Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.965
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

What a great organization with a great mission to help high school students prepare for and succeed in college! I am proud to be part of this successful and worthwhile organization that is making a difference in thousands of lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have been a board member for about a year and continue to be impressed with the both the board and the executive leadership. The meetings are crisp and the say/do index of the organization is high. Real impacts on the lives of children are taking place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I've gotten to know the work of Project GRAD Atlanta very well the last couple of years as a volunteer and Board member and could not be more impressed with this organization and all it is doing to move the needle when it comes to impacting the lives of young people and the work they are doing in the classroom on the path to high school and college graduation. This is an organization that doesn't just talk the talk, they act every single day while working with a broad range of aspiring students and show the fruits of their labor with exceptional metrics. The bottom line is Project GRAD is having an enormous effect on the lives of hundreds of young people in Atanta every year. The staff is topnotch, led by executive director Dr. Yolanda Watson Spiva, one of the most accomplished educators in Atlanta.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Having served on the Project grad board for more than 3-years, I can truly state with confidence, that Project Grad is an outstanding provider of opportunity for young people wanting to further their education. Project Grad's mission and purpose is helping youth tp dream beyond their borders and to make those powerful dreams to become their reality. The staff and volunteers at Project grad are dedidcated seasoned professionals, who in addition to being hardworking are caring and principled individuals working to get kids through college.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have served on the Project GRAD Board for more than five years and each has been a very rewarding experience. This is a very important organization because it makes differences that are sorely needed. Students who are unlikely to succeed under normal circumstances are able to do so because of what Project GRAD does. Graduation and matriculation rates have increased because of Project GRAD and so has the inspiration to achieve along with the belief by students that they can. It is a critically important post-secondary readiness program that deserves extensive support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 22, 2011

I have been involved with GRAD Atlanta for several years now and have always been impressed by their commitment to our children and their success in navigating turbulent times. One criticism I have ha... more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Board member of GRAD for five yerars now, serving as Chair for two years. In my experience, GRAD has both a terrific mission and staff committed to executing that mission. It sets assessable goals and does an excellent job measuring its progress against those goals. Worthy of all our support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with GRAD Atlanta for several years now and have always been impressed by their commitment to our children and their success in navigating turbulent times. One criticism I have had of certain non-profits over the years is that always want to do more but never look at roles thay have served that are being served better by others or whose time has passed. That has never been the case for GRAD. They are constantly examining and re-examining the work they do. GRAD is extremely worthy of our support.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my role as university president and through my work with public school students in Atlanta.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find ways to take their model which has been so successful in select schools and expand it throughout the district.

September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with Project GRAD as a board member for just under a year. My company is also an active financial contributor to the organization. It has been a priviledge to witness the committment and expertise of the Project GRAD board at work in making real and measurable impact on the lives of students in the Atlanta School District.
September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with project Grad for a couple of years. I have found this organization to be totally committed in its efforts in assisting students to graduate high school and obtain a college degree. The staff is hardworking and dedicated and maximize the dollars that are entrusted to its care for the better of the students and parenst they serve.

Congratulations on a job well done!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Project GRAD Atlanta has true commitment to its core mission of providing guidance, support, and incentives to public school students in under-served and under-resourced neighborhoods to ensure that those students have a real shot at not just graduating from high school but also succeeding in college afterwards. Unfortunately, Project GRAD Atlanta has directly suffered from the problems and challenges faced by APS and the current economic downturn. Project GRAD Atlanta has overcome these challenges through creative commitment to its mission and its participants -- at the sacrifice of its very committed staff. Project GRAD Atlanta is really an example of that saying "They have done so much with so little for so long that they can now do the impossible with nothing." Imagine what this dedicated and focused non-profit could do when fully resourced.
Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Project GRAD Atlanta is pleased to work with passionate, talented, and enthusiastic volunteers to assist us in our endeavors. We believe in nurturing the leadership skills of our volunteers. There are a plethora of opportunities for individuals interested in working with Project GRAD in a volunteer capacity, whether they enjoy mentoring students, event planning, serving on host or planning committees, or performing office support tasks. For more information, please call Alvin Glymph at 404-880-3500 ext. 226. Volunteer