Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.882355
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I'm a teenager, and so it was a bit of a risk for me to travel to a different country for 6 weeks and volunteer. I am happy to report that it was an amazing experience, and I would happily return for a second trip.
Caitlin does a really very impressive job managing her organization with
relatively few resources, and everything that she does seems to come from the bottom of her heart.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I had an opportunity to volunteer with Project Esperanza during my Spring Break 2014. I had a great time getting to know the locals and get to know what life is like in the bateys of Munoz. I felt like I could really connect with the people since I was living so close to them. Hearing their stories and seeing what their life was like strongly impacted me. I can see how this organization can benefit the community and imrove the lives of those who live in it.

I definitely feel like I made connections in the community that will last. I plan to return to the organization in the coming years to continue supporting the area and the people of Munoz and Padre Granero.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I had the opportunity to visit DR this past spring 04/2014 while I was looking for a charity to volunteer. I came across Project Esperanza and was very impressed with Caitlin's work. I reached out to her and shared my interest to volunteer at the school. Since the first time we connected, she was very supportive and open to answer all of my inquires. I decided to volunteer for a few days while in the DR; it was a life changing experience, I enjoyed my time with the children of Project Esperanza. I admired Caitlin for everything she does for children and youth in need is truly admirable. Since then, I have been sharing information about this nonprofit with my friends and I've been supporting the program by donations when needed. Whenever I go, I am always sharing details, pictures or any relevant information about this great organization. I am truly blessed I found Caitlin's project and look forward to continue supporting the children of Project Esperanza.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am so impressed with this organization. I have donated for several years. The emphasis on giving disadvantaged children life skills to succeed is really important. Project Esperanza has inspired me as an educator to join my school's global education trip this summer to the Dominican Republic. My students will be working with the children, but I know they will probably learn just as many meaningful lessons. I cannot wait for July 2015!!! ¡Nos vemos pronto! See you soon!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I had the opportunity to join my daughter at Project Esperanza in July. It was an experience I will soon not forget. The children are excited to learn and in a few weeks you could see the difference we were making with them in behavior and English lessons. They are children who also need our help with basic things like clean water to drink and maybe 2 to 3 meals a day to start. One of the meals for breakfast that was provided with funds raised for their summer camp was simply spaghetti with ketchup. The children loved it and appreciated that meal so much! What I am trying get at is, any small thing you can do to help is a GREAT help.
If you want an experience of a life time...come join us! Bring a friend! You can make a difference in these children's lives.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I am a pastor of a church in North Carolina. We sent a team of volunteers in August of 2014 to work with Project Esperanza in Peurta Plata. I asked two of the volunteers to evaluate Project Esperanza because I am considering future partnership with that work in the Dominican.

Both team
members from our church gave Project Esperanza a glowing review. Both said we should go back and in the future should continue working with PE. One of the guys was so moved, I know he will continue with PE in the future whether our church does or not. But I think we will. The positive experiences these guys had touched me deeply.

I hope in the summer of 2015 to send a much larger team. I want us to invest in the good work PE is doing. I love director Caitlin McHale's Christlike heart. I believe this organization is doing God's work and I am excited that our church can be a part of it.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I am Chair of the Haiti Committee at my church in Blacksburg, VA, and we sponsor Haitian students (primary school) in Pignon and several seminarians, one studying in the D.R. When I visited him last year, I also visited Project Esperanza with him to see first-hand the work being done for street kids in Puerto Plata. I know what it's like to run programs on little money, and how much volunteerism is needed to make up the shortfall for employees needed but not available to run a first-class, funded operation. I was very impressed with the dedication of Caitlin and her staff, running schools out of passion and not profit. Like so many non-profits competing for donors to be sustainable, keeping the interest and commitment of donors is difficult, especially as they age and divert attention to other projects or have unexpected financial constraints. Third-world assistance relies on first-world charity, so I hope that current sponsors remain committed to this worthwhile project, and that other sponsors are located by word-of-mouth. Caitlin and crew have the dedication to make a difference in the lives of these kids; all she needs is the financial support to make it happen. That's where we come in.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I've known Caitlin since the inception of Project Esperanza, when it began as a student organization at Virginia Tech. It is absolutely amazing to see how it has grown since then into a non-profit that reaches so many both through the schools it support, community-supporting activities, and volunteer trips. Caitlin has an amazing heart and drive to truly make a difference in the world regardless the trials that come up (an believe me she faces many!). Caitlin's drive to make Project Esperanza create positive change in the world never ceases to amaze me. PE is always seeking new avenues to lift up and support the families that is serves in the DR. The focus is on sustainability, not temporary or short-term changes. It is for this reason that PE will make a lasting change in the communities that it serves. I am honored to be part of the organization.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

We were fortunate to connect w/ Caitlin & Project Esperanza during our family trip to the DR. She was so easy to work with & welcomed myself & my daughter in the school & we had a wonderful experience working w/ the students. It was clear both in organizing our trip to the school and seeing the school & students that she is dedicated to the it's success & cares about the future of the students. I have enjoyed hearing about all the growth to the program & not only recommend it as an essential & important resource to the Padre Granero community but hope to one day return.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I first learned of Project Esperanza when I was planning a volunteer vacation to the DR. We were planning on volunteering with another group but learned some not so nice things and someone told us about Caitlin and the work she was doing. From my very first conversation with Caitlin to the updates we have gotten since being home, she has been inspirational. The work that Project Esperanza does with the children (and really adults also) is amazing. We were able to stay in the neighborhood that we were serving in and truly get a small feel for what life is like on a day to day basis. We met, worked with and served. In the week that we served we got to spend time at two different schools doing art projects and making solar ovens. We also helped dig a composting toilet and had a bingo night and a movie night within the community. We were blessed enough to be staying on for a month and Caitlin allowed us to come and work in the schools as much as we wished. We really got to know some of the students and fell in love with many of them. The best part is even now that we are home, we are able to send support and know that Project Esperanza will be using it responsibly to support the boys who live in the home that Caitlin set up. If you want to truly experience life in the batey, and get a real feel for life in a developing country, Project Esperanza is a great place to start.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

advocate our efforts to free and transform child slaves in the Dominican Republic. Volunteer