Progressive Jewish Alliance

Rating: 4.85 stars   13 reviews

Address:

5870 W. Olympic Boulevard Los Angeles CA 90036 USA

Mission:

The mission of Progressive Jewish Alliance (PJA) is to educate, advocate and organize on issues of peace, equality, diversity and justice, as a progressive voice in the Jewish community and a Jewish voice in the progressive community.  Under the rubric “tikkun ha ir, tikkun olam” (repair of the city, repair of the world), PJA works to build multi-cultural and multi-faith bridges within our community, and we participate in broad coalitions working to build a better California and a better nation for all of its inhabitants.  We fight for economic justice by educating Jews about our obligation to stand with the working poor, and then we organize the Jewish community to join in campaigns to improve working conditions and secure a living wage for low-wage workers.  We work to ensure Jewish continuity through our Jeremiah Fellowship, an innovative project that trains young professionals to be the next generation of Jewish social justice leaders.  And we build a vibrant, creative and engaged community through education programs and quarterly holiday events that explore the intersection of art, culture and politics.  PJA was founded in Los Angeles in 1999; since our founding, PJA has reinvigorated the progressive Jewish landscape and created a new model of Jewish community engagement.  In February 2005, expanding our geographic reach, PJA opened a San Francisco Bay Area office.  In Fall 2009, we will expand again by offering our Jeremiah Fellowship program in Washington, DC, in collaboration with Jews United for Justice.

Geographic areas served:

Northern and Southern California, Washington, DC

2009 Top-Rated Nonprofit
Write a Review
Invite Reviews Share This Nonprofit

More Info

323-761-8350
http://www.pjalliance.org

Promote This Nonprofit

GreatNonprofits badges allow you to raise awareness of your favorite nonprofits on your own web sites!

Review this charity on
GreatNonprofits

Reviews for Progressive Jewish Alliance

Rating: 5 stars  

8 people found this review helpful

Progressive Jewish Alliance allows me to stand with many in the Social Justice movement - people like me who are guided by their Jewish principles for Tikkun Olam and so much more. The leadership and volunteers are "mensches in the trenches" - THANK YOU for doing so much to be there!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

professional, fun, caring, and committed to helping repair the world - one issue and one person at a time.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009-10-01

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

3 people found this review helpful

My experiences with Progressive Jewish Alliance are always outstanding. They provide their volunteers with comprehensive support for every initiative. They keep volunteers informed about the projects that they are working on. The work that the organization does exemplifies Jewish values expressed by the concept of Tikkun Olam, Repairing the World.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff has been dedicated to their causes and the volunteers have all been exceptionally warm, inclusive, and easy to work with.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

increase its capacity to add staff, programming, and do incredible outreach nationally to other centers of Jewish life.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009-10-01

 
Flag review
Rating: 4 stars  

3 people found this review helpful

Progressive Jewish Alliance is a small organization with a large Jewish presence. It speaks for those of us who see our liberal values as an outgrowth or continuation of our Jewish Values. This organization represents modern day halacha as applied to issues of social justice,peace, Israel, etc. It reminds me of ethical issues, ways to make my concerns heard and things I want to be involved in. Though I don't get involved in many things, this Jewish organization gives me hope and a sense of community of ideas.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

hire more staff, to make the phone calls to get our members out to meetihngs and demonstrations, create similiar organizations in every big city with a substancial Jewish presence, hire someone to do PR full time, the list goes on and oon

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009-1-01

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

3 people found this review helpful

PJA communicates a moral vision of a more just society, and then takes action to make that vision a reality. PJA holds the Jewish community accountable for living up to our own standards of social justice, based on teachings from the Torah about equality, wealth and poverty, food, housing and worker rights. Because of PJA I feel confident that generations to come can feel proud to be Jews.

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing Jews at the table when coalitions form around immigrant rights or labor issues.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

dedicated, hard-working, full of integrity.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Completely transform the face of the U.S. Jewish community.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009-10-01

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

4 people found this review helpful

PJA does powerful work in solidarity with low-income workers like sweat-shop workers, car wash workers and hotel workers. Members are out on the picket lines as well as being active in other community struggles around gay rights, the death penalty, and immigrant rights. They are also producing a new generation of leadership through their young adult Jeremiah Program.

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

PJA is friendly, welcoming, responsive, and accountable to the leadership of community based and union organizations.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009-9-01

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

5 people found this review helpful

Progressive Jewish Alliance has done amazing work in LA and San Francisco, working along side laborers to make sure they have a fair wage. The No Schvitz guide is great. PJA also does a great job working with other community groups.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

solve the middle east peace crisis, or at least make relationship better between Jews and Muslims at the local level.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009-5-01

 
Flag review
Rating: 5 stars  

6 people found this review helpful

PJA is an amazing organization that works toward social justice, brings groups together, and builds Jewish communities. It's currently at a crossroads (with a new executive director, expanding to new cities), and I expect that it will take on new issues, use new techniques, and reach new constituencies. I'm so proud that PJA exists, and I'm honored to be a part of it.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very knowledgeable, caring, visionaries.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009-9-01

 
Flag review