Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.932045
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

When I discovered Project Hawaii many years ago when I moved to the Big Island, I was stunned to find out how many kids were living in poverty and/or homeless. Magin is so dedicated to these children and never judges them. She knows they are "innocent bystanders" of their circumstances. It is truly heartwarming to see what a difference Project Hawaii has made in so many children's lives.
October 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 10, 2012

I have been both a regular volunteer and donor for Project Hawaii since moving to HI over 8 years ago. Magin has continually done an amazing job of always being there for any child/family in need whi... more

October 28, 2014

I have been a volunteer with Magin & Project Hawaii since moving to the Big Isld 10 yrs ago. She is totally devoted to helping these homeless keiki and their families. If it weren't for her and Cliff, I don't know what many of these families would do. They work nonstop to raise funds to provide not only the necessities (food, clothing, hygiene items), but to also give them some joy in their lives; i.e., holiday parties/events, summer camps, etc. It is unfortunate that Magin and Cliff must work so hard to raise the funds needed to accomplish these goals and that many of the local community organizations/business, do not step-up to help them. Project Hawaii should be one of the top non-profits in Hawaii.
November 10, 2012

I have been both a regular volunteer and donor for Project Hawaii since moving to HI over 8 years ago. Magin has continually done an amazing job of always being there for any child/family in need while simultaneously organizing and offering all her regular yearly events for these children-- Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, summer camp, etc. She manages all of these tasks while working with only donations and volunteers. Project Hawaii is long overdue for major recognition and financial assistance!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2009

I have been with Magin and Christmas Wish since moving to HI five years ago. And I have never experienced someone so dedicated to their "cause" as Magin. As another reviewer noted, she will use her own funds if she does not meet her monetary goals for a particular campaign, i.e., christmas gifts, books, food. I also agree that she seems somewhat dis- organized but amazingly to me (since I am a very organized person) everything falls into place and works! She does so much for these homeless keiki, it is really heartbreaking to see how oftentimes the community does so little to help her cause. Many families would be much worse off it weren't for Magin and Christmas Wish.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated to helping the keiki.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

As a volunteer, it is hard to imagine that the little time that one gives will make such an impact on these precious children. I went in this adventure for a 3 hour volunteer shift...like a 3 hour tour, I was STUCK. Stuck helping these children have a wonderful life with this awesome program. I have volunteered for other agencies, at school and such, but nothing really seems to touch the heart like this agency does.
The homeless children are so dependent on their environment, community and yes, Project Hawai'i, Inc., just to survive. That is all these children doing, surviving to live another day. Who knows what the other day might bring? At least they can look forward to fun activities and supplies that Project Hawai'i provides. Keep up the good work, and hopefully your dream of being able to save ALL the homeless children of Hawai'i will come true!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I came from Pittsburgh, PA, to Hawaii to volunteer with Project Hawaii in 2010. Since then, the experience has still stuck with me as one of the best of my life. Magin works endlessly to ensure the children of Hawaii are taken care of despite the odds, and the rest of the volunteers do just the same. I am forever grateful for the work they do and I hope one day to be able to return to Hawaii and see what more awesome steps the organization has made to make the lives of the island's homeless population better.
September 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

As the volunteer coordinator for the summer camp program I wish to say that this is an awesome way to truly get involved and make a difference in the lives of the children served. The community has th... more

September 17, 2014

Aloha,
Once again I am honored to be asked to write a review about Project Hawai'i, Inc. As a long time volunteer this program still continues to bring tears to my eyes as I am able to help so many children through the efforts of Project Hawai'i, Inc. I am so fortunate to be able to have found
such a great organization that truly cares about the over all success of these children and allow the community to participate in their vision. While it is a "hard" position to volunteer because not many people show up to make the difference and help where it is most needed, it is well worth the time and effort. I truly wish to see more support in the year coming.
Project Hawai'i, Inc. , has the most dedicated team of volunteers working year round to meet the needs of these children, and I am glad to be a part of it. Both by giving time, and giving a monetary donation towards their needs.
August 4, 2011

As the volunteer coordinator for the summer camp program I wish to say that this is an awesome way to truly get involved and make a difference in the lives of the children served. The community has the opportunity to work hands on with homeless and poverty stricken children and guide them through their daily routines.
By participating for even a few days of camp can truly make the difference in the over all success.
This year I was able to work with wonderful heartfelt and dedicated volunteers from all over the islands. Yes, we were even able to have college students from O'ahu join us in this years summer adventures. Volunteers came from Volcano area, Puna District and as far as Kona to help create a wonderful experience for our keiki.
As the director, I am always looking for more community support and involvement from people helping to organize or conduct a fundraiser or collection site, to helping implement some of the daily activities.
Volunteers are all encouraged to add and share their talents with our keiki, even if just a few hours during the day.
Without the community support, this camp will not succeed. So, please make a difference today and join our efforts for tomorrow

Photos

Videos

Adventures Abound Day Camp

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I work hands on with the community, children and companies to assure the success of the camp

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have more community support, both volunteers and donors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We really need more community support and volunteers in order to make everyone's job a bit more manageable

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This is a wonderful way to meet new people, share your talents, and make a difference in everyone's life. The effect it has on me is indescribable . I can't imagine my life without working at this camp.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Full of love and contentment.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

Project Hawaii (PH) offers children a chance. Without good nutrition, a young mind and body cannot thrive. Knowing there are 35,000 children under the age of 5 on a daily average who are living homeless and without meals in the state of Hawaii'i, they're doing something about it. Going out into beaches, in parking lots, finding their way to the most indigent among us, they provide holiday meals, tutorial programs and guidance for youth-at-risk, reversing the life-long victim-dominator patterning because they have never known anything else. They have never lived outside the circumstances of poverty, the domination of hunger and the ensuing victimizing circumstances that surround such conditioning. With Project Hawai'i, children are offered a way through. By being fed as consistently as possible with nourishing food, encouraging messages and pathway out of their desperate situations, children regain hope. Magin and Cliff are doing what society ought in its right mind to do: to care for the children, beginning at the beginning: with good nutrition. Project Hawai'i is making a difference, and showing what individuals with the will to serve humanity can do to create a better world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Network with schools to create organic gardens that teach children the full cycle of life: soil preparation, seed planting, sunshine, water, weeding, cultivation, harvest, cuisine preparation and generating useful subject matter for mathematics, earth sciences, geography, human anatomy and physiology, psychology, teamwork and service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Aloha,
I am honored to be able to write a review and share my story for Project Hawai'i. I truly believe this organization is a blessing to the community and to those lives they touch. Not only life changing for the homeless children they provide services to, but for the volunteers and their
families.
I want to share my experience volunteering at the Christmas Party on O'ahu. It was truly amazing.
When my family showed up to the park we were over whelmed with how much was going to be provided to the children, from the games, activities, meals and the presents. Van load after van load appeared packed with items for the party. I looked around and wondered where all the help was going to come from, but not too many people showed up. This didn't seem to frazzle Magin at all. She just kept moving, assigning projects to people and working like a whirl wind. Here and there volunteers would come, and she would put them in a spot that needed help. There never seemed to be enough help, and I really doubted the completion or readiness of the party.
About 30 minutes early little children started showing up, homeless families and others from out of nowhere. This was also an experience in itself. Magin just quickly organized these impatient little bodies, telling them just hang on, she was almost ready for them. I looked around, questioning how she thought anything was "almost ready'.
Then like a flash, more like a miracle, everything was ready just as she had hoped. All the food was ready, the games set and the presents sorted.
I saw hundreds of children lining up, well not really "lining up" but more like crowding around all the activities and the games, the food and hoping for their gifts from Santa.
Well, at the end of this quick as a flash party, there were so many happy faces, full bellies and tired volunteers.
I wouldn't want to spend my holiday any other way!! Thank you so much for allowing our family the opportunity to provide happiness to so many children. There was no way to count how many children there were that day, but the directors stated that over 700 plates of food were served, and they had 481 children on the list. Well that would seem like enough, but over 50 children showed up unregistered. It was like magic, as this organization plans for everything. Truly a sight to see, She opened up the back of her shiny red car, like Santas sleigh and pulled out more gifts, some in the form of gift cards, some just marked "extra" and some needing to be wrapped. It was amazing to see that she does really have the heart and the magic that makes Christmas so wonderful for everyone.
I would recommend anyone who wants to experience the spirit of the holiday, to volunteer for one of Project Hawai'i, holiday programs.
I did notice that they do need more support, so you can be the difference that makes it even more special.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide Magin with the funds she needs to make the work not so hard on her. She does lack support from the community, that most nonprofits don't face. I believe if she had the money to run the program without having to fundraise all the time, it would be even more wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

This year I was one of the few fortunate individuals that was able to make a difference in the lives of homeless children at the summer camp hosted by Project Hawai'i.
I saw how much this camp truly makes the difference and touches lives of children living in poverty. These children go days
without healthy meals, wear dirty clothing day after day, and don't have access to running water or electricity.
Project Hawai'i puts an end to their daily routine of living and provides them with more than enough healthy foods to choose from, provides daily hygiene routine and has so much educational programs throughout the day.
I was amazed that not too many people actually are involved through this volunteer program. It is life changing for everyone involved, and I am so happy to be one of the few!!
I would like to share this with the world, letting everyone know what a difference just a few hours of your day can make.
I saw how this camp helps the children with an over all sense of well being.
Please reach out and be part of this program to assure it's success for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would figure out how to get them more volunteers, financial support and over all community involvement. I see so many people giving to organizations that are state funded, and don't rely on public support. I see many people volunteering in places that really don't have the impact or the need as great as this camp. Check it out and see what a difference YOUR TIME and money can do to help these precious children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I found Project Hawai'i online through the United Way volunteer site. At first I was just looking for a one day event my child and I could participate in. It turned out to be a life changing experience for both my family and the homeless children we are volunteering for. The director asked us to conduct a food drive to help with the summer camp needs. We were given a menu list and set up a drive at a local grocery.
This was an eye opening experience. Here my daughter and I sat, greeting customers as they walked by and asking if someone would like to donate a can of food to help homeless children. It was not as easy as I thought. People not only walked by ignoring us as if we were doing something wrong, but made rude and unwanted comments. By the end of the day we did succeed, but in the meanwhile, we learned about the communities true feelings about the issues we shared.
This was a learning experience for my daughter as well. I had to reinforce that what we were doing was a great thing, we are making a difference, and those who choose to be mean are not those we need to help either. It was an experience that is hard to express. I would encourage others to conduct a drive, as it is one of the most important links in the over all success of the camp, but be prepared to learn about people and the community in which you live.
Over all, I am so happy that we had this opportunity to help all the homeless children that attended camp. I know that my contribution and time was greatly appreciated and did make a difference.
My own family would not have been able to donate close to the amount of food we were able to collect. This shows that your time is more valuable than you realize. Putting a few hours in to good use does make the difference while volunteering with Project Hawai'i.
I hope others will do the same, as I know this agency needs the support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Althoug this statement is NOT about the organization, I would have loved for the community not to be so harsh towards the people who are trying to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 17, 2012

Aloha, I was a teen mentor at the summer camp and was able to work hands on with the homeless children throughout the summer. It was the most incredible time of my life. I was so impressed with the or... more

May 21, 2013

I want to say that participating as a volunteer for Project Hawai'i is very rewarding. Not only for the volunteers but for the little homeless children they serve. As a volunteer you will feel the passion that the directors have for the program and the keiki. It is amazing to work with such dedicated people who never seem to give up regardless the trials they face.
I know that I make the difference with any program I participate in. They are run by volunteers, and at some events they really need MORE. So, if you are looking to volunteer somewhere you know will make a difference in the lives of homeless children, then this would be a great place to start.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more volunteers to help with all their efforts. Although the programs are always completed, sometimes it would be easier on those who are volunteering if they just had an extra hand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

Aloha, I was a teen mentor at the summer camp and was able to work hands on with the homeless children throughout the summer. It was the most incredible time of my life. I was so impressed with the organization of the program as well as the care given to the children. In some ways these children are "spoiled" by the director. They are taken care of so well they are almost able to forget they are homeless. This organization changes their lives and their families lives to help break the cycle of poverty. I am so happy to be part of such a wonderful program. Their summer camp is the best place on earth for the homeless keiki.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

through being a mentor to the homeless children. I spent one month with the directors and volunteers during the summer camp. During this time we were able to provide an educational and life changing routine for the children. At the end the children all went back to their parents with all their back to school needs, from new backpacks to new outfits. I was part of this wonderful experience and can say it was an absolute success!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have more teens get involved. Don't miss this opportunity of a lifetime

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I think if the program had more funds to run the programs it would run a bit more smooth. As well, the teens wouldn't have to work so hard on the fundraising efforts and could spend more time with the children themselves.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I was able to earn 200 hours of community service certificate. I earned letters of recommendation and was able to use my experience to get a part time job after-school working with young children. Furthermore, I was able to attend leadership and mentoring workshops that I can take with me throughout my life. The skills and confidence gained is unexplainable. You just have to experience for yourself

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Full of love, confident and knowing I truly made a difference in this world.

June 1, 2011

Hello Everyone who wants to know about this wonderful experience. I am happy to once again participate in the survey to share my experience. I guess this year they want to know how Project Hawai'i Summer Camp cares for the health of the children. As well how my experience was.
Well let me
start with the health issues. Did you know that the children who attend this camp don't even have basic hygiene needs. They are homeless children living in tents and cars, in the bushes and along the beaches of Hawai'i. Did you know that these children weren't even able to brush their own teeth, or wash their own hair before this program showed them how to care for themselves.
Well, Project Hawai'i Teen Mentoring Summer Camp allowed me the opportunity to help these children become healthy and learn basic hygiene skills. Every day we would show the children how to care for themselves, and help them learn the reason why they need to do so.
The program was able to raise enough money with our help to even send them home with hygiene products they can use for months.
While I was able to mentor the little children and help them grow, I too was able to learn more independence and learn that life isn't just about me. I had a bigger purpose in life....and that was these children.
I am happy to share this experience. I hope that other teens are able to learn and grow and help others as well.
I do recommend this program to be awarded for the the Healthy survey. This camp keeps the children healthy.
Also, the camp offers very nutritious meals. We ate with the little children of course, but the food was soooo healthy. The children learned how to eat properly and not junk food. Every day was a new theme to learn to eat good foods. We had zoo day and we ate Bananas covered in peanut butter and rolled in cereal. Then at the ocean day, we went "fishing" we had celery fishing poles dipped in cream cheese and then fished for gold fish crackers. The children were so happy, but they were eating good food.
If you have the opportunity to attend Project Hawai'i Summer camp, Do it!! It is the best time of your life just waiting to happen.

Photos

Videos

Some of our Adventures

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

teen mentoring. I attended as mentor and actually grew more from my experience than any other life experience I have had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would help them to get more support. They are always struggling to provide for these childrens needs. It is funny how there is so much money being spent on things that don't really matter while children live homeless in our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I wish that there were more people involved. It is a long and worth wild cause, but tiring because there isn't enough help.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It changed my life forever. I was able to meet new people, learn a new culture and make an impact over my summer vacation.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel like my life was worth something. I do make a difference.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 2, 2009

My experience with Christmas Wish Program was very rewarding. I am only giving 4 stars because I wasn't really sure what to expect and then I thought that there could of been more organization with the program overall. I was shocked to see how the children lived and what the difference we made in just a short time being with them. I was able to help with the delivery of the hygiene products that we purchased by the director. There was fundraiser in Oahu that I was a part of to collect supplies and money. At the fundraiser a few people came with small donations of products the agency asked for, and many people came with small monetary donations to help purchase items. The fundraiser fell short of its goal, but the director Magin didn't really seem to mind, she just purchased what was needed out of her own pocket expenses. I felt a bit confused because she didn't seem to care that it costs her hundreds of dollars to fill all the bags. The next day I went with her to hand out the bags and was amazed at that process. She just drove to the beaches and went up to every tent and asked if children lived there. She gave the bags to the families, talked with the children a bit and walked to the next tent. It was shocking that the children live in this environment and the items we brought were a huge impact on their daily lives. Anyhow, I never went back. Sometimes I feel sad for the children living like that, and then I also feel like it is too much to make a difference. Magin has a heart like no others and it is hard to match that. I just wish her well and hope for the best for her and the children she helps.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

an eye opening experience. I was surprised at the whole process. I know that agency is for real, unbelievable but real. I know that she does more than she has the funds to do, and she cares beyond belief. But I will never participate again. It is too hard

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be to get this agency more supplies, funds and help. Definatly needs help and organization to be more successful.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the difference that Magin actually made. When she was hundreds of dollars short from the fundraiser, she just purchased all the extra stuff needed. I don't know anyone who would go that extra mile for these children.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

were not very helpful. The volunteers who came didn't have the same passion as Magin. In fact I think that they were there for the wrong reasons. I wish there were better volunteers.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

really change the world, make it a better place for the children of the islands. In fact, it would make this organization one of the best in the world. The passion behind the director is unsurpassed by anyone.

Ways to make it better...

there had been more helpers and volunteers at the fundraiser. We were short handed and that made it difficult. Plus we were unsucessful at collecting enough supplies.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

dedicated volunteers, lack of funds and not enough organization in the programs office

One thing I'd also say is that...

The program is wonderful, the children are precious, there just needs to be more help and support. One person is doing too much, and needs help to make it even better.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Really make a difference in the lives of homeless children. We typically run monthly fundraisers that last 3 hours. Or volunteers can conduct their own fundraisers. Those who are able can donated their time and run an activity at the camp for the children, or help with assembling craft projects.We need help packing for camp, holiday meals, deliveries, hygiene bags and more.3 hours can make a world of difference in the lives of homeless children Volunteer