Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I first became aware of Project Safe after one of my daughters suffered from an episode of domestic abuse. While thee were resources available for her none were as detailed and helpful as those at Project Safe. I have since referred others to their services that include not only protection from partner abuse, but prevention, intervention, education and advocacy. I shortly thereafter became a willing and active participant in one of their fundraisers. The pouring out of support from the community and the effective and efficient way that the fundraiser was run assured me that this was not only one of the best non- profits around but one that I wanted to stay closely involved with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people donate in some way to an organization that gives so much to the community and clone the executive director, Joan Prittie

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

As a school social worker, I see first hand the impact of domestic violence on children and teens. As educators, we need the support of strong community partners such as Project Safe to meet the basic needs of families for safety, emotional health, and healing. Thanks to the incredible director and staff at Project Safe, families and students in Athens receive the support needed in situations involving domestic violence. The new Breaking Silence teen texting line provides a new and innovative way to reach teens to prevent and intervene in situations of teen dating violence. It is an honor to serve on the Board of Directors of such a strong and steady non-profit organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We improve services along the way by adding resources such as transitional housing, the teen texting line, etc, etc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

When I moved to Athens in 2005, I knew no one in town with the exception of a few family members and Project Safe was my first connection to Athens and the people that work so hard to make this a better community. Finding Project Safe, led by such an incredible individual in Joan Prittie, and with a mission that was about serving those who are the most vulnerable in our community, was one of the most important events for me since moving to Athens. Over the past five years we have worked hard to reduce Project Safe’s dependency on grants and fickle federal funding, build a strategic plan that would support and improve the impact of the organization on its clients and help educate the community to create systematic change that works to stop the cycle of violence. Today, after more than five years of serving on Project Safe’s board and in various offices, I am sure that I have gained far more from my time with such an incredible organization than I could have ever hoped to contribute to it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Project Safe is a world-class non-profit. I have served on a number of boards, both national and local, in the non-profit world. This organization has a terrific mission and carries it out extremely well. I honestly believe that it has the best "brand" of any local charity in this college town in which there are tons of really good charities who do excellent work. I was a longtime donor who was then asked to participate in the Dancing with the Athens Stars fundraiser. Through my participation in that, I learned what wonderful work was being done by the organization. I was eager to join the Board and to take a leadership position. The staff, headed up by an all-star executive director who possesses a good head for numbers combined with a great passion for the mission of protection of the victims of domestic violence, is hardworking and committed. Overhead is extremely low and the Board is an active and engaged one. All in all, a super organization doing much needed work on behalf of those who need the assistance. I recommend it highly to prospective donors and volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I was introduced to Project Safe by a friend and asked to serve on the board in 2007. I have had the pleasure of working not only with the board but also with multiple sub-committees designed to support the organization's major fundraising events. During my time serving this organization, I have been repeatedly humbled by the energy, drive, passion and persistence shown by all those who are involved. I have read letter's, observed artwork, and heard heart tugging stories of women and children in our community who contribute their ability to break free from the arms of domestic violence to Project Safe. I can not say enough to the credit of our Director Joan Prittee, who continues to work year after year, tirelessly towards our mission. I am very proud to be involved and will continue to support Project Safe for years to come. Day by day, One by One, Project Safe, saves lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I was introduced to this organization in law school by an amazing and inspirational woman who was on the board at the time. After graduating and remaining in the area to practice law in the public interest, I was honored to join the board in 2007 and continue to be amazed and humbled by the work and overall good that Project Safe provides to Athens and beyond. I've seen in the courtroom how well-respected the organization is by our judges, I've seen in meetings how meticulously the organization is run to maximize its resources and capabilities, and I've seen at our fundraisers how cherished Project Safe is by our community and by those it has served. Even though I no longer live or work in the immediate area, I make it a priority to stay involved, and plan to continue my involvement even after I rotate off the board because of the import of Project Safe's mission and the services it provides in furtherance of same.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I've had the honor to be involved with Project Safe since 2011 and am so pleased to have the opportunity to share my experiences on this site. Domestic violence is far more pervasive than most of us realize (1 in 4 women will experience domestic violence in their lifetimes). To put it simply, Project Safe saves lives. Through its work in crisis intervention, prevention and education, and advocating for systems change, Project Safe provides immediate help to those who need it. Project Safe's Executive Director is a force of nature. Joan Prittie has a work style that can best be described as creative, compassionate and persistent. Joan's enthusiasm and passion are contagious and her work, and the work of Project Safe make a world of difference for the victims of domestic violence.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have been on the board of Project Safe for three years. It is by far one of the most well-run, organized, and respected nonprofit in my immediate area, and I am so proud to be a part of it. I have seen the wonderful things that this organization has done in the lives of some close friends who are survivors of domestic violence. They say that they and their children may not still be alive if it were not for the staff members and volunteers at Project Safe. Executive Director Joan Prittie works tirelessly to do what is best for clients, and continues to amaze us all with her creative fundraising ideas. She is a wonderful steward of the organization's funds, and does her best to make sure the organization lives off of donated goods and services so that all money raised can go directly to helping victims in Athens and the surrounding areas. I can't say enough about this amazing group and the positives effects that it has on our community!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers