Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been researching sanctuaries for our two birds for quite awhile and had very little confidence in them until I came across Project Perry. I flew out there in June to meet Matt and was stunned at the incredible sanctuary that Matt has created. I knew that this was truly the only place that would give our birds the best life for the rest of their years. Matt is truly the "bird whisperer" and a wonderful and honest person. Fortunately, we were able to donate a generous sum to help complete the second grey aviary. Two weeks ago, we brought our birds to the sanctuary and Matt has kept us updated with photos and comments. We know without a doubt that Archie and Elvis are truly happy and will live the rest of their lives well taken care of.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Project Perry does amazing work for parrots, unlike any other rescue I've encountered. Their primary mission is to rehabilitate, with adoption or rehoming being the second goal. If a bird is deemed happier in one of their incredible aviaries, they have a forever home there with a flock of other birds with species appropriate toys, plants, and other stimuli. I am also very impressed with their program to keep former pet parrots in their aviaries after the parrot guardian has passed. This means a great deal to me as I know people who have stipulated in their will their parrot be put down because they do not trust anyone to give the level of care the parrot deserves after the person passes. I hope to see this rescue continue to grow and thrive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow raise more money and spread the model throughout the world so that others may adopt this type of program!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I flew to Project Perry May 2013 to create a mosaic Parrot wall for the donors for an aviary fundraiser for handicapped African Greys. I knew I would love it there...but it surpassed all expectations and hands down is one of the most beautiful creations I have ever witnessed in my life. Matt Smith has created a paradise, not just a sanctuary. I LOVE this place beyond measure...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win a lotto ticket for them so they could start sister sites and expand for the welfare of more parrots in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

There are no words the describe this Parrot Rescue. Regardless of what I could say, it would never be enough. It's a life changing experience, it opens your eyes, the founder is amazing. He is rare, he is good, he is simply wonderful. He's educated. He's grounded. He will not give up. He is selfless and puts his birds before anything and anyone else. You can hear it in his voice, you can see it in his eyes, and it reflects in his work. Visit, pay attention, and you will see.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 15, 2011

When I heard about Project Perry several years ago I wanted to go see the facility where RESCUED PARROTS could have a safe haven to go. I was totally amazed to see what Matt Smith had put together an... more

October 12, 2013

Project Perry is a special place for rescued parrots that have been abused in "parrot mills", owners that no longer want them and people that do not have a choice but to give them up due to health reasons, financial, etc. I personally went to visit this wonderful facility to witness myself the love and care the staff and volunteers give to these remarkable creatures! Myself being a parrot owner, it takes a good amount of time to care and work with these birds and everyone is truly patient and caring. I cannot say enough great things about Matt and his staff!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2011

When I heard about Project Perry several years ago I wanted to go see the facility where RESCUED PARROTS could have a safe haven to go. I was totally amazed to see what Matt Smith had put together and so much dedication he has given. What he has given to these magnificient birds to get a second chance in life there are no words to describe. I myself own 12 parrots (that were all rescue/giveaway) and Project Perry is top notch. We need to see more facilities like Project Perry and do away with the "parrot mills" and focus on adopting abused/neglected birds or the ones that find themselves needing a new home due to no fault of their own. I have donated money and supplies when I can and Project Perry needs more people that can donate their time or resources to help these beautiful birds. Hats off to Matt and his team that dedicate themselves to this wonderful cause.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Personally visiting the facility

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

I have donated to and been part of helping 2 African grey parrots get to project Perry. I am very active in the rescue world, primarily for birds and for dogs. I have to rate Project Perry in the top 3 of all rescue/sanctuaries.
The two Greys that I helped get there were kept by a hoarder for
many years. fearful and neglected. They had so little and were merely surviving. They were never going to bond with humans ands had likely been trapped in the wild many years before.
project Perry has given them a beautiful life with trees, flight, and a flock. I have tears as I write this. Thank God they are living again :-)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None other than I would clone them. The birds need more like this!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

I found this sanctuary impeccable. Very impressed with the building of the flights. They provide care, compassion, and a lifelong of happiness with the free flight aviaries for the unwanted, abused, and neglected parrots. It is wonderful to see them interact with their own kind as mother nature intended!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep building more flights!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Project Perry provides a desperately needed service for those unfortunate parrots who have been neglected or abused. From a modest beginning in a studio apartment to the expansion of 6 indoor/outdoor aviaries in a country environment in less than 6 years attests to the dedication of Matt Smith, the Director, and his volunteer staff. As contributions and national recognition increase, Project Perry continues to expand providing a safe haven for more birds. This is a project worthy of continued support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As donations increase, additional permanent staff should be hired.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Beautiful property with growth possibilities. A home for birds that might have outlived their owners. Any one that has owned a bird knows how much they can change your life. My bird is everything to me, and if something should happen to me I would be able to know that my bird would live out a happy life at Project Perry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

The aviaries that are built at Project Perry are incredible! To give a place to wild caught and older breeder birds to live out the rest of their lives in a safe habitat similar to where they would live in the wild, is a much needed and completely selfless project! Great job!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow for well investigated adoptions, not just to PP volunteers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

provide high quality direct bird care (including feeding and cleaning of living area) for 16 birds! Volunteer