Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

Project Perry serves a population that is too often neglected. Their commitment to african grey (and other) parrots is truly inspiring. Supporting this non-profit is well worth it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

It is my honor to boast about one of the most dedicated organizations I have ever had the privilege to be introduced to in my years of volunteer work. I have had direct contact and a wonderful “rescue” experience with two of the volunteers devoted to Project Perry. Matt Smith and Kirah Swanson. This team has more energy and determination than anyone I have ever seen. They went above and beyond the call of duty to help our poor little Garnet and Topaz, two wild caught Greys who knew nothing but the inside of a small cage for twenty years (which unfortunately our rescue here in Wyoming was ill equipped to care for) and Project Perry allowed them to experience the “wild” they were taken from as babies. Right now Kirah is not holding an office with Perry’s but is serving as one of their busy “worker bees.” It is my belief that she, along with Matt are two of the many building blocks that create the foundation of Project Perry and encompass the talent it takes to care for these animals and make this sanctuary a place that will forever warm my heart.

Perry’s is the type of sanctuary that fulfills their commitments no matter what it takes. Even if they bite off a little more than they can chew, they press on with dedication to do what their team has promised to do. There is no place I know of who is more honest and trustworthy than the Perry’s Team.

I have worked with only a few that shares the level of enthusiasm that this sanctuary possesses. Their team is comprised of tireless workers who are not only dependable but affable as well. Their goal is success for the sanctuary and the birds. They are all making their community a better place with the sacrifice of their time and efforts through local volunteerism. Put simply, they are just people who care.


May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

I donated money to help two Timneh Greys get from Wyoming to Project Perry in VA, they went out of their way to help these two birds that came from horrible situations and are now in a free flight aviary at Project Perry! These people are great and they need support for the wonderful things they do for these birds! I hope they win!
May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

Well organised, peoples working with all they heart to help the birds in project perry.
All birds happy there and wery well look after.
May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

These guys are amazing we rescued to African grays and I talked with Matt back and fourth for about 2-3 months he worked very hard to get a grant for them at his aviary always stayed in touch with me and he got the grant and helped get them there mind you we live in Wyoming this is an amazing place and they have hearts of gold thank you so very much for every thing the grays are so happy and free of a small cage now living the best life had to offer thanks Alex Stanley
May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

Project Perry and it's volunteers are a god send. My parrot rescue recently got in two African Greys that were severely neglected. These little greys were kept this way for 20 years. They were caught in the wild and stolen from their home. For some reason they ended up in Wyoming. After being passed from home to home, these greys were finally rescued by CWA (which is our parrot rescue in Wyoming). After months of trying to rehabilitate these angels, we decided to try and find a sanctuary for them. One of my head volunteers found Project Perry. The volunteers at Project Perry raised the money to get the greys from Wyoming to Project Perry. After they arrived they were treated like the angels they are every step of the way. After a throughout examination and vet check, the greys were released into the handicapped free flight sanctuary. The greys are now thriving, beginning to trust, and living out the rest of their days with amazing people and their own kind. The volunteers at Project Perry send us weekly updates with their progress and it's truly an amazing thing to witness. Project Perry is so deserving of any good thing that comes their way and I am forever in their debt. The kindness and compassion of this non profit organization is unmatched and rare.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

As a former United Way staff member, nonprofit special events and business manager, I have been consistently impressed with the overall professionalism and dedication of the staff and volunteers of Project Perry. This is not something that is found in most rescue operations that I have encountered.

As a parrot owner and familiar with the needs of abandoned and neglected birds, the care shown to the "residents" has proven to be unparalleled. The facilities are top-notch for the budgeting that the organization has.

The highest regard I could possible give Project Perry is to say that I would hope that my flock would find themselves in this place after I die should my family not be able to care for them.

Project Perry IS one of the GREAT Nonprofits!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2014

more

May 15, 2014

I met Matt Smith via email while searching for ideas to build a large aviary for our birds. I sent an email with all kinds of questions after seeing his huge, beautiful Grey aviary in an online video. Matt graciously invited us up for a look around and to answer questions. The facility was amazing - very clean and well kept, and the birds seemed incredibly happy. Matt not only showed us around but gave us a ton of advice on aviary building. We are in the process of starting up our own refuge for captive birds, modeled much like Project Perry, near Raleigh NC, and thanks to Matt, we have a lot of great ideas, inspiration and helpful information. Matt has an amazing vision and he truly understands birds and wants to give them the kind of happiness they deserve. Many rescues are overwhelmed with birds and are forced to warehouse them in buildings full of cages with minimal interaction and out of cage time. Project Perry is not like that. These birds live as close to a free life as they can get and still be protected from predators (including human ones). Interactions are on their terms, and they are free to flock, fly and forage like they were created to do! If I were a bird, I would want to live there!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pray for someone to donate a huge fortune so there work could expand and grow even faster!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

Project Perry will use your donation faithfully and well to serve its feathered residents. It's a beautiful, hidden sanctuary, lovingly tended by the staff. Well worth supporting.
November 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been researching sanctuaries for our two birds for quite awhile and had very little confidence in them until I came across Project Perry. I flew out there in June to meet Matt and was stunned at the incredible sanctuary that Matt has created. I knew that this was truly the only place that would give our birds the best life for the rest of their years. Matt is truly the "bird whisperer" and a wonderful and honest person. Fortunately, we were able to donate a generous sum to help complete the second grey aviary. Two weeks ago, we brought our birds to the sanctuary and Matt has kept us updated with photos and comments. We know without a doubt that Archie and Elvis are truly happy and will live the rest of their lives well taken care of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide high quality direct bird care (including feeding and cleaning of living area) for 16 birds! Volunteer