Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
123.8823545
Write A Review
November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I was honored to serve as a bilingual public health educator and triage nurse in latin America on the USNS Comfort in 2007 AND 2008. I visited seven countries and provided care to thousand of people. The compassioin and kindness I witnessed but moreover was given in doing this important work was life changing. I remember a young man who had suffered a severe brain injury in a motor vehicle accident being brought to our clinic in Guatemala . he had already gone through rehabilitation in Guatemela City but his parent had driven seven hours to see us oping we could give them information on how to further help him. We worked for hours tring to make contacts. We all were so moved by his parents hope in us. Eventually we did make contacts that woud eventually provide him some further treatment back in the capital. I family walked two days from their mountain village to see us about a speciic issue. We did provide care and as they started to leave for the two day walk back to their home the mother turned to me and gave me a big hug.. She said thank ou God bless you in Spanish and it was so heartfelt i cried when she left. The mothers and childen, all who came to us demonstrated such courage and such strength. I was honored to be there. It is difficult to describe what it is like to ride into a medical site whee 600 people are waiting for the medical team and as our bus arrives the entire crown breaks into cheering because we have come to help them. Little do they know how mch they give to us. It is about great hope and great faith that hearts and minds come together to share our humanity. That is what the PROJECT HOPE cause is all about.....our shared humanity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was about to make a donation to Project Hope after reading the evaluation here, but then I remembered to check what the CEO makes. To my surprise he makes over 600K a year ! No employee of any charity should be enriching him/herself to the tune of 600K a year. When I donate to charity, I expect my money to go to those in need not in a CEO's pocket. My money will go elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Have you ever seen Carter Hall where the Project Hope Offices are located? It is one of the most extravagant and historical mansions in Virginia. Why would a charity have their headquarters in such a extravagant, luxurious and historical place? I believe if you dig into their books you will find something fishy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Attracted dedicated, generous professionals with great intentions. But people felt "used" as the emphasis seemed to be on taking photos for P-R, recruitment, and fundraising purposes and emphasized photos of local/ native people's, especially children, somewhat posed and often intrusive objectification with little regard for privacy.they certainly get good value for money as they require the volunteers to pay all the expenses associated with their volunteer work ( although in some cases, they are getting food and housing through U.S. military). It is hard for volunteers not to feel taken advantage of, however, when one sees the salary and travels of the CEO, Dr. Howe or other staff's unnecessary and not substantive site visits. In the end, it is good work, and one can feel good about it if you think of Project Hope as merely a middleman that hooks the professional up with the organization doing the work, such as military. Not sure that Project Hope fills its side of the bargains hen it also includes in its contingent new associate degree graduates without any work experience and categorizes them in a specialty. Perhaps this is because Project Hope is not clear about how it wants to be identified and the essence of the service it wants to be known for providing -- simply bodies or real expertise that can be shared with host country counterparts. What's the value it intends to add -- qualitatively and quantitatively?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Hi,

My Name is Annie Javed I am a student . The way you help people through show is really great. I am on a mission which I named ''Love For Humanity''. This missions seems to be very difficult but I believe nothing is impossible. I really wish people of our world stop
hating, abusing and cheating each other. Female's should get freedom so that they can freely do any work and study without any fear. Security for people so that they can feel safe. Stop Crimes, Robbery, Terrorism and Jealousy. We all can unite. This small effort will really work if we all unite we can really make this mission possible. Then this world will be a better place to live in. I want to see a smile on everyone's face want to see everyone happy. I want to make a Charity Foundation one day Hope that dream will come true Insha ALLAH.

My Pages:-
Like if u want to support humanity....

http://www.facebook.com/WeSupportHumanity?ref=ts&fref=ts
https://twitter.com/Love_4_Humanity

Thank You,
Annie Javed
Abu Dhabhi, United Arab Emirates

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PH focuses on sustainability by helping developing nations work with scarce resources. This provides for long-term results, not short term patches,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I became a member of the Project HOPE's Board six years ago. While I am well aware of the thousands and thousands of lives saved and people whose well-being has improved, the meaning of HOPE came home to me when I met a ten year old boy --- full of energy with a smile on his face --- in the hallway of a hospital in Beijing This child would have died as an infant had not Project HOPE provided and continued to provide medicine to him each and every day. I take pride in being part of an organization where employees, volunteers and Board members are committed to putting smiles on the faces of children around the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was included in a group that toured Project HOPE's projects in Wuhan, Shanghai, and Beijing China in 2008. I saw first-hand the grateful appreciation of Nursing students at Wuhan University, AIDs patients, the parents of children injured in the Sichuan Province earthquake, the parents of heart patients at the Shanghai Children's Medical Center, and the pleas from the Minister of Health in Beijing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was helping on a mission in the USNS comfort as a translator here in Nicaragua, they came with the mission to help people with different illness... It was so great to help so many people

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My life with Project HOPE began in 2005 with the USNS Mercy in Indonesia after the tsunami. What an exciting and rewarding experience! After that came: Katrina ( also an interesting experience), humanatarian efforts in Paupa New Guinea, Micronesia, Ghana and most recently in Haiti at Albert Schweitzer Hospital. The people I have known and loved during these experieces are memories to last a lifetime. I am proud to have been a part of this wonderful organization. JoAnne Machin, RN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers