Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.932045
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

When I discovered Project Hawaii many years ago when I moved to the Big Island, I was stunned to find out how many kids were living in poverty and/or homeless. Magin is so dedicated to these children and never judges them. She knows they are "innocent bystanders" of their circumstances. It is truly heartwarming to see what a difference Project Hawaii has made in so many children's lives.
October 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 10, 2012

I have been both a regular volunteer and donor for Project Hawaii since moving to HI over 8 years ago. Magin has continually done an amazing job of always being there for any child/family in need whi... more

October 28, 2014

I have been a volunteer with Magin & Project Hawaii since moving to the Big Isld 10 yrs ago. She is totally devoted to helping these homeless keiki and their families. If it weren't for her and Cliff, I don't know what many of these families would do. They work nonstop to raise funds to provide not only the necessities (food, clothing, hygiene items), but to also give them some joy in their lives; i.e., holiday parties/events, summer camps, etc. It is unfortunate that Magin and Cliff must work so hard to raise the funds needed to accomplish these goals and that many of the local community organizations/business, do not step-up to help them. Project Hawaii should be one of the top non-profits in Hawaii.
November 10, 2012

I have been both a regular volunteer and donor for Project Hawaii since moving to HI over 8 years ago. Magin has continually done an amazing job of always being there for any child/family in need while simultaneously organizing and offering all her regular yearly events for these children-- Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, summer camp, etc. She manages all of these tasks while working with only donations and volunteers. Project Hawaii is long overdue for major recognition and financial assistance!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2009

I have been with Magin and Christmas Wish since moving to HI five years ago. And I have never experienced someone so dedicated to their "cause" as Magin. As another reviewer noted, she will use her own funds if she does not meet her monetary goals for a particular campaign, i.e., christmas gifts, books, food. I also agree that she seems somewhat dis- organized but amazingly to me (since I am a very organized person) everything falls into place and works! She does so much for these homeless keiki, it is really heartbreaking to see how oftentimes the community does so little to help her cause. Many families would be much worse off it weren't for Magin and Christmas Wish.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated to helping the keiki.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

Project Hawai'i has not only changed the lives of the children I donated to, but has changed my life in unexpected ways. I never expected to actually see the impact that might donation might make. As with everyone, you hope your donation is used as stated and truly makes a difference, but to actually have meet a child that was involved as a client served in a parking lot was amazing.
This little girl, a bunch of her siblings and her mom were standing in the parking lot next to the entrance of Walmart. Fumbling through their overstuffed backpack looking for something, and blocking the way of my cart. So, I kindly asked if they needed help finding something, as I could tell they were not going to be able to move.
The mom stated to me that she had lost her gift card that the little girl got for Christmas, and they had spent all their money on the bus to shop with these cards, but couldn't find the daughters one.
The little girl was crying and saying that her aunty was going to be mad because Santa gave her the card, and just went on and on. I was a donor of some of these cards. I donated 10 $10 Walmart Cards to help families in need through Project Hawai'i, Inc. So, I asked the mom what agency provided these cards. She replied that Santa gave them to the children in their stocking. Not being rude for their sake, I asked if that was with Project Hawai'i. The mother answered, yes, Magin delivers for Santa because he can't come into the bushes with his reindeer. I gave the mom another $10.00 for the daughter and proceeded to conduct my shopping.
As I was in the store, I really felt blessed to once again know that what I do makes a difference because I chose an agency who truly cares for these precious children. Of course I don't know if those were the gift cards I donated, but obviously the children are getting their blessings and their lives are enhanced, just as Project Hawai'i claims to do. Enhancing the lives of homeless keiki.

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

We as a family have been a part of project Hawaii for more years than I can remember. Magin and her staff are 100% dedicated to the children and their families. They are there to fill in the gaps that families face when it comes to providing there children with educational opportunities, school supplies and shoes and clothes. If not for this wonderfully awesome program I don't know what we would have done. They are by far the best volunteer program we have had the pleasure of working with!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

As a volunteer, it is hard to imagine that the little time that one gives will make such an impact on these precious children. I went in this adventure for a 3 hour volunteer shift...like a 3 hour tour, I was STUCK. Stuck helping these children have a wonderful life with this awesome program. I have volunteered for other agencies, at school and such, but nothing really seems to touch the heart like this agency does.
The homeless children are so dependent on their environment, community and yes, Project Hawai'i, Inc., just to survive. That is all these children doing, surviving to live another day. Who knows what the other day might bring? At least they can look forward to fun activities and supplies that Project Hawai'i provides. Keep up the good work, and hopefully your dream of being able to save ALL the homeless children of Hawai'i will come true!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I came from Pittsburgh, PA, to Hawaii to volunteer with Project Hawaii in 2010. Since then, the experience has still stuck with me as one of the best of my life. Magin works endlessly to ensure the children of Hawaii are taken care of despite the odds, and the rest of the volunteers do just the same. I am forever grateful for the work they do and I hope one day to be able to return to Hawaii and see what more awesome steps the organization has made to make the lives of the island's homeless population better.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

We at SuperGeeks Hilo love this org and support their work and mission.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

Aloha,
I was newly introduced to this program by attending a charity event hosted by Project Hawai'i, Inc. My friend was invited to an event, so I tagged along. Not really knowing what to expect, as there are so many charities out there, and everyone claims to be "changing the world". Well
this was a bit different, not only did they not claim any outrageous claims, they simply invited everyone at the event to make a difference in their own way. Not asking for a donation, or even time...just do what you can to make a difference in your own way. They made the awareness of facts about homelessness that I don't think any of us realized, then gave simple solutions to how everyone can make a difference in their everyday lives. It was amazing that these two people can run an organization with such passion and NOT EXPECT anything from anyone...just the hope to do something to help these little children on our islands.
I encourage everyone to see what Project Hawai'i, Inc. is truly about. Listen to what is going on within their organization and choose to make a simple difference in just a few hours of your life.
I had fun at the event, my friend won a wonderful prize, and I purchased a silent auction item for a steal.
I hope this review is helpful for those who might be wondering who Project Hawai'i, Inc. is really all about.
September 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 4, 2011

As the volunteer coordinator for the summer camp program I wish to say that this is an awesome way to truly get involved and make a difference in the lives of the children served. The community has th... more

September 17, 2014

Aloha,
Once again I am honored to be asked to write a review about Project Hawai'i, Inc. As a long time volunteer this program still continues to bring tears to my eyes as I am able to help so many children through the efforts of Project Hawai'i, Inc. I am so fortunate to be able to have found
such a great organization that truly cares about the over all success of these children and allow the community to participate in their vision. While it is a "hard" position to volunteer because not many people show up to make the difference and help where it is most needed, it is well worth the time and effort. I truly wish to see more support in the year coming.
Project Hawai'i, Inc. , has the most dedicated team of volunteers working year round to meet the needs of these children, and I am glad to be a part of it. Both by giving time, and giving a monetary donation towards their needs.
August 4, 2011

As the volunteer coordinator for the summer camp program I wish to say that this is an awesome way to truly get involved and make a difference in the lives of the children served. The community has the opportunity to work hands on with homeless and poverty stricken children and guide them through their daily routines.
By participating for even a few days of camp can truly make the difference in the over all success.
This year I was able to work with wonderful heartfelt and dedicated volunteers from all over the islands. Yes, we were even able to have college students from O'ahu join us in this years summer adventures. Volunteers came from Volcano area, Puna District and as far as Kona to help create a wonderful experience for our keiki.
As the director, I am always looking for more community support and involvement from people helping to organize or conduct a fundraiser or collection site, to helping implement some of the daily activities.
Volunteers are all encouraged to add and share their talents with our keiki, even if just a few hours during the day.
Without the community support, this camp will not succeed. So, please make a difference today and join our efforts for tomorrow

Photos

Videos

Adventures Abound Day Camp

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I work hands on with the community, children and companies to assure the success of the camp

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have more community support, both volunteers and donors

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We really need more community support and volunteers in order to make everyone's job a bit more manageable

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This is a wonderful way to meet new people, share your talents, and make a difference in everyone's life. The effect it has on me is indescribable . I can't imagine my life without working at this camp.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Full of love and contentment.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

My family is so grateful to have Project Hawai'i, Inc., is our lives. These two people are the kindest people I know. They always come with food, clothing and help for my family. They never judge our situations and only help. I feel like they care about my children as if they were their own. I just hope that others are able to experience the love they have shown us. Please let it known that our family is blessed by the volunteers at Project Hawai'i, Inc.
Mahalo for all your support
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Really make a difference in the lives of homeless children. We typically run monthly fundraisers that last 3 hours. Or volunteers can conduct their own fundraisers. Those who are able can donated their time and run an activity at the camp for the children, or help with assembling craft projects.We need help packing for camp, holiday meals, deliveries, hygiene bags and more.3 hours can make a world of difference in the lives of homeless children Volunteer