Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.736845
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Project Open Hand is a great asset to the communities of San Francisco & Alameda Counties. I worked for POH as the Executive Chef for 12 years (1997-2009). I saw first hand what the Volunteers and Staff do everyday. This amazing non-profit was started by a retired grandmother who cared enough to make sure people who were sick had a hot nutritious meal. She knew that food created health. She knew that food =love. And everyday since volunteers and staff start early in the morning and work until 8 pm at night to fulfill Ruth's mission. providing a meal with love. Today over 2,600 meals a day are produced out of our Polk Street kitchen. Though I no longer stir the pots @ Project Open Hand, I always remember this as the best job I ever had. Because at the end of each day I knew that we made a difference in the community. POH is LOVE.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If they had the funds I would open the door to whoever needed the food. In the real world there are limits, but in a perfect world they would feed everyone who truly needed a hot meal.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Since the early 1980's, when the AIDS epidemic was in its' infancy, a little old lady (Ruth Brinker) had a vision that to this day grows with love. I saw many of my friends and coworkers pass and the vision that POH had was one of caring, compassion and nutrition. I have met many, many people through this agency and they have become friends to this day. I classify myself as a client served as my partner of 23 years, who passed in 2011, used POH since his diagnosis in 1996. There are no words that can express the amount of gratitude I have for this agency. It is unbelievable that the heart of POH is its' volunteers. It is humbling to know this. I will forever be grateful for the lessons this agency has and continues to teach me on this journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Probably do nothing. . .It has existed to this day and only needs accolades for all it has done and continues to do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I LOVE Project Open Hand! The true heart of this organization is LOVE. LOVE is a major ingredient in the food prepared for the Clients, it is delivered by volunteers who give of themselves, it is the major engine powering the staff along to get the job done efficiently and effectively, and it is what the Clients give back many times over. LOVE is what POH is all about!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put operations just like it in other cities around the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As you all know that I am a client and a volunteer for Project Open Hand If it was not for POH and the great services that they offer who knows if I would be on this earth.

Not only does Project Open Hand provide Meals with Love but they provide a unconditional kind of love nutritionally
as well as mentally. There be days that I am down mentally because of some reason like tcell levels are down or my viral load is up. Sometimes its about little petty selfish things that normally would not bother any other individual or individuals.

All I have to so is walk across the threshold of 730 Polk Street and there is a overwhelming warmth that goes over me that erases all my pains. The new friendships that I make everyday with open hand just makes my decision to be there tell the end more stronger. Also the mission statement " Project Open Hand is a nonprofit organization that provides meals with love to seniors and the critically ill." follows a mission statement that was instilled into me of "Service above Self" comes from Rotary International.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Possibly hire more volunteer/clients to part time positions so they can still maintain there SSDI income and make some extra income to possibly help them get better housing or improve there quality of life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Several years ago I was visiting San Francisco and saw an advertisement for Project Open Hand and I was told that it was an organization that feeds the hungry and volunteers can work by chopping vegetables. I thought then that if I lived here, I would like to chop vegetables. Well, I have now lived here for a year and I have been volunteering for 10 months. I have had many more opportunities besides chopping vegetables and I know that working at POH has done more for me than I have done for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I started volunteering at Project Open Hand because I wanted to give back to the community that I live and work in. I didn't really know what to expect when I walked into the Wednesday orientation meeting and was blown away by the volunteer coordinators. They are professional, passionate, helpful, friendly, and you can tell they love their job. I volunteer for night meal prep and work with a great group of people. It's only a small chunk of time every week and I look forward to the nights I volunteer at Project Open Hand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I volunteered in the kitchen for three years at Project Open Hand. It is truly a wonderful, welcoming community for everyone who is involved - from volunteers and donors to clients and staff. It is so rewarding to be part of an organization that provides neighbors in need with delicious, nutritious food that heals both body and soul.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have volunteered at POH for over 6 years. To start with, I wanted to get a distraction from work and home. It turned out to be a great place to meet new friends and enjoy the friendly staff. In addition, I felt very grateful when I was helping the clients directly at the grocery center. I put my actions in the past since I stopped volunteering to go on a long travel. When I settle back in San Francisco, I'll be happy to go volunteer again at the grocery center to work with Marcus, Sarah and Rachel!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I helped out with the Senior Lunch Program which served lunch to the elderly in the basement of a neighborhood church. Even more delightful than the other volunteers I worked with, were the elderly folks themselves. Most of them shared fascinating stories from thier lives while they ate a delicious and nutritious meals. It was apparent to me that these folks spend a lot of time in isolation. I believe it was a beneficial time for both volunteers and participants as no one left that basement without taking away something more than they had before arriving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It ain't broken so it don't need fixin

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I've been volunteering at P.O.H for over 2 1/2 yrs. I like volunteering there because of certain volunteers, are there, now. I must admit, I feel more comfortable, at P.O.H, then I did last year!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Well, I'm not going to go into "specifics" but I'm glad I help make a difference in the community!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Slice and dice fresh produce in our kitchen, deliver meals to sick clients, serve hot lunch to seniors, assist clients in our grocery centers, lend a hand at special events. Volunteer