Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.648655
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I've volunteered in the kitchen here for 4 years. Their mission to feed the sick is what got me involved initially. But what I like most about POH now as a volunteer/donor is that they make the most out of their resources. Nothing seems to go to waste (every stem, peel, or core of a vegetable ends up in a dish, in stock, or used to make compost), and they keep us volunteers busy with meaningful work (if they hadn't, I wouldn't have gotten up and hauled myself in there every Saturday morning for 4 years). I feel good that my time and donations are being used to their fullest.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been very blessed/very lucky to receive my daily meals made with love, 7 days a week while I recover from debilitating heart attacks. The volunteers who I see daily are wonderful!!! They always say hello to me by name, have a smile and kind words. I can not express enough what a great feeling that is. Let me also say the food is delicious, nutritious and I usually have enough left over for another. Thank you God for Project Open Hand. I just love them~ Sumiyati M~
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

A few years ago I decided to clean up and rationalize my charitable giving. While much of it goes to national level charities. I wanted a third to go to local. Project Open Hand is one of the three that I decided to give to - its mission to feed those who can't and are most needy in San Francisco is a truly righteous mission - they let me, by proxy, do what I believe I should be doing - helping those who can't help themselves who the city have forgotten. Join me in lending a helping hand
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Project Open Hand is a great place to volunteer. I have volunteered several times in the large industrial kitchen and grocery center chopping veggies and packaging food for the thousands of meals delivered each day to sick people in need. Each 4 hour shift includes a wholesome and delicious meal served before work. First timers are treated to an orientation that explains the organization's history and the current operational workings. They use hundreds of volunteers each day. Come by yourself or with a group. Feel the satisfaction of helping and the camaraderie of working with these awesome people.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

This organization is so well run that I'm not patting myself on the back for volunteering, my clients are doing it for me. Truly, I get such a wonderful kick in the pants each Sunday from the seniors at the Aquatic Center that I can honestly say they do more for me than I do for them. I've also been known to chop veggies at night at the kitchen - also great stuff - a way to meet with the wonderfully varied citizens of SF - most of whom I would never meet otherwise. Their mission has been solid from the outset but more and more science/health care is saying good, nutritious food is the best medicine. It makes all of us chop onions with a smile instead of a tear!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

have been with Project Open hand for almost two years, I would be there a lot more, if i could get there! I love it, I love the volunteer services personnel, they rock, :)
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering as a special events volunteer for the last 3 years and I love it. I always have a lot of fun at the events and i wish I could do more. The staff and volunteer coordinators are always very helpful and supportive, and treat their volunteers very well. Whenever I have a chance to visit their facilities and kitchens everyone I meet is very friendly and they always have a smile on their face.
I enjoy volunteering for Project Open Hand and I wish my schedule would allow me to be more involved.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Amazing work these people are doing wonderful kind hearted. Thank you for everything
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I have been volunteering with this organization for 3 years. Fantastic idea, using fresh ingredients to make healthy food daily for people in need. Very nice and dedicated group of people -- and a great organization to volunteer with.
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

From 1997-2009 I had the honor & the pleasure to be the Executive Chef @ Project Open Hand. I saw daily the great work this agency does in the San Francisco/ East Bay communities in which we served. Food is medicine and you only have to watch a POH client get better and stronger by eating well. POH takes care of many of the most vulnerable clients in our community. They do it with compassion, nutrition, and a sense of "family." By combining the efforts of volunteers, donors, staff and client participation, we can take care of our "village" together. If you want to give some of you're hard earned money to a charity that truly supports those in need, you will find the money is well spent here @ POH. They walk the walk & talk the talk.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Slice and dice fresh produce in our kitchen, deliver meals to sick clients, serve hot lunch to seniors, assist clients in our grocery centers, lend a hand at special events. Volunteer