Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
123.8823545
Write A Review
December 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was about to make a donation to Project Hope after reading the evaluation here, but then I remembered to check what the CEO makes. To my surprise he makes over 600K a year ! No employee of any charity should be enriching him/herself to the tune of 600K a year. When I donate to charity, I expect my money to go to those in need not in a CEO's pocket. My money will go elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Have you ever seen Carter Hall where the Project Hope Offices are located? It is one of the most extravagant and historical mansions in Virginia. Why would a charity have their headquarters in such a extravagant, luxurious and historical place? I believe if you dig into their books you will find something fishy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was included in a group that toured Project HOPE's projects in Wuhan, Shanghai, and Beijing China in 2008. I saw first-hand the grateful appreciation of Nursing students at Wuhan University, AIDs patients, the parents of children injured in the Sichuan Province earthquake, the parents of heart patients at the Shanghai Children's Medical Center, and the pleas from the Minister of Health in Beijing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I too struggle with giving to this org. and others like it where the CEO receives a salary that seems excessive. on one hand i know that non profits like any body else need to hire competent people to run their organizations and also need to compensate them well to keep them. I know hat they devote a lot of time work and effort on behalf of the org. and probably do a lot of traveling too. however on the other hand they are working for a charity whose goal is to.help people and the more you pay out in salary and administrative expenses is less $ for the mission of the org. also since this is a Charity should not the leaders be expected to make some sacrifices on the matter of salary and benefits vs working for a private company

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

never have

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

take a hard look at the salary issue of the CEO and others

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

newsletter

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I chose not to

What would you tell others about this organization?

be cautious as to who give to and why

December 10, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 10, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I am troubled by the excessive pay to the CEO. I believe that charity money should not be used for such high pay.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers