Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.916675
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of Project Esperanza when I consulted with Caitlin in regards to another organization. Her dedication to the success of this project is immeasurable. As a member of the community she works in, she is able to assess the groups basic needs and knows how to address them. I would highly recommend this group to anyone looking for legitimate, successful giving opportunities.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I officially met Caitlin of Project Esperanza in January 2014. I had been following her progress and general school happenings for well over a year before meeting.... knowing many of her students from the streets of Puerto Plata for many years now.
I felt Caitlin's passion immediately upon
meeting her. She truly has the children's best interest at heart. She is dedicated in helping give them the change they need for the hopes and opportunity of a brighter future that so many take for granted. Project Esperanza is a huge asset for so many Haitian families in need. The school has persevered through the easier of times to very difficult situation and they continue to stay focused, making a difference in the lives of many. And facing any challenges head on. It is a pleasure to see a trustworthy organization. Keep up the great work Project Esperanza.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014


Dear Board,
I had the pleasure of visiting Project Esperanza lately for 8 days, and just arrived back less than a week ago. Caitlin and my daughter started PE back in about 2005, and I visited it then when they were just beginning. My daughter has gradually become more
involved here in the States with other matters, and Caitlin is now carrying the organization through her dedication and by living there within the Haitian community.
I am a professional with a graduate degree and a mother of 3 young adult children, I have traveled a fair amount in my life, and lived in Argentina with my children for some time in the late 90's. I mention this because I feel I have "been around the block" a few times in life, so my views below come from being a mature adult who has a bit of international experience.
I can say from first hand viewing that virtually every cent that gets donated to PE goes into the program. Caitlin lives a modest life there, seems happy with a very simple life with few frills. She has married and lives with her two adorable children. Her children are tri-lingual, seem quite happy and well nurtured.
While I was there, I was able to escort a few visiting chiropractors around who were assigned each of three days to PE as a part of their Chiromission group. Each of the 3 groups of chiropractors was so impressed with Caitlin, one described her as the "real deal." She manages these two schools with much energy and enthusiasm and has built up a fair amount of trust from the Haitian communities there. She has managed to find quite impressive teachers to work at each of the schools.
My most positive experiences there were watching the school classroom during real class time. The Haitian children were in their uniforms, well groomed, and well behaved. The classrooms are startlingly bare: nothing on the walls, almost no books, just long tables at which the children sit, and a teacher with a book and blackboard up front. The kids seemed so focused to me, and eager to hear the teacher's lesson. I am accustomed to the American classrooms where the children wiggle and squirm and seem to demand more. Granted, I did not observe for hours, so this was a sampling, but nonetheless, this was my most positive memory of my trip.
I do feel that schooling is these these children's way out, of course. Being educated, developing a sense of hope and future, learning English and Spanish, these are essential skills for these children if they are to ever have a decent life. The communities in which they live broke my heart, I had not seen such poverty before, and yet walking around with the children was uplifting in some ways. The children have beautiful smiles and are eager to engage. The teachers from what I could see were very positive role models for these kids, and each of them also had a beautiful smile and energy to make a difference.
There are numerous challenges and problems that Caitlin faces within this Haitian community and within the Dominican Republic as a country, and I do not mean to paint an idyllic picture. How she manages to get up each morning and face the challenges astounds me, for I would have moved on to an easier life some time ago. The challenges are huge, but I say with sincerity: thank goodness that we have persons on this planet like Caitlin who tackle the solutions one child at a time, one school at a time, one community at a time.
Caitlin is doing excellent work, and I know that whatever I donate goes directly into her good works down there, for the "overhead" of non-profits that we all hear about and worry about when we donate to something is just not there.
If I can answer any questions, please feel free to email me, and I can also give you my cell phone number at that time.
R.K. Preve, Ph.D. in Charlottesville, Virginia
October 8, 2013
rp3691@aol.com
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've volunteered with Project Esperanza in both July of 2012 and 2013. I was very impressed with the program....I had been to the DR many times but only to the All Inclusive resorts. Having the opportunity to go off resort and to meet the people, talk with them and see how they live was life changing. After my first summer there I decided to sponsor two students and I actually got to meet them and their families this summer. I had driven through the community they live in before but had never had the chance to actually walk in and around it.i was shocked by the poverty there....my daughter who is 23 and came with me on both trips came home and posted on Facebook saying, " I always thought that the commercials from groups like World Vision were fake....now I know they are not." We plan on going back again this summer and hopefully many more after that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've volunteered with Project Esperanza before and I thought they've done excellent work so far. Their work in the Dominican is fantastic and though I haven't visited they go through great efforts to ensure that volunteers go and actually help out

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I had the privilege of spending a week volunteering with Project Esperanza last March with a group of students from my university. I was impressed by how punctual, approachable and helpful Caitlin was during the planning and organizing of our trip. She was organized, answered all of my questions and really went the extra mile to ensure we had a great and meaningful service trip. Upon arriving we were immediately greeted by smiles and open arms, as it seemed the majority of the community had come to welcome us. Our experience was truly unique as we were able to work in the school, the fair trade jewelry shop, and around the yard planting a garden and constructing a compost toilet and hand washing station. I loved ever minute of each day I worked with Project Esperanza and the week seemed to fly by. When we weren’t working we were able to play baseball and cards with the children, get our hair braided and eat amazing empanadas, as we were living, and able to engage, with the community. Being able to have so many interactions with the community really allowed us to see the impact we had in one week, and opened our eyes to what continuous volunteer work and sponsorships could do for this community. I wish we could have stayed longer because this really was an amazing trip and this organization is truly making a much-needed difference in the community. I have so much admiration and respect for Caitlin, as she has devoted her life to this mission. I remember on our last day being in the school and listening to some of the teachers and students talk. They thanked God for sending Caitlin to them and for the volunteers that came because of her work and vision. Leaving the Dominican Republic was such a bittersweet feeling. I felt good about volunteering, but my heart was breaking leaving the people we had grown close to over the week. Needless to say, I know my time with Project Esperanza is not over and I fully intend to go back. I have done many international service trips and I especially respect Project Esperanza because you know exactly what is needed and expected of you, and you know exactly where your money is going when you make a donation. Caitlin is an advocate for so many who need help and she truly has created something inspirational and incredible with Project Esperanza. I think this is a great organization and would absolutely recommend it to anyone who wants to do meaningful service work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered for Project Esperanza on multiple occasions, beginning in 2010. I have aid in funding, sponsoring, tech, as well as actually traveling to the Dominican Republic to work with them in 2011, and intend on continuing my work with them in the future. It is well run and truly for the communities it works in, supplying needed aid to the Haitian communities, which is especially needed due to recent events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered with Project Esperanza this summer 2013 for the first time and it was life changing. Project Esperanza is an organization that is heavily focused on addressing human rights issues with undocumented Haitian I'm/migrants in the Dominican Republic by equalizing access to education, health care, vocational training, and teacher development with several of their programs. This summer I had the opportunity to work in several of those areas including identity development/empowerment workshops. Being able to create learning communities in which all of us were producers of knowledge was such a powerful excuse. It was amazing to see the transformation, especially with the identity and empowerment workshops.

Throughout my time there, I was able to fully understand their commitment and passion for justice, equity, and inclusion with the hope of creating sustainable communities and empowering community members. Project Esperanza is invested fully in the community, which is something I cannot say about other organizations which I have worked with. I would highly recommending working with Project Esperanza and/or supporting their cause. As a matter of fact, I am returning again to help out in summer of 2014.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Earlier in the year I read about Project Esperanza online while researching honeymoon destinations! Knowing that we were heading to the Dominican Republic we were searching for local non profits in Puerto Plata that we could visit while on our honeymoon. We got in touch with Caitlin and verified if we could stop by and visit the artisan shop where locals sell their handmade crafts.
We weren't sure how much time we'd have based on our car rental agreement, the location, and navigating around an Island we knew nothing about but in the end it worked out.
Caitlin was so kind to show us the artisan store and to walk us through the Batay to meet several of the local people with whom Project Esperanza works.
We were so impressed with her dedication and passion for the work and her willingness to sacrifice on behalf of a greater cause. It was also great to meet some of the volunteers as well as the children of the community.
Project Esperanza is one of those organizations that literally 'gets it'. They are on the front lines of a battle that so few are willing to fight. They are in the midst of those in need and they are doing their best to provide a brighter future for the people of their community through relationships, education and care.
It was an honor to spend the little time we did checking it out and learning about the great work that is being done.
We look forward to seeing all that will be accomplished in the lives of these amazing people and we feel blessed to be a small part of such a great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I first volunteered with Project Esperanza in 2009. My experience with the organization in the Dominican Republic truly opened my eyes to the developing world and so began my interest in international development. Helping educate Haitian street boys about HIV/AIDS got me interested in global public health, which is now my career. Caitlin's continued passion and commitment to Project Esperanza is inspiring and remarkable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

advocate our efforts to free and transform child slaves in the Dominican Republic. Volunteer