Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.965
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

Project GRAD Atlanta is impact in action!!! I have donated to the organization for the past 8 years and have watched the impact of the organization grow as my annual donations have increased. The organization retains meticulous documentation and data on program participation and outcomes, and I have always received proactive updates on the programming, mission, values, and vision of the organization. It's also amazing how well the organization has adapted to the needs of the Atlanta Public Schools, the city of Atlanta, as well as national trends in college readiness, access, and success. The organization is fiscally-conservative and nimble, which is a testament to the organization's visionary and capable leadership. Any time I have requested a meeting with the ED to find out about how my and others' donations are being utilized, I have been responded to immediately and without hesitation, and all of my questions have been answered. I have also witnessed feedback and ideas that I and others have offered to the organization being infused into the work of the organization, demonstrating respect and malleability as it relates to the organization's openness to new ideas. I recommend support for this organization on every level! As a matter of fact, writing this review reminds me that it's time for me to donate again for the 2014 fiscal year. I'm going online right now to do so! It's true...Graduation Really Achieves Dreams!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its programming across the entire state, and provide long-term funding for it's long-term success. The program needs to be better supported--financially and otherwise. Despite being around nearly 15 years, this organization is still a hidden gem among Atlanta's signature programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 9, 2012

As a Brumley GRAD scholar, I was afforded the opportunity to work with many influential individuals, visit various colleges and receive motivation that kept me moving forward. Project GRAD Atlanta as... more

August 15, 2013

Project GRAD continues to serve Metro-Atlanta students by providing the guidance, support and education required for students to move forward in the careers in life. Through my involvement with Project GRAD, I was able to visit my alma mater and spread word of how I was able to overcome various obstacles to get to were I am now. Without Project GRAD many of Metro-Atlanta students would not be provided the opportunity to visit various colleges and look beyond the boundaries of Atlanta. I thank Project GRAD for all the support they've given me and for the support they continue to provide to Atlanta's youth.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012

As a Brumley GRAD scholar, I was afforded the opportunity to work with many influential individuals, visit various colleges and receive motivation that kept me moving forward. Project GRAD Atlanta assisted me in completing my undergraduate studies at BU, I owe them the world for providing me with opportunities!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Project GRAD Atlanta is an amazing organization that offers students inner city schools with their present and future studies. Not only does this organization provide financial support to students but professional development and other opportunities as well. I am grateful for this program and would recommend each and every parent to allow their child to participate with this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

When I first encountered Project GRAD Atlanta, I was pleasantly surprised by the programs and initiatives, which they offered their students. The students they server not only receive support and guidance throughout high school, they are continuously supported until they graduate college. As a college graduate and an educator, I understand the importance of such support, and the value it provides for their students. Understanding this and seeing the ultimate impact of such support, I fully endorse and support Project GRAD Atlanta and the work that they do without hesitation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 14, 2012

As an Account Executive at Atlanta Business Chronicle that works with nonprofits to build awareness to the community about their mission statements, goals, and needs, I know the importance of making s... more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Project GRAD-Atlanta continues to be a leading organization for offering students the opportunity to attend college. I am an Account Executive at Atlanta Business Chronicle that works with nonprofits to build awareness to the community about their mission statements, goals, and needs. Year after year, Project GRAD-Atlanta is committed to keeping Atlanta's Influential Community members in-the-know about their success and contributions to these students! Awareness and support are critical and Project GRAD-Atlanta does a great job!!

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

As an Account Executive at Atlanta Business Chronicle that works with nonprofits to build awareness to the community about their mission statements, goals, and needs, I know the importance of making sure the corporate community is kept informed and engaged. Project GRAD Atlanta does a great and consistent job informing Atlanta about their success and the increasing amount of scholarships that are awarded. With their commitment to celebrating the graduates and thanking the supporters, they continue to grow and remain top of mind for support consideration. Great job to Project GRAD Atlanta!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As an Account Executive at Atlanta Business Chronicle, I work with a lot of nonprofit accounts. It is great working with Project GRAD Atlanta as they share their mission, community impact, and success of their Brumley-GRAD Scholarships to over 1,400 graduates to further the GREAT work that they do by raising awareness to corporate Atlanta & those who can help with their efforts! Improving Education opportunities is incredibly important! Project GRAD Atlanta contributes to impacting Atlanta's college enrollment and graduation rates! Fantastic!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Continuing to see them celebrate & promote their success in providing scholarships every year with the support of the Atlanta Community and Corporations!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

(nothing really, but...continue to ensure marketing budget to keep Atlanta informed and keep support opportunities top of mind!)

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

As a marketing businessman and advertising designer, I have helped to tell the Project GRAD-Atlanta story and have become very familiar with it. As someone who has worked with other non profits, I hav... more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched Project GRAD over the years as it has worked to make college possible for many students and gone even further to change the culture at schools to include college-going. Working with students who are already at college to help them be successful there is also a valuable part of what they do to prepare students for life. As a volunteer at two GRAD schools, I have seen the benefits first hand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a marketing businessman and advertising designer, I have helped to tell the Project GRAD-Atlanta story and have become very familiar with it. As someone who has worked with other non profits, I have great respect for Project GRAD-Atlanta as an organization. Having worked for years in the field of education I value their mission and their contribution to young people in the city of Atlanta. I have witnessed their profound effect on countless young lives in our city.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Project GRAD Atlanta continues to make college a reality for students. As a College Access and Success Manager, I understand that "College Changes Lives"! Kudos to Project GRAD Atlanta for providing millions of dollars in scholarships to the students of the Atlanta Public Schools!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding opportunities in order for the organization to provide even more services and scholarships to deserving students.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a College Readiness professional I can firmly say that Project GRAD Atlanta is a quality player and leader in the work of College Readiness, College Access and student retention. To date Project GRAD Atlanta has awarded over 2,250 scholars with the George W. Brumley Memorial Project GRAD Scholarship.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand to the entire school district and more districts across Georgia to help ensure that more students are prepared for post-secondary options.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
September 30, 2011

As a provider of in-kind technical services to Project GRAD Atlanta for a number of years, I have worked with the team members remotely - via telephone and e-mail. Earlier this year, for the first ti... more

November 17, 2012

As a provider of in-kind technical services to Project GRAD Atlanta for a number of years, I am continually impressed by their unwavering commitment to and appreciation of the students they serve and support. Despite the financial challenges they face, the Scholar Support team, supported by and often in addition to the administration, fosters and maintains relationships with each individual student. The Project GRAD Atlanta team expends their personal, too often unreimbursed time and energies into programs and activities, simply because they understand that it is unreasonable to expect success from students without consistently and substantially investing in them. It is an honor to be able to support Project GRAD Atlanta.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As a provider of in-kind technical services to Project GRAD Atlanta for a number of years, I have worked with the team members remotely - via telephone and e-mail. Earlier this year, for the first time, I had the opportunity to visit their offices and work with some of the team members on-site. While I had always found the staff to be very professional our dealings on technical projects, I was significantly more impressed by not only the way in which they regard one another, but more importantly, the commitment to and appreciation of the students they serve and support. Despite the financial challenges they face, the Scholar Support team, supported by - and apparently often in addition to - the administration fosters and maintains relationships with each individual student. They put their personal, too often unreimbursed time and energies into programs and activities because they understand that it is unreasonable to expect success from their students without consistently and substantially investing in those students.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The organization was in need of database management application.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

My company periodically offers in-kind services to not-for-profit organizations. Given the mission of the organization and their funding challenges, I thought it was important enough to offer our services. After I had the opportunity to witness the Project GRAD Atlanta team members in action, it was clear that I had made an excellent choice.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Project GRAD Atlanta has impacted my life beyond what I could have ever imagined. I have had many opportunities to grow and achieve my goals both personal and professional. Though, I had already earned an associate's degree several years before knowing about Project GRAD, the amazing work and impact on they made on the community, inspired me to return to college. Since that time, I have accomplished several goals, including earning a bachelor's degree and a job promotion.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Project GRAD Atlanta is pleased to work with passionate, talented, and enthusiastic volunteers to assist us in our endeavors. We believe in nurturing the leadership skills of our volunteers. There are a plethora of opportunities for individuals interested in working with Project GRAD in a volunteer capacity, whether they enjoy mentoring students, event planning, serving on host or planning committees, or performing office support tasks. For more information, please call Alvin Glymph at 404-880-3500 ext. 226. Volunteer