Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.904765
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've volunteered with Project Esperanza in both July of 2012 and 2013. I was very impressed with the program....I had been to the DR many times but only to the All Inclusive resorts. Having the opportunity to go off resort and to meet the people, talk with them and see how they live was life changing. After my first summer there I decided to sponsor two students and I actually got to meet them and their families this summer. I had driven through the community they live in before but had never had the chance to actually walk in and around it.i was shocked by the poverty there....my daughter who is 23 and came with me on both trips came home and posted on Facebook saying, " I always thought that the commercials from groups like World Vision were fake....now I know they are not." We plan on going back again this summer and hopefully many more after that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've volunteered with Project Esperanza before and I thought they've done excellent work so far. Their work in the Dominican is fantastic and though I haven't visited they go through great efforts to ensure that volunteers go and actually help out

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had the privilege of spending a week volunteering with Project Esperanza last March with a group of students from my university. I was impressed by how punctual, approachable and helpful Caitlin was during the planning and organizing of our trip. She was organized, answered all of my questions and really went the extra mile to ensure we had a great and meaningful service trip. Upon arriving we were immediately greeted by smiles and open arms, as it seemed the majority of the community had come to welcome us. Our experience was truly unique as we were able to work in the school, the fair trade jewelry shop, and around the yard planting a garden and constructing a compost toilet and hand washing station. I loved ever minute of each day I worked with Project Esperanza and the week seemed to fly by. When we weren’t working we were able to play baseball and cards with the children, get our hair braided and eat amazing empanadas, as we were living, and able to engage, with the community. Being able to have so many interactions with the community really allowed us to see the impact we had in one week, and opened our eyes to what continuous volunteer work and sponsorships could do for this community. I wish we could have stayed longer because this really was an amazing trip and this organization is truly making a much-needed difference in the community. I have so much admiration and respect for Caitlin, as she has devoted her life to this mission. I remember on our last day being in the school and listening to some of the teachers and students talk. They thanked God for sending Caitlin to them and for the volunteers that came because of her work and vision. Leaving the Dominican Republic was such a bittersweet feeling. I felt good about volunteering, but my heart was breaking leaving the people we had grown close to over the week. Needless to say, I know my time with Project Esperanza is not over and I fully intend to go back. I have done many international service trips and I especially respect Project Esperanza because you know exactly what is needed and expected of you, and you know exactly where your money is going when you make a donation. Caitlin is an advocate for so many who need help and she truly has created something inspirational and incredible with Project Esperanza. I think this is a great organization and would absolutely recommend it to anyone who wants to do meaningful service work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered for Project Esperanza on multiple occasions, beginning in 2010. I have aid in funding, sponsoring, tech, as well as actually traveling to the Dominican Republic to work with them in 2011, and intend on continuing my work with them in the future. It is well run and truly for the communities it works in, supplying needed aid to the Haitian communities, which is especially needed due to recent events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered with Project Esperanza this summer 2013 for the first time and it was life changing. Project Esperanza is an organization that is heavily focused on addressing human rights issues with undocumented Haitian I'm/migrants in the Dominican Republic by equalizing access to education, health care, vocational training, and teacher development with several of their programs. This summer I had the opportunity to work in several of those areas including identity development/empowerment workshops. Being able to create learning communities in which all of us were producers of knowledge was such a powerful excuse. It was amazing to see the transformation, especially with the identity and empowerment workshops.

Throughout my time there, I was able to fully understand their commitment and passion for justice, equity, and inclusion with the hope of creating sustainable communities and empowering community members. Project Esperanza is invested fully in the community, which is something I cannot say about other organizations which I have worked with. I would highly recommending working with Project Esperanza and/or supporting their cause. As a matter of fact, I am returning again to help out in summer of 2014.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Earlier in the year I read about Project Esperanza online while researching honeymoon destinations! Knowing that we were heading to the Dominican Republic we were searching for local non profits in Puerto Plata that we could visit while on our honeymoon. We got in touch with Caitlin and verified if we could stop by and visit the artisan shop where locals sell their handmade crafts.
We weren't sure how much time we'd have based on our car rental agreement, the location, and navigating around an Island we knew nothing about but in the end it worked out.
Caitlin was so kind to show us the artisan store and to walk us through the Batay to meet several of the local people with whom Project Esperanza works.
We were so impressed with her dedication and passion for the work and her willingness to sacrifice on behalf of a greater cause. It was also great to meet some of the volunteers as well as the children of the community.
Project Esperanza is one of those organizations that literally 'gets it'. They are on the front lines of a battle that so few are willing to fight. They are in the midst of those in need and they are doing their best to provide a brighter future for the people of their community through relationships, education and care.
It was an honor to spend the little time we did checking it out and learning about the great work that is being done.
We look forward to seeing all that will be accomplished in the lives of these amazing people and we feel blessed to be a small part of such a great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I first volunteered with Project Esperanza in 2009. My experience with the organization in the Dominican Republic truly opened my eyes to the developing world and so began my interest in international development. Helping educate Haitian street boys about HIV/AIDS got me interested in global public health, which is now my career. Caitlin's continued passion and commitment to Project Esperanza is inspiring and remarkable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

It is difficult to express how lucky I feel to have found Caitlin McHale and Project Esperanza. I have been working with the organization for about three years and have come away from this work with innumerable friendships and an immense appreciation for a community that is so interested in working together to create positive change. Project Esperanza is one of the few authentically grassroots organizations with every penny going towards furthering education in the Puerto Plata area of the Dominican Republic. Without the efforts of Caitlin, the organization, and the community, many of its members would not have access to education as well as other activities such as the English camp I have had the privilege of volunteering with for the past three summers. It is impossible to summarize the impact of an organization like Project Esperanza; I would, without hesitation, recommend working with Project Esperanza to anyone looking to donate or lend a hand as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I first volunteered with Project Esperanza and met Caitlin McHale in the Spring of 2010. Since then myself and my family ( including my 10 year old )have visited and volunteered at least once a year. We have been to both of the GrassRoots Schools, meeting teachers and children, delivering supplies and even held an Easter Egg Hunt at one school. We have been able to meet and visit with the child my family sponsors. We always make sure to visit the Art Shop and make a few purchases and have met several of the artists. We spent time with some of the boys who live in the Boys Home. This has been an amazing experience for my family....my children have learned so much from these trips and they have made lifelong friendships. Project Esperanza is very much a no frills organization....they do the best they can to help those in need with the few resources they have available. They have put education at the top of their priorities and respect the people they are serving....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Project Esperanza in Puerto Plata and Munoz , Dominican Republic run by American Caitlin McHale is one of the few organizations that truly does what they say they do. Caitlin runs schools for Haitian children, organizes and coaches soccer teams, runs a boys home, runs an art centre, runs summer camps and English schools and, most of all, assists displaced Haitians living in the Puerto Plata area. Every dime raised goes to the well being of others. I have donated items and helped with a special Easter program in her school in Padre Ganero. Project Esperanza is a wise charity to invest in as your money will always be used correctly. I have seen first hand the good that Caitlin does for her Haitian community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could, I would give them a vehicle as they are in great need of transportation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

advocate our efforts to free and transform child slaves in the Dominican Republic. Volunteer