Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.6255
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 10, 2011

more

December 10, 2011

I am really glad to be a part of Project PLASE, a non-profit organization with more than three decades of experience serving the most vulnerable homeless citizens.
Volunteering is an important part of Project PLASE. I am a volunteer from Germany and for me it was very important to help the
homeless in the USA because in my home country we have a very good insurance system and the homeless problem is not as big as it is in the States.
It is a very good feeling to help our clients achieve their goals and objectives. For example, it feels good when a client successfully leave our transitional housing facility to live on their own.
I also enjoy the pleasant working atmosphere. For example, the staff is always there in case I have a question. Moreover the workers are so caring and we always try to find the best way for our clients.
It was a good decision for me to choose Project PLASE as the place where I want to spend my year as a volunteer and I am looking forward to what I can do to help during my year here and I am so glad to have this experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

... seeing a wonderful permanent apartment of a former client and he was really happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... make a little bit more order in some things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Give us a car :)

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It really helps me to improve my English skills. And I learn a lot about how to act with different people from another culture.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It makes me thinkable. I just finished school and now I am confronted with very serious issues. It makes me feel good. It is a good feeling when you can help somebody or you can make somebody smile. It makes me feel stronger because I have to deal with responsibility and it is the first time in my life that I live on my own.

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I volunteer at Project PLASE through the organization of Mennonite Mission Network. Since others from my organizations have worked here in the past, my position is well supported. I really enjoy the connection that I have had the opportunity to make with our clients, the most vulnerable homeless of Baltimore. I feel that I can bring them joy through caring about their lives, listening to their stories, and working to ensure their success and transition back into society. Most of all, I have been deeply touched by the way that our clients have opened up to me, appreciated my service, and become my friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

I have been volunteering with Project PLASE since September of 2011. It is clear to me how much the staff truly cares for every client - they have individualized case plans, and the staff takes a holistic approach to their care. Many of the clients who are living in permanent housing in the community are still connected, visit often, and are involved in Project PLASE commitees. Project PLASE seeks to serve the most vulnerable homeless populations in Baltimore.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2010

more

November 12, 2010

Project PLASE assists the most vulnerable and weak of the homeless population of Baltimore transition to a more stable, productive life. In the process the clients not only make positive life strides, due to the multifaceted support they receive, but also make lifelong friends. As a board member I feel a great deal of pride helping to make decisions that strengthen this outstanding non-profit. With more than three decades of service to the community, this organization has had the benefit of a singularly committed leader, who understands both the problems and many of the solutions. Her commitment has been an inspiration to me as I've worked with her and the rest of the board...who are also very dedicated. During the past two years we've seen our funding shrink, as have most non-profits. One of our greatest challenges now is to be creative in how and where we look for additional funding going forward.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the stories I've heard from clients who have had their lives completely changed for the better

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to make it more visible within the community

November 12, 2010

more

November 12, 2010

In my opinion Project PLASE is a great organization and is doing a very good job. I was starting in August 2010 as a full time volunteer. My job is to fill the beds in the facilities. Project PLASE gives me the opportunity to take much responsibility and I very appreciate that. I come from Germany and I don't think this would be able there. I am really enjoying the work here. My Co-workers are very friendly and it was more than helpful to have them around in the beginning, when I was getting used to the job and learning the language.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the clients doing better since they are housed in Project Plase.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve the communication between co-workers. Project PLASE has many employees. I think it's important, that everybody knows, which job the other one are doing, and which exercises and responsibilities they have.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The work I can do at this organization is having a big effect on me. I can improve my English, because I have a lot phone calls and interviews. I also have now another view to people in general. It is great to meet different people and discover another culture, which is much different from the German.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 12, 2010

more

November 12, 2010

When I came to Project PLASE, I was more excited by the actual work that I would be doing as the Community Projects Coordinator, rather than the larger picture of the fight against homelessness. However, after volunteering here since August, I am excited to say that I have grown a passion for the fight to eliminate homelessness. This happened through the relationships I have made and the stories I have heard from community members/partners, staff, and clients. It has been a pleasure working with such passionate, competent, and caring staff at PLASE. The entire organization cares deeply about the well being of others. It has truely inspired me to see Project PLASE never give up on any client, regardless of the troubles they come in with.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization by meeting individuals who have successfully gone through the transitional housing program at Project PLASE and now live on their own. I visited the home of one of our permanant housing clients and have never before seen anyone so proud of their residence. This taught me that a home means so much more to people than a place to sleep. It gives people a sense of independence and pride.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would provide more rooms for our transitional housing program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

It would be nice if all staff and clients understood the role and purpose of my position.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience so far has allowed me to learn that my career goals of leading a nonprofit organization work well with my skills and interests.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 12, 2010

more

November 12, 2010

I was an AmeriCorps*VISTA at Project PLASE during 2009-2010. It was an amazing experience. I was given a chance to take on meaningful work with staff members who made me feel welcome. Project PLASE has a commitment to bring out the best in its clients, staff and volunteers. I will always cherish the relationships I built at Project PLASE.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I worked with the Client Advisory Board with Project PLASE and met many, many current and former clients who were able to get on with their lives through their time with Project PLASE.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it tons of money so they can upgrade their facilities and hire additional staff.

November 12, 2010

more

November 12, 2010

Project PLASE is many things, it houses, feeds, counsels, advises and understands clients needs. Housing an array of people, from veterans to mentally ill to transgenders allows it to hit something for people across the board who are in need. Helping such an array of people can be difficult, but PLASE tends to do it well, though with a bit of disorganization. The staff have their heart in the right place and it is a constructive, positive presence in the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the learning that my students do, and in their self-confidence levels. Also, by how much of an impact we can have on the community at large

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help people truly understand what an impact they can have on others. And attitude and the way you treat someone can make or break their day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers