Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
123.8823545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I was honored to serve as a bilingual public health educator and triage nurse in latin America on the USNS Comfort in 2007 AND 2008. I visited seven countries and provided care to thousand of people. The compassioin and kindness I witnessed but moreover was given in doing this important work was life changing. I remember a young man who had suffered a severe brain injury in a motor vehicle accident being brought to our clinic in Guatemala . he had already gone through rehabilitation in Guatemela City but his parent had driven seven hours to see us oping we could give them information on how to further help him. We worked for hours tring to make contacts. We all were so moved by his parents hope in us. Eventually we did make contacts that woud eventually provide him some further treatment back in the capital. I family walked two days from their mountain village to see us about a speciic issue. We did provide care and as they started to leave for the two day walk back to their home the mother turned to me and gave me a big hug.. She said thank ou God bless you in Spanish and it was so heartfelt i cried when she left. The mothers and childen, all who came to us demonstrated such courage and such strength. I was honored to be there. It is difficult to describe what it is like to ride into a medical site whee 600 people are waiting for the medical team and as our bus arrives the entire crown breaks into cheering because we have come to help them. Little do they know how mch they give to us. It is about great hope and great faith that hearts and minds come together to share our humanity. That is what the PROJECT HOPE cause is all about.....our shared humanity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Attracted dedicated, generous professionals with great intentions. But people felt "used" as the emphasis seemed to be on taking photos for P-R, recruitment, and fundraising purposes and emphasized photos of local/ native people's, especially children, somewhat posed and often intrusive objectification with little regard for privacy.they certainly get good value for money as they require the volunteers to pay all the expenses associated with their volunteer work ( although in some cases, they are getting food and housing through U.S. military). It is hard for volunteers not to feel taken advantage of, however, when one sees the salary and travels of the CEO, Dr. Howe or other staff's unnecessary and not substantive site visits. In the end, it is good work, and one can feel good about it if you think of Project Hope as merely a middleman that hooks the professional up with the organization doing the work, such as military. Not sure that Project Hope fills its side of the bargains hen it also includes in its contingent new associate degree graduates without any work experience and categorizes them in a specialty. Perhaps this is because Project Hope is not clear about how it wants to be identified and the essence of the service it wants to be known for providing -- simply bodies or real expertise that can be shared with host country counterparts. What's the value it intends to add -- qualitatively and quantitatively?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PH focuses on sustainability by helping developing nations work with scarce resources. This provides for long-term results, not short term patches,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was helping on a mission in the USNS comfort as a translator here in Nicaragua, they came with the mission to help people with different illness... It was so great to help so many people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My life with Project HOPE began in 2005 with the USNS Mercy in Indonesia after the tsunami. What an exciting and rewarding experience! After that came: Katrina ( also an interesting experience), humanatarian efforts in Paupa New Guinea, Micronesia, Ghana and most recently in Haiti at Albert Schweitzer Hospital. The people I have known and loved during these experieces are memories to last a lifetime. I am proud to have been a part of this wonderful organization. JoAnne Machin, RN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered for Project Hope since the Earthquake in Nias in 2005. it was the first attempted to partner the US Navy with NGOs. It took a while for us to figure out each others role on the ship US Mercy but we soon learned what was expected and how to work well together. Since then Project Hope has responded to other disasters and remained in the country's after everyone else has left. To help educate and continue to rehab victims. This is the case inHaiti after so much cholera and traumatic amputations had occurred. recently I traveled with Project Hope to Benin and Togo, Africa. We set up Health clinics and preventive education for the people there. this was during the time of the death of Ambassador Stevens. Despite that we felt safe and secure with our Navy and Marine partners. Project Hope takes care of its volunteers and remains in the country after everyone else has left!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Project HOPE is a global health and education and humanitarian aid organization. It has programs in over 35 countries throughout the world. The organization is involved with public health programs as well as disaster relief programs. Although Project HOPE has many beneficial programs programs, one that stand out to me is its Orphans and Vulnerable children program in Namibia. In Namibia, Project HOPE helps teach young people about HIV prevention and teaches parenting skills to guardians of those who have been orphaned due to AIDS. I am a volunteer at Project HOPE in the Communications Department. I have been helping to spread the word about HOPE's great programs for the past three months.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered twice for tsunami relief and humanitarian aid in Indonesia. Awesome experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers