Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I can't say enough about Project Ride and the years of fun and therapy they provided for my now 20 year old son Brandon who is on the autism spectrum. An incident always comes to mind when I think about Project Ride and how it helped my son connect with animals. When Brandon was about 8, I took him to a local fun park where they were offering parent-guided horse rides for children (meaning the parent walked with the horses reins to guide them around the track). We were instructed to keep the horses at a good distance between each other. Unfortunately, the horse behind me was allowed to come up way to close to my horse (I had no idea) and he decided to promptly bite my horse in the rear! My horse bucked and up went little Brandon in the air like a balloon! I don't know how but he landed safely near a bush (it was helpful that he had wanted to keep his knee pads from practice earlier that day). Needless to say everyone was panicked but he just wiped himself off, laughed and said "oh no Rucky throw me off!" Rucky was a nickname for a horse he rode at Project Ride. He wanted to get right back on which was wonderful because I didn't want him to be afraid to ride. All the efforts that Project Ride had put in to help Brandon understand horses really paid off that day. Love, love the organization!
September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

She was 4 1/2 and ride for a number of years. She had so much fun riding she didn't realize she was doing therapy.
My daughter is now 13 and recalls her love of riding with horses with Project RIDE.
March 16, 2013

more

March 16, 2013

What weighs 1287 pounds and has a smile as wide as the barn door she rides thru? Tator the horse with my daughter at the reins. Enpowerment, pride and huge sense of accomplishment are evident at every session. I am guessing the horse has a good time too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

My daughter became a client after suffering a muscle disease. When she began riding, she was very weak, and required a backrider and two sidewalkers. She rode with Project Ride for several years. When she started, she was in a wheelchair and barely able to sit upright. At the end of her time at Project Ride, she was able to walk again and could ride independently. When she was in the hospital, her one wish was to be able to ride horses again. I believe that Project Ride became her inspiration to keep trying, even when it seemed that her life could never be 'normal' again. I can't say enough about the founder, Chris Mc Parland, and all the selfless, wonderful volunteers who made this organization happen. I hope they have some idea how many lives they've improved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My teen daughter was a client served. We gladly waited on the list to start sessions, and when she did we were not disappointed. She rode for almost 2 years, then we moved from area.
I can not say enough about Project RIDE, their staff, and their passion for those with disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk beside 20 students while they ride, making the best part of their week possible. Volunteer