Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
100 Reviews
1234.935
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

We at SuperGeeks Hilo love this org and support their work and mission.
September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I ran into this organization by chance and it changes my outlook on what it means to be a social worker. As Magin would state, "nothing is by chance and everything happens for a reason." However, being a social worker for over 15 years, dedicating my life to what I thought would change the lives I touched, was nothing compared to what I experienced working with this program.
Project Hawai'i, Inc., truly makes the difference in the lives they provide services to. Far beyond filling the holes and gaps that other agencies face. I couldn't believe the dedication they have to help the children, even with the means. It never seemed to cross their minds that there might not be funding available, or to check the computer to see what was in their inventory. Never saying no, and never turning away children as they lined up for supplies. It was truly amazing to see them in action!!
Here is my experience:
My experience was a unique one I suppose. Just happened to be at their place of giving at the right time. I was watching from across the field lots of children gathering around waiting for their turn for something. I just sat back and watched as this little old van pulled up and opened the doors, children ran up to the passenger side, yelling aunty, aunty. She calmed them down and told them to line up, and they DID! That was enough to get my full attention. These children all sat nicely along a rock wall waiting quietly. She called them all one by one all by name. They went to her and got their backpacks filled with supplies, a lunch bag and other things I couldn't quite make out. There seemed to be several dozen children waiting on the wall never to be called. She looked at them and asked, "where did you all come from?" Mostly their replies where they knew she was coming and needed supplies too. She told them she would return with all their supplies and took down names.
That is when I stepped in. I asked her where she was from, how she was going to get the supplies, and so forth. Her response to me was mind blowing!!
She stated she was going to run to Walmart to pick up the items needed for these children. She didn't have enough because she didn't know these children were going to be here. Stating this happens to her often, children in need just seem to find her. She doesn't have extra and knows that not enough funds came, but these children need these supplies to succeed in school and therefore she is going to get it.
Well, that is just amazing. The different agencies I have worked for in the past, including one's with major funding would not have even done this. They would have have told those children too bad, and put them on a wait list. They would go about their daily "job" and forget about the crisis.
So, if you want to meet a truly amazing lady, please take the time to meet Magin, attend one of her events and be part of something great.
Of course I am sure there are other involved, but this woman is really remarkable. I feel bad, as I didn't have time to meet the man she was with, assuming it is her husband, but he seemed to just follow her lead and they drove off to Walmart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Changes to the organization? I don't know if anything needs to change other than the community or other companies, to give!! Give what they can and help this wonderful program continue with it's work!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Project Hawaii is a selfless organization that takes caring to a whole new level. Having worked with homeless people in Canada I understand the enormity of the task. To be able to take that same level of dedication and empathy to the keiki is honorable. We, as caring people, should never have let this type of poverty exist, but since it does, we need organizations like Project Hawaii to right the wrongs. Thank you Project Hawaii for all your work and inspiration!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 16, 2009

more

December 16, 2009

I've been aware of Magin Patrick and the Christmas Wish Program from when she first came to our island and started caring for the homeless people of our island. From the first time we met to discuss collaborating on some Domestic Harmony events for her families we had common ground and were/are committed to addressing the very real issues of domestic violence in homeless families by teaching them about Domestic Harmony. To that end, Magin and I have consulted and participated in events together, including a t shirt contest, and fund raiser. In addition, she held the first Domestic Harmony event on O'ahu on behalf of the Domestic Harmony Awareness Initiative, where she read Mayor Hannemann's proclamation to her families on 11 11 07, while they were enjoying the food she secured for them. Magin's organization has a number of volunteers, she has secured good press all along, she has made a huge impact on numbers of people here and on O'ahu through her steadfast commitment to her families and this work. It is amazing year after year to see the programs she comes up with and then the effort she extends to see that those children have a Halloween party or a Christmas party and school supplies. More help and supplies, and materials which could be secured with more funds would only serve to help her provide even better services. What she does matters. She's an Ace of Hearts.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Magin's creativity in finding ways to make the Christmas wishes of so many come true all these years. Creating all the other 'normal' holiday events and tutoring. Dedication to the children to make their lives better by showing them that people care.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Inspired by what they are doing and give their all. Magin is an inspiration to many. Her children are involved in the work too.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help a lot of people get their lives together, find homes, keep their kids, keep their kids in school.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Really make a difference in the lives of homeless children. We typically run monthly fundraisers that last 3 hours. Or volunteers can conduct their own fundraisers. Those who are able can donated their time and run an activity at the camp for the children, or help with assembling craft projects.We need help packing for camp, holiday meals, deliveries, hygiene bags and more.3 hours can make a world of difference in the lives of homeless children Volunteer