Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.333335
Write A Review
August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I went to Haiti with Project Medishare on an extended volunteer trip to offer my services pro-bono to their medical efforts. They are making an impact on so many levels in Haiti that I left after my trip wondering what more I could do to contribute to their cause. They have Haitian staffed and run trauma programs that, from what I was told, were all run by foreign volunteers after the earthquake, so they have really come a long way and continue to employ hundreds of Haitians in their various programs around the country. I wish more people knew about this incredible organization because it seems like they fly under the radar way too much compared to the impact and the work that they are doing. I would highly recommend going on a volunteer trip with them if you can, and definitely contribute to the cause. It was obvious from being in Haiti that they are making an impact on a large scale with less funding than most other organizations who do half the work that they do.
December 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 18, 2013

I had the great privilege of volunteering last month in Haiti with this organization for the 5th time since the earthquake, and every time I go to Haiti, I am even more impressed than the last time at their incredible operation. They have created a state of the art medical facility on par with trauma hospitals in the US with just a tiny fraction of the resources. Talk about making something out of nothing—Project Medishare has accomplished this with very limited resources, and a lot of times, they rely on us volunteers to pull the weight of helping with fundraising for their lifesaving efforts, which we are always happy to do. I’m so impressed by their ability to train the Haitian staff so that they are now totally running the hospital thanks to trauma care training over the last 4 years, unlike right after the earthquake, when the medical care was given by us US-based medical volunteers. Most of the patients we saw during our volunteer deployment to train the Haitian medical staff would not have survived if not for Project Medishare’s trauma hospital, which I learned this trip is still the only trauma and critical care hospital in the country. It is really amazing what they are doing day in and day out at this place, and I encourage you to visit if given the opportunity because this experienced has changed my life, and opened my eyes up to the work of this grassroots organization that does so much more than any of the major organizations working in Haiti despite having a lot less resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2011
7 people found this review helpful

This organization is great at hiding the truth about who they truly are and where they really have spent the millions of dollars they raised on behalf of the Haitian people. I volunteered with them several times and the more I went the more it was obvious that University of Miami bigwigs were taking advantage of the poor for their own PR. Funds have been used for salaries of UM doctors when they could hire more local doctors. It is a big scam!!!! Lastly, I personally witnessed the so called founder, Dr. Barth Green, screaming at people one moment then flirting with every young woman he could. Sad !!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Fooling donors, volunteers and others with good hearts for their own personal agendas and for their own egos.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not waste the time as they will soon be found out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 3, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week working at the Project Medishare Hospital in Haiti. I can confirm that they are 100% engaged in providing quality medical care in the most difficult of environments. They are focused on their mission and use their resources appropriately. The need will continue for decades.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Medical and logistics personnel of all levels of experience working collaboratively with each other in an incredibly difficult environment. No one complains they just do what needs to be done.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Build a first rate trauma center in a country that sorely needs it. It would take much more then 10 million, but the 10 million would help and would be well spent.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers