Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
98 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I came from Pittsburgh, PA, to Hawaii to volunteer with Project Hawaii in 2010. Since then, the experience has still stuck with me as one of the best of my life. Magin works endlessly to ensure the children of Hawaii are taken care of despite the odds, and the rest of the volunteers do just the same. I am forever grateful for the work they do and I hope one day to be able to return to Hawaii and see what more awesome steps the organization has made to make the lives of the island's homeless population better.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

We at SuperGeeks Hilo love this org and support their work and mission.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

Aloha,
I was newly introduced to this program by attending a charity event hosted by Project Hawai'i, Inc. My friend was invited to an event, so I tagged along. Not really knowing what to expect, as there are so many charities out there, and everyone claims to be "changing the world". Well
this was a bit different, not only did they not claim any outrageous claims, they simply invited everyone at the event to make a difference in their own way. Not asking for a donation, or even time...just do what you can to make a difference in your own way. They made the awareness of facts about homelessness that I don't think any of us realized, then gave simple solutions to how everyone can make a difference in their everyday lives. It was amazing that these two people can run an organization with such passion and NOT EXPECT anything from anyone...just the hope to do something to help these little children on our islands.
I encourage everyone to see what Project Hawai'i, Inc. is truly about. Listen to what is going on within their organization and choose to make a simple difference in just a few hours of your life.
I had fun at the event, my friend won a wonderful prize, and I purchased a silent auction item for a steal.
I hope this review is helpful for those who might be wondering who Project Hawai'i, Inc. is really all about.
September 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

As the volunteer coordinator for the summer camp program I wish to say that this is an awesome way to truly get involved and make a difference in the lives of the children served. The community has th... more

September 17, 2014

Aloha,
Once again I am honored to be asked to write a review about Project Hawai'i, Inc. As a long time volunteer this program still continues to bring tears to my eyes as I am able to help so many children through the efforts of Project Hawai'i, Inc. I am so fortunate to be able to have found
such a great organization that truly cares about the over all success of these children and allow the community to participate in their vision. While it is a "hard" position to volunteer because not many people show up to make the difference and help where it is most needed, it is well worth the time and effort. I truly wish to see more support in the year coming.
Project Hawai'i, Inc. , has the most dedicated team of volunteers working year round to meet the needs of these children, and I am glad to be a part of it. Both by giving time, and giving a monetary donation towards their needs.
August 4, 2011

As the volunteer coordinator for the summer camp program I wish to say that this is an awesome way to truly get involved and make a difference in the lives of the children served. The community has the opportunity to work hands on with homeless and poverty stricken children and guide them through their daily routines.
By participating for even a few days of camp can truly make the difference in the over all success.
This year I was able to work with wonderful heartfelt and dedicated volunteers from all over the islands. Yes, we were even able to have college students from O'ahu join us in this years summer adventures. Volunteers came from Volcano area, Puna District and as far as Kona to help create a wonderful experience for our keiki.
As the director, I am always looking for more community support and involvement from people helping to organize or conduct a fundraiser or collection site, to helping implement some of the daily activities.
Volunteers are all encouraged to add and share their talents with our keiki, even if just a few hours during the day.
Without the community support, this camp will not succeed. So, please make a difference today and join our efforts for tomorrow

Photos

Videos

Adventures Abound Day Camp

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I work hands on with the community, children and companies to assure the success of the camp

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have more community support, both volunteers and donors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We really need more community support and volunteers in order to make everyone's job a bit more manageable

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This is a wonderful way to meet new people, share your talents, and make a difference in everyone's life. The effect it has on me is indescribable . I can't imagine my life without working at this camp.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Full of love and contentment.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

My family is so grateful to have Project Hawai'i, Inc., is our lives. These two people are the kindest people I know. They always come with food, clothing and help for my family. They never judge our situations and only help. I feel like they care about my children as if they were their own. I just hope that others are able to experience the love they have shown us. Please let it known that our family is blessed by the volunteers at Project Hawai'i, Inc.
Mahalo for all your support
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

Our family is so blessed to have Magin and Cliff in our lives. These two people have changed the lives of our keiki and our family by always being there. I am happy to be asked to write a review and let everyone know that this organization is for real. They do help us. They are wonderful people who make our children happy. Thank you for being there for us.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

As a big part of this organization, I just want to take this time to let everyone who makes a difference in the lives of our homeless keiki...we appreciate YOU! Without all our volunteers and donors, we would not be able to provide support to the thousands of children we provide services to.
It is because of you, our homeless keiki are growing healthy and happy, escaping their cycle of poverty. May all of you continue to be part of our organization for years to come.
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I just want to thank everyone. My children would not be going back to school with their supplies if you were not there for us. Thank you for always being there. We wish we didn't need to count on you two, but it is nice to know we can. Mahalo for all your care to my children-M.K.
January 21, 2014

more

January 21, 2014

I just want to say thank you for everything that you do for all of us. Not just our family but everyone who comes into your life, you care for. It is amazing how much love you share for all our children. When times are tough you are always there. I can't thank you enough for everything. I hope that someday we can repay your kindness that you have shown to all of us. I know that sometimes the families down here at the boat harbor aren't always grateful and they don't seem to care what happens to their children, but I know that you will always be there for all of us. Our family would not be as well off and not as happy just being alive it if wasn't for you and Cliff. We love you. We hope that you are able to continue to help those who come to our harbor and seek help.
See you soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't think things need to change. They are wonderful kind people who care for the children who live down at the boat harbor in Wai'anae. What else could they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

Aloha Cliff and Magin.
Our family wishes you all the best. We had a wonderful time and the Christmas party. I know if it wasn't for your support, my children would go without a gift. Your party is more than just a hand out. It makes us feel like family and feel the joy of the holidays in these
hard times.
My children enjoyed the party so much they still talk about it. The prizes they won were such a great help, I won't have to buy shampoo for the month. We are so happy to have new blankets too.
It is a life experience that we are blessed to have.
You and your family are so great. Merry Christmas

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

there is nothing to change. these are the most dedicated people in the world. they change lives and help everyone in need without any questions

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Really make a difference in the lives of homeless children. We typically run monthly fundraisers that last 3 hours. Or volunteers can conduct their own fundraisers. Those who are able can donated their time and run an activity at the camp for the children, or help with assembling craft projects.We need help packing for camp, holiday meals, deliveries, hygiene bags and more.3 hours can make a world of difference in the lives of homeless children Volunteer