Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.932045
Write A Review
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

Our family is so blessed to have Magin and Cliff in our lives. These two people have changed the lives of our keiki and our family by always being there. I am happy to be asked to write a review and let everyone know that this organization is for real. They do help us. They are wonderful people who make our children happy. Thank you for being there for us.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

As a big part of this organization, I just want to take this time to let everyone who makes a difference in the lives of our homeless keiki...we appreciate YOU! Without all our volunteers and donors, we would not be able to provide support to the thousands of children we provide services to.
It is because of you, our homeless keiki are growing healthy and happy, escaping their cycle of poverty. May all of you continue to be part of our organization for years to come.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I just want to thank everyone. My children would not be going back to school with their supplies if you were not there for us. Thank you for always being there. We wish we didn't need to count on you two, but it is nice to know we can. Mahalo for all your care to my children-M.K.
January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

I just want to say thank you for everything that you do for all of us. Not just our family but everyone who comes into your life, you care for. It is amazing how much love you share for all our children. When times are tough you are always there. I can't thank you enough for everything. I hope that someday we can repay your kindness that you have shown to all of us. I know that sometimes the families down here at the boat harbor aren't always grateful and they don't seem to care what happens to their children, but I know that you will always be there for all of us. Our family would not be as well off and not as happy just being alive it if wasn't for you and Cliff. We love you. We hope that you are able to continue to help those who come to our harbor and seek help.
See you soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think things need to change. They are wonderful kind people who care for the children who live down at the boat harbor in Wai'anae. What else could they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

Aloha Cliff and Magin.
Our family wishes you all the best. We had a wonderful time and the Christmas party. I know if it wasn't for your support, my children would go without a gift. Your party is more than just a hand out. It makes us feel like family and feel the joy of the holidays in these
hard times.
My children enjoyed the party so much they still talk about it. The prizes they won were such a great help, I won't have to buy shampoo for the month. We are so happy to have new blankets too.
It is a life experience that we are blessed to have.
You and your family are so great. Merry Christmas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

there is nothing to change. these are the most dedicated people in the world. they change lives and help everyone in need without any questions

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I ran into this organization by chance and it changes my outlook on what it means to be a social worker. As Magin would state, "nothing is by chance and everything happens for a reason." However, being a social worker for over 15 years, dedicating my life to what I thought would change the lives I touched, was nothing compared to what I experienced working with this program.
Project Hawai'i, Inc., truly makes the difference in the lives they provide services to. Far beyond filling the holes and gaps that other agencies face. I couldn't believe the dedication they have to help the children, even with the means. It never seemed to cross their minds that there might not be funding available, or to check the computer to see what was in their inventory. Never saying no, and never turning away children as they lined up for supplies. It was truly amazing to see them in action!!
Here is my experience:
My experience was a unique one I suppose. Just happened to be at their place of giving at the right time. I was watching from across the field lots of children gathering around waiting for their turn for something. I just sat back and watched as this little old van pulled up and opened the doors, children ran up to the passenger side, yelling aunty, aunty. She calmed them down and told them to line up, and they DID! That was enough to get my full attention. These children all sat nicely along a rock wall waiting quietly. She called them all one by one all by name. They went to her and got their backpacks filled with supplies, a lunch bag and other things I couldn't quite make out. There seemed to be several dozen children waiting on the wall never to be called. She looked at them and asked, "where did you all come from?" Mostly their replies where they knew she was coming and needed supplies too. She told them she would return with all their supplies and took down names.
That is when I stepped in. I asked her where she was from, how she was going to get the supplies, and so forth. Her response to me was mind blowing!!
She stated she was going to run to Walmart to pick up the items needed for these children. She didn't have enough because she didn't know these children were going to be here. Stating this happens to her often, children in need just seem to find her. She doesn't have extra and knows that not enough funds came, but these children need these supplies to succeed in school and therefore she is going to get it.
Well, that is just amazing. The different agencies I have worked for in the past, including one's with major funding would not have even done this. They would have have told those children too bad, and put them on a wait list. They would go about their daily "job" and forget about the crisis.
So, if you want to meet a truly amazing lady, please take the time to meet Magin, attend one of her events and be part of something great.
Of course I am sure there are other involved, but this woman is really remarkable. I feel bad, as I didn't have time to meet the man she was with, assuming it is her husband, but he seemed to just follow her lead and they drove off to Walmart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Changes to the organization? I don't know if anything needs to change other than the community or other companies, to give!! Give what they can and help this wonderful program continue with it's work!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

Project Hawaii (PH) offers children a chance. Without good nutrition, a young mind and body cannot thrive. Knowing there are 35,000 children under the age of 5 on a daily average who are living homeless and without meals in the state of Hawaii'i, they're doing something about it. Going out into beaches, in parking lots, finding their way to the most indigent among us, they provide holiday meals, tutorial programs and guidance for youth-at-risk, reversing the life-long victim-dominator patterning because they have never known anything else. They have never lived outside the circumstances of poverty, the domination of hunger and the ensuing victimizing circumstances that surround such conditioning. With Project Hawai'i, children are offered a way through. By being fed as consistently as possible with nourishing food, encouraging messages and pathway out of their desperate situations, children regain hope. Magin and Cliff are doing what society ought in its right mind to do: to care for the children, beginning at the beginning: with good nutrition. Project Hawai'i is making a difference, and showing what individuals with the will to serve humanity can do to create a better world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Network with schools to create organic gardens that teach children the full cycle of life: soil preparation, seed planting, sunshine, water, weeding, cultivation, harvest, cuisine preparation and generating useful subject matter for mathematics, earth sciences, geography, human anatomy and physiology, psychology, teamwork and service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Aloha,
I am honored to be able to write a review and share my story for Project Hawai'i. I truly believe this organization is a blessing to the community and to those lives they touch. Not only life changing for the homeless children they provide services to, but for the volunteers and their
families.
I want to share my experience volunteering at the Christmas Party on O'ahu. It was truly amazing.
When my family showed up to the park we were over whelmed with how much was going to be provided to the children, from the games, activities, meals and the presents. Van load after van load appeared packed with items for the party. I looked around and wondered where all the help was going to come from, but not too many people showed up. This didn't seem to frazzle Magin at all. She just kept moving, assigning projects to people and working like a whirl wind. Here and there volunteers would come, and she would put them in a spot that needed help. There never seemed to be enough help, and I really doubted the completion or readiness of the party.
About 30 minutes early little children started showing up, homeless families and others from out of nowhere. This was also an experience in itself. Magin just quickly organized these impatient little bodies, telling them just hang on, she was almost ready for them. I looked around, questioning how she thought anything was "almost ready'.
Then like a flash, more like a miracle, everything was ready just as she had hoped. All the food was ready, the games set and the presents sorted.
I saw hundreds of children lining up, well not really "lining up" but more like crowding around all the activities and the games, the food and hoping for their gifts from Santa.
Well, at the end of this quick as a flash party, there were so many happy faces, full bellies and tired volunteers.
I wouldn't want to spend my holiday any other way!! Thank you so much for allowing our family the opportunity to provide happiness to so many children. There was no way to count how many children there were that day, but the directors stated that over 700 plates of food were served, and they had 481 children on the list. Well that would seem like enough, but over 50 children showed up unregistered. It was like magic, as this organization plans for everything. Truly a sight to see, She opened up the back of her shiny red car, like Santas sleigh and pulled out more gifts, some in the form of gift cards, some just marked "extra" and some needing to be wrapped. It was amazing to see that she does really have the heart and the magic that makes Christmas so wonderful for everyone.
I would recommend anyone who wants to experience the spirit of the holiday, to volunteer for one of Project Hawai'i, holiday programs.
I did notice that they do need more support, so you can be the difference that makes it even more special.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide Magin with the funds she needs to make the work not so hard on her. She does lack support from the community, that most nonprofits don't face. I believe if she had the money to run the program without having to fundraise all the time, it would be even more wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Thank you for being part of our family. The support you give to my children is important. My children are happy for you both. Thank you for taking your time to help us when we need help.
I am so greatful for this program. The ohana in the brown van.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are just fine. They help so much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2013

more

August 2, 2013

Aloha,
I was at the Wai'anae Boat harbor yesterday and saw a group of children hanging around. More than usual, and just sitting on the wall waiting for something. I thought maybe there was a sign up, or something going on as there are many homeless in this area. These children really seemed
intent on "holding their space". Not really doing much, not playing or anything, just sitting.
My family was at the park having lunch, so I was just curious to what they were waiting for.
Then a blue van pulled up, all at once the children stood up and pushed their way to the van door.
A lady jumped out and they all seemed so happy to see her. I heard them shouting, but not really sure what. Many children started coming from other cars, and out of no where to see her.
There were two people there for about an hour handing out backpacks, school supplies and food to the children. They all just sat on the wall and waited their turn. It was actually amazing that they were so well behaved and just waiting. As if they knew their turn would come and no one would be left behind.
I watched as many of the children crossed the parking lot back to the bushes, and some got in old cars. I knew these children were homeless and waiting for something, but it was amazing at what came for them. The children and the two adults exchanged so many hugs and laughter together. Really amazing the way they all came together in harmony.
After the two left, I walked to my car and asked one of the ladies sitting their with her children who those people were. I wanted to know because it seemed like such a wonderful thing happening. They had nothing wrote on the van doors, no banners, no big productions but I would guess well over 50 children sat there waiting.
She actually gave me their business card she said they gave her because she lost their number. She said they come all the time and care for the children who live in the harbor. Her children were able to attend the summer camp and went all over the place.
I visited their website to see how I could get involved and then saw their request for reviews. I think what they do is truly something to be commended for. These two people put so much work and care into their support. I really was amazed to see this. Our family goes to this park once in a while, have seen churches have service and provide meals, other handouts of food, but nothing that actually touched my heart. This program is full of passion and after visiting their website, I hope they do get more people like me to notice them. To make a difference in our community.
Thank you for helping our keiki of Wai'anae.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't really know about this agency, other than what I witnessed in the park on Aug. 1. 2013

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Really make a difference in the lives of homeless children. We typically run monthly fundraisers that last 3 hours. Or volunteers can conduct their own fundraisers. Those who are able can donated their time and run an activity at the camp for the children, or help with assembling craft projects.We need help packing for camp, holiday meals, deliveries, hygiene bags and more.3 hours can make a world of difference in the lives of homeless children Volunteer