Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.965
Write A Review
August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We are grateful that Project Grad is still supporting some of our APS schools. It would be great if this initiative could be in every school as the mission begins with our babies in elementary school. A great option to reach more parents within the District of APS and even to support them would be to connect with the Adult Literacy Center and PAPAC (District Wide Parent Center) and many having a office in these areas or possibly doing workshops with our school Parent Centers to help drive academic goals of the school. Great job thus far on taking our youth, schools and communities higher.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Being in more of our schools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Project GRAD Atlanta has a passion and commitment to improve students’ academic success. It is the most comprehensive approach to increasing awareness to the idea of college enrollment that I have ever witnessed. They continue to establish creative strategies for addressing the identified needs of students from low-income backgrounds. Their partnership with Atlanta Public Schools has changed the lives of thousands of families and will make this city a better place for years to come. By helping students and parents understand the importance of college, they are changing the world. Now each year, hundreds of low-income students appreciate that college is realistic option.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

When I first encountered Project GRAD Atlanta, I was pleasantly surprised by the programs and initiatives, which they offered their students. The students they server not only receive support and guidance throughout high school, they are continuously supported until they graduate college. As a college graduate and an educator, I understand the importance of such support, and the value it provides for their students. Understanding this and seeing the ultimate impact of such support, I fully endorse and support Project GRAD Atlanta and the work that they do without hesitation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Project GRAD Atlanta has impacted my life beyond what I could have ever imagined. I have had many opportunities to grow and achieve my goals both personal and professional. Though, I had already earned an associate's degree several years before knowing about Project GRAD, the amazing work and impact on they made on the community, inspired me to return to college. Since that time, I have accomplished several goals, including earning a bachelor's degree and a job promotion.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am a social worker and first came into contact with Project Grad Atlanta because of my career. This program has helped all the students that I know who have been apart of it! The staff always seems so knowledgeable and shows genuine concern for the students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Project GRAD Atlanta works! The proof is in the outcomes and the data that support these outcomes. More students from Project GRAD high schools are graduating from high school, enrolling in 2- and 4-year colleges, and then graduating from college with options for further study and career mobility. Project GRAD Atlanta offers students hope that their dreams of college can be fulfilled, then outlines a pathway, with a compass, for how they can actually get there and be successful. That's the definition of a great nonprofit working on behalf of students!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

What a wonderful, wonderful opportunity for rising seniors to begin the college app process, ehance math skills and become proficient in Language Arts. I had all-men classes on the historic Morehouse campus. A wonderful experience for those young men. Project GRAD Atlanta--the BEST.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Project GRAD Atlanta is one of the best non-profits that I have had the experience of working with. I have seen Project GRAD Atlanta touch the lives of countless students, parents, and teachers by exposing everyone to different things. For example, I have seen students benefit by being exposed to out of state college tours and college rep. visits. I have seen parents benefit by being exposed to other parents who have experienced the process of having a first generation college going studnet go off to college. Last but not least I have seen teachers benefit by being exposed to a new curriculum and way of veiwing our inner city youth as it relates to the possibilities of going to experience post secondary options. Project GRAD really achives Dreams and I have been witness to so many dreams come true during my experience with Project GRAD Atlanta.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I first became aware of Project GRAD in 2003. I went on my first Walk For Success at South Atlanta High school. It was a chilly Saturday morning, as we knocked on the doors of ninth graders, introducing the opportunity to sign the GRAD scholarship covenant so they could earn the $4,000 GRAD Scholarship. Up and down Jonesboro Rd. we knocked on doors and stood in the living rooms of families encouraging the student and parent to sign the document. I was impressed then, but since then, I am much more familiar and I am hooked! Project GRAD is THE local leader in college readiness. Their program is unique because of their holistic attempt to provide students and their parents with college readiness. They do not select only the top students and their scholarships may be used at any accredited college around the nation. They serve a population that is primarily first generation college bound students and for many families GRAD is their first exposure to college.

Without question, Project GRAD Atlanta has helped the Atlanta Public Schools make an impact the needle on college awareness, readiness, and college enrollment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

As the coordinator of the Early College Program at Georgia State University, I have had the privilege of working with Project GRAD for close to five years. Over the years, they have proven to be supportive to the Early College students in the students' efforts to successfully earn college credits while in high school as well as take part in study abroad opportunities. Project GRAD has consistently paid for Carver Early College and Washington Early College students to take a 2-credit course at GSU in conjunction with their study aborad trips. This class represents the students' entry into college-level courses within a small, nonthreatening, and supportive environment. Additionally, Project GRAD has supported two Saturday Academies at GSU in support of the Early College program. Once again their support allowed the students the opportunity to enter GSU girded with the proper academic and social preparation. Project GRAD has proven to be an invaluable partner to and supporter of the GSU/Early College program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Project GRAD Atlanta is pleased to work with passionate, talented, and enthusiastic volunteers to assist us in our endeavors. We believe in nurturing the leadership skills of our volunteers. There are a plethora of opportunities for individuals interested in working with Project GRAD in a volunteer capacity, whether they enjoy mentoring students, event planning, serving on host or planning committees, or performing office support tasks. For more information, please call Alvin Glymph at 404-880-3500 ext. 226. Volunteer