Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

I work with PI and consumer housing needs, I feel PI does an excellent job with support , care and concerns for their consumers. I believe they exceed in all areas of expected needs for their consumers and the public they serve. It has been my pleasure to be associated with such and fine organization for over 17 years. I support all of the efforts that PI shows to their consumers daily. I wish more agencies would follow them as an example.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

I have a sister in the Project Independence program and have been a volunteer at P.I. for the last 3 years. P.I. is an awesome organization that helps so many in our community and is a true blessing
to all of those they support! The staff puts in so many hard, loving hours to make sure their
clients
are well taken care of in the areas of Housing, Jobs & Daily Support (grocery shopping/transportation/
health & personal care). It touches your heart to see the groups come in after a days work and share
their day with the job coaches & P.I. staff, the whole office lights up with excitement. My sister Anna
loves the whole P.I. gang and calls them all her best friends. I have never seen her so happy and so
fulfilled as she is now. Thank You, P.I. for all that you are and for all that you do! B. Shubin

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It was recently done, a full time events coordinator

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I volunteer at various Project Independence events and have participated in their "thank you" gatherings. I think PI is an excellent organization and have recommended it to several friends, as well as getting friends involved in their events. They are an awesome group of people and my personal favorites that belong to PI are Anna Koretoff and Bobby; Bobby is so friendly and such a joy to talk to. He has been a "friend" for several years and I am so amazed at his accomplishments.
Keep up the great work, PI; your group is one of the best around......

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I have a friend whos sister has been helped by this organization. This organization has opened up so many opportunities for both her sister and my friend. There is peace for my friend knowing her sister is taken care of an in good hands. The staff is so loving, kind and accepting. What a true blessing.
I love volunteering for this organization. Seeing all the happy faces makes it all worth while.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

As a parent with a daughter as a client under the umbrella of PI going on 25 years and continuing, I've had the distinct pleasure of serving as past President of the PI Board of Directors (ret) under the remarkable creative leadership of Executive Director, Debra Marsteller. It's my intrinsic belief and experience that Project Independence is the supreme agency in Orange County with a chronology that's extraordinary serving the developmentally gifted adults and those with autism .- John H. Petersen

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

When things are going right - why make a change?... PI is always thinking ahead and planning for the future!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

Project Independence is a group of very caring, dedicated social workers who make regular visits to developmentally disabled adults in our community who are living independent but need assistance with daily life skills. The P.I. staff helps their clients with grocery shopping, meal planning, doctors appointments, hygiene, anger management and exercise. They also offer many opportunities for varied social functions and outings. My cousin, who is 67, has been a client of PI for the last 10 years. If it wasn't for PI, he would not be able to live on his own and manage as well as he does. The staff is on call 24/7 for any emergency needs and are reliable, reputable and conscientious.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2013

more

September 15, 2013

I'm writing as a parent of an adult client who is high-functioning autistic. Carla, the person assigned as a job developer for my son, made the effort to learn what kind of work my son would be best at and what he was looking for. Although it took a while, she came up with an ideal match. The job is part-time and requires his work only 9 months out of the year, but it's a great start and my son will get great references for a full-time job. Carla also had my son attend job skills and interview skills workshop at their location in Costa Mesa, which I thought was very helpful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe more frequent communications to let us know where things are for the job search. A quick email would be fine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

As the parent of an adult client with autism, it was frustrating dealing with another placement organization that simply put, passed the job search back to us. With Project Independence, within two weeks of meeting with my son, his job developer helped him acquired a job that suited his needs and interests. His employer had never hired a person with special needs and was impressed with the presentation and interviewed him on the spot. Project Independence continues to follow up with minimal shadowing to ensure his well being and job security. Well done!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It took a long time to hear back initially from the director, so he could probably use some administrative assistance

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

There was no category for my role. I am the parent of a client.

My son has been a client of Project Independence for about 20 years. He lives independently and it is because of the support he receives from PI. Every employee we've encountered has a great focus! They know what needs
to be accomplished and how to proceed to implement or maintain goals. I've found my son's support has been ongoing and consistent.

If there is any problem a member of the team or team leader always gets back to me in support of my son.

I have no complaint about this organization and don't know what I'd do if there were not doing the ongoing support for my son's independent living status!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Include parents even with it's easier to meet ONLY with the client. Often my son tells his case carrier that I don't need to be called and attend but disabled people do NOT really have the concept that family members that help them ARE part of the "circle of support" and should not be excluded. There must be a way to notify parents of adult clients because it's in their best interest.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

My brother has received services from Project Independence for over 10 years. It is an amazing organization that provides daily living assistance and social opportunities for people with challenges. Their staff is compassionate and loving and provide my brother with so much help and inspiration to live life to the very best of his abilities!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them MORE funding so they could help more people!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers