Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.65
Write A Review
October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I loved our time and experience at Project Amigo and continue our support for the project through sponsorships of the kids and visits. It is successful program that has graduated 34 poor rural kids from college (plus law and medicine schools) and has made a significant difference in the local community and beyond. The project employs all local folks and recent graduates to empower the kids and young adults to reach their highest academic potential, introduces them to volunteering in their community and teaches them good values. They touch the lives of several hundred kids and adults each year with volunteer work weeks in areas such as literacy, vision and dental.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I served as a volunteer with Project Amigo Vision for 3 years. This is a collaborative project with Rotary and the Lions Club. What a pleasure it was to help so many wonderful amigos 'see' better through this project. I speak Spanish so I was able to communicate my new friends. I would urge anyone to join Project Amigo in any capacity whatsoever. Ted and Susan are the best!! Pam Lucas

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Started volunteering at Project Amigo in 2004, and have gone back annually ever since. Whether it's giving a youngster their first book to own, or providing a rural school with a mini-library, or working at a Project Amigo run preschool for Nahuatl speaking indigenous migrant worker kids who without fluent Spanish cannot go to grade school, spending a week here can only whet your appetite to help these needy kids go to school and even college. In it's over 25 years Project Amigo is now producing Doctors, Nurses, Lawyers, Teachers and business owners. Donate, or better yet spend a week volunteering with the warm and loving people in this safest part of Mexico, and see for yourself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

We discovered Project Amigo a number of years ago when I took my pre-teen sons to learn what kind of an impact they could make helping others. It is remarkable how the project has, through some simple incentives, encouraged children to enter and then stay in school in this very poor corner of rural Mexico where education had not been part of the culture.
In supporting the education of so many children through grade school, high school and even the University, through incentives, homework clubs, computer labs, medical and dental help and scholarships, Project Amigo is changing the culture in this part of the world.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We have known several of the graduates, a physician, lawyers and teachers. One young woman with a very difficult family history has become a huge influence on other young girls from the community. We have watched the nearby migrant labor camp become a stationary community through the development, construction and support of a small school. Most of these children are the first in their families to read and write. We presently sponsor two children, one in High School and the other at the University.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes. I do have some concern about the longer term financing of this amazing project as Ted and Susan approach retirement. I can't help but think that this project is the perfect template that could be replicated in other areas of poverty given dedicated people like Ted and Susan.

September 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

It's always a pleasure to be part of the creation of friendships between children and adults from Canada, the US and Mexico. Volunteers who visit from the US and Canada invariably see a part of Mexico that is off the tourist path -- and that demonstrates a close-up view of the beauty and traditions of Mexican culture and history.

American and Canadians who visit, also make new friendships among themselves -- friendships that continue long after they leave each other's company after a work week.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing so many of their students not only complete junior high and high school, but also complete college with careers they can enjoy in their own state of Colima! They ARE changing the destinies of their families, and ending generations of poverty and illiteracy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more interactions between volunteers and staff of Project Amigo.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers