Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Project R.I.D.E. makes me smile every day. For the past year, I have volunteered roughly 200 hours with this wonderful organization.
What started out as a class requirement has become something that has changed not only my perspective on individuals with varied abilities, but also my attitude
towards life. Prior to working with Project R.I.D.E., I sweated the small stuff. Every little thing had to be perfect or my day was ruined. Seeing happy, laughing children who overcome daily struggles has really changed how I feel about my own problems. There are posters encouraging happiness and laughter throughout the arena that remind me to stop and smell the roses. Project R.I.D.E. is my "happy place," where my problems disappear when I volunteer.
In addition to promoting happiness, Project R.I.D.E. really takes time to emphasize the importance of its volunteers. This is part of the reason I keep coming back. The executive director, Tina, always stresses that lessons could not happen without volunteers to lead, sidewalk, and keep the arena tidy. Project R.I.D.E. makes its volunteers feel important and celebrates them at every opportunity. No matter how long I stay, I always get a big "Thank you!" at the end of each visit.
Project R.I.D.E.'s Volunteer Coordinator and Community Outreach Manager, Marisa, takes the time to get to know each volunteer and recognize their special talents. When I first mentioned to Marisa that I wanted to be an event planner, she quickly found me some great work experience in helping out with several of Project R.I.D.E.'s big special events.
Even though I have fulfilled my class requirement at Project R.I.D.E., I still plan to volunteer whenever the opportunity arises.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a new business to sponsor the vending machines or sell other snacks for volunteers. Create a mobile app or some other way to sign in for volunteer shifts. If I'm working in the office, I generally don't have a chance to get to the clipboard at the other side of the arena. A mobile app that lets you "check in" based on proximity would be really useful. It would also be a cool way to track the total number of hours that I volunteered!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 16, 2013

more

March 16, 2013

What weighs 1287 pounds and has a smile as wide as the barn door she rides thru? Tator the horse with my daughter at the reins. Enpowerment, pride and huge sense of accomplishment are evident at every session. I am guessing the horse has a good time too.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter starting riding at Project RIDE almost two years ago. She is nonverbal but when she interacts with the horses her face tells the story. Everyone knows us there. They have become part of our exrended family. Recently I became a board member so I can give back to the organization that has given so much to my daughter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was in a lonely, dark place in my life- having some fairly serious health issues and going through a lot of stress at work. I finally took a leave of absence, which helped some, but left me lonelier than ever and w/o much reason to get out of bed every day.
My therapist asked me what I liked
to do that I'd stopped doing, maybe due to work, or lack of time. I remembered I'd loved working with horses in my teens, but hadn't had any real opportunity in the intervening 15 years or so.
I'm also quite shy and nervous around large groups of people. My therapist suggested finding a program like this one working with horses, because I already knew I could, and with kids, because they don't make me feel so anxious. It would get me out of the house and help others while helping me, as well.
I couldn't have guessed how much I would LOVE my time at Project RIDE. All of my fears and anxieties fell away working with the clients here. Most were children, some were adults, but I never felt judged or awkward, and I looked forward to every shift I could work. I started as a "sidewalker" and got to train as a "leader" (in charge of grooming, tacking and leading the horse through the sessions). Unfortunately, after a few months my health took a turn for the worse and I haven't been able to go back yet. I definitely will, though. Just like the students get to build on their skills through the program, I imagine I'll need to build my stamina and confidence back up as I go. Everyone here is so supportive and friendly, I miss going in to help. I miss seeing the progress my "little peanuts" made every single session. I miss our silly songs and games and most of all I miss their strong, determined hearts and the near constant laughter. Project RIDE affects everyone who participates - students, instructors, volunteers, observers. Everyone should visit at least once to see the wonderful things they are accomplishing there all the time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Every visit to Project RIDE is a fun learning experience, not just for the riders, but for the volunteers too! The staff, volunteers, and riders are all like a close family. I have never left the arena without a smile that remains with me for the rest of the day. Project RIDE is a special place filled with special people!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 11, 2013

more

March 11, 2013

My daughter became a client after suffering a muscle disease. When she began riding, she was very weak, and required a backrider and two sidewalkers. She rode with Project Ride for several years. When she started, she was in a wheelchair and barely able to sit upright. At the end of her time at Project Ride, she was able to walk again and could ride independently. When she was in the hospital, her one wish was to be able to ride horses again. I believe that Project Ride became her inspiration to keep trying, even when it seemed that her life could never be 'normal' again. I can't say enough about the founder, Chris Mc Parland, and all the selfless, wonderful volunteers who made this organization happen. I hope they have some idea how many lives they've improved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My teen daughter was a client served. We gladly waited on the list to start sessions, and when she did we were not disappointed. She rode for almost 2 years, then we moved from area.
I can not say enough about Project RIDE, their staff, and their passion for those with disabilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 11, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

Excellent Organization! Treats all volunteers like stars, and everybody has a great time, while really helping kids with special needs!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Some of the kids that come here nonverbal, start speaking and connecting with the volunteers within a matter of weeks!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more fundraiser and get more horses, to be able to help more kids!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The staff always make you feel so valued!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Enthusiastic and supportive of all types of people- just some of the most warm hearted people you will meet.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help so many more children become verbal and enhance their social, academic and emotional skills!

Ways to make it better...

I had more time to volunteer.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

not enough funding to support more horses- the waitlist for kids to get into the program is hundreds of people long!

One thing I'd also say is that...

This is a really worthwhile place, where volunteering my time actually produces tangible results in the children we help!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

walk beside 20 students while they ride, making the best part of their week possible. Volunteer