunteerism have thus been essential in achieving my goals and becoming successful. Project Vision has grown from it's small grassroots organization into an expanding program that is stretching at the seams. Currently, Project Vision must place youth seeking it's services on a waiting list because our resources have been limited. Another reason for increasing enrollment numbers is the retention. It was just the other day at a committee board meeting, that I learned many of the students have been long-time participants. One student was pointed out having been with Project Vision since the 6th grade and she is preparing for college. Another was a Project Vision student-turned-tutor post-college. This proves that the organization has retention and also reflects the inspiration to give back to the community. Despite of these rewarding results, it's been a challenge to stretch our dollars to meet the needs of the organization. At times Project Vision must prioritize hiring staff for planning and development over supplies and equipment for the students. However, despite the budget crises faced every board meeting, the leadership is very dedicated and determined to build the organization's funding reserves. Clocking in almost 30 hours a week every other week, the executive director coordinates much of the program- from tutoring to grant-writing, she generously does this without pay. This type of commitment has inspired me to join the general board and assist in fundraising events, marketing, and reaching out to the community to gain visibility and become involved. This organization has exceeded my expectations in terms of volunteerism. Originally interested in utilizing my free time as a part-time graduate student an hour or two a week as a tutor, I became a board member within a few months because I was inspired and believed in Project Vision's purpose. Project Vision offers valuable tools to youth who may not have otherwise have the means to afford and promotes community-building. Please support Project Vision and inspire youth to become great learners and leaders in their community and embracing them into your own.

Videos

Hide and seek: When will smoking catch up to you?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending board meetings and learning about the successes and challenges met with fundraising goals. I have observed the student-tutor environment and seen products from service learning projects. I have seen the organization's budget and realistic goals and objectives. I have also seen the results of the organization by helping to edit the annual report.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

locate a larger appropriate space and acquire necessary tools and equipment to meet the demands of the students, increase grant applications, and build a marketing campaign to reach out to the community and to other organizations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Through the University of Illinois at Chicago listserv student massmail.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Maintaining adequate funding to prevent deficit this year.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Locating a larger space or additional space to run the organization and extending tutoring hours.

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I volunteer at Project: VISION as a tutor. Their center, located in Chinatown, offers free tutoring to 6th-12th graders as well as other service learning programs to interested students. Having grown up in the Chinatown community, I never really felt like I had to serve my neighborhood in any way. However, at Project: VISION, I was encouraged to help the youth through tutoring and mentoring. It eventually became a passion of mine. Equipping my students with the necessary tools for personal success is enriching as much as it is rewarding. Project: VISION strives to be an asset to the community by engaging the youth through not only tutoring but also civic projects; we recently filmed a video PSA with our students on tobacco use prevention for the Asian Health Coalition. Project: VISION is not just another after school tutoring center. It's a place for educational, personal, and civic development.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I've been on the board of Project: VISION since it started over 8 years ago. I've seen it grow tremendously over the years, and change students' lives for the better. Among the services PV offers to the Bridgeport / Chinatown area of Chicago are tutoring, mentoring, ACT-prep, pairing students with opportunities for community service, and more. The greatest testimony to this organization's full-circle impact is seeing former students who have used PV's services in the past come back to help out because they care about the future of Project: VISION.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Project Vision is run by a dedicated group of people who really inspire me! The Executive Director, one of the founders, volunteers her time to lead the organization while also working as a full-time physician. It is exciting to be involved with an organization that is still growing, and to observe the positive impacts it has on kids in the Chinatown area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Project: VISION is a nonprofit organization that serves youth in Chicago's Chinatown & Bridgeport communities. I became involved as part of the original group of founders and have remained involved as a volunteer ever since, doing everything from managing the operation to programming to tutoring our students. The experience has been one of the most rewarding I have ever had! Though we are a small organization, we really do make tangible impacts on the students we serve. Seeing many of our students graduate college and some even returning to mentor younger students has been truly inspirational.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I volunteer and also do development work for Project: VISION, and have found my experience to be very rewarding. It never ceases to amaze me how dedicated to youth each volunteer and staff member is at Project: VISION. Additionally, I can see the positive impact my work does in the community, and how it directly impacts kids. I am excited to continue to watch Project: VISION grow, and I am thankful that I have had this opportunity to grow both personally and professionally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers