Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.901795
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2012

I am a Homebound person who has knowledge of Black Pine only through the Internet and knowing Lori from outside contact. When she went to BPAS I became interested because I love cats, and have had on... more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am home bound I have followed the great work that BPAS is doing for animals on FB. Their exceptional care and support for their animals is evident in how the facility has grown and expanded to meet the needs of the animals that come to them. Whether it is a black bear coming from a concrete slab corn crib to a habitat where she can run and play and sleep in comfort on her own hammock or a pack of wolves reunited in their own habitat, or lions and tigers. It is amazing to watch, the community involvement, the volunteers hours, the staff creative innovations to raise awareness not only of BPAS needs but also the universal needs of the exotic animal trade, raising our awareness of abuse and need for legislation to be passed. With the use of social media and videos, we are kept very involved in their cause, forever homes for animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Homebound person who has knowledge of Black Pine only through the Internet and knowing Lori from outside contact. When she went to BPAS I became interested because I love cats, and have had one all my adult life as a pet. I have learned so much about "exotic pets" through Lori's postings and the BPAS's website and activity on Facebook. I then pass it on and share wtih my network as well. Lori and BPAS are truly making a difference in our neck of the woods!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

THree of us visited Black Pine for the first time last weekend. It was a very enriching and heartwarming experience. All the animals looked so well taken care of and "at peace". I can tell that this sanctuary is truly a positive place for these animals to live!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

LOVED my visit to Black Pine!! Everyone was super friendly and very informative. I believe in the job they are doing and definitely support them! I will be back and will refer friends and family to visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you arrive at Black Pine and walk through the gates you can feel the caring and love for the animals. It truly is a sanctaury. There is an air of peace there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Several years ago I did a search for a big cat sanctuary near enough to visit and came across Black Pine. It's a 3 1/2 hour drive and well worth it! The staff are well versed in the life histories of the animals, and have a real passion for taking the best care of each animal in their care. The number and variety of animals there has grown as well as the facility in the years I have been a visitor, but it's still the big cats I enjoy the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

we take deer over to them when we can. recently i had the chance to talk with them. they took the time to explain the park and thier mission. i have never seen such passion to take care of the animals. each animal is treated as if it was a house pet. with that kind od love and compassion they can't be beat!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

WE Discovered Black Pine Two Years Ago WhenWeSawAn Advertisement ForTheir Halloween Event. WE HaveTaken OUr Grandchildren Nieces Nephews And Friends ForSeveral Visits Since Then. The Staff Are Kind CaRing And Knowledgeable. TheyShowDeep Affection ForTheAnimalsInTheirCare. WAreVeryFortunateToHaveThisOrganization In Our Community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit PARC, better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary on about a monthly basis for 3-4 years. As an animal lover and advocate, I am greatly appreciative of the fine wo... more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been visited Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, aka Professional Animal Retirement Center for 6-7 years and I've grown to love it more each year. The animals that call it home have come from a variety of situations, some deplorable and others from caring homes--they just didn't belong in homes because they ARE wild animals. The staff shares their stories, and their love and concern for these animals is obvious and contagious. I don't see how a visitor could leave the place without being touched and wanting to help in someway. The staff is mainly volunteer which says a lot about how important the mission of this sanctuary is. They work so hard to make this place not a good place, but a great place. BPAS rocks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit PARC, better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary on about a monthly basis for 3-4 years. As an animal lover and advocate, I am greatly appreciative of the fine work they do, caring for animals that needed a home for a variety of reasons. I think it is amazing all they accomplish when most of their staff are volunteer. I think it says a lot about an organization when it is able to draw so many volunteers to help--and help on a regular basis. That is a labor of love. BP also serves in educating their visitors to the plight of the individual animals and the animals they represent. I recommend Black Pine as a place to visit, enjoy, and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since I last wrote about PARC (better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary), much has happened. More animals are now in larger enclosures and more animals have moved to their new "forever" home. Instead of two black bears, there are now five and they will soon be moving into a new habitat constructed specifically for them. Additional residents are a female cougar, three wolves, and a marbled fox. The staff is still dedicated and work hard for the betterment of the residents. It is a MUST for any animal lover who is in the area. And there are now permanent bathrooms--the decor is another MUST see.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have had some wonderful experiences at what I refer to as Black Pine (Animal Sanctuary). I've visited it frequently in the last couple of years and am always excited when I turn down the last road and into the facility property. The animals are so special and interesting. Some are retired performers and others have been rescued from terrible situations. There are quite a variety of animals, some farm and some exotics. My favorites are the tigers and bears, but there are also lions, leopards, several species of primates, reptiles, various birds, etc. Some of the older ones (Mr. Bear, Isaac, Caesar, India, Cody, Coby) have died in the last few years and I miss them all, but new residents are added when space and finances allow. The staff are wonderful--only 2 are paid a salary and all the others are volunteers. They are so dedicated and willing to share their love and experiences with the animals. For anyone in Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio (& anyone visiting in the area), who loves animals and their welfare should plan a trip there. Their website is: http://www.blackpineanimalpark.com/

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to go behind the scenes and really being able to be closer to these amazing animals, than one typically finds in zoos.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourge marketing--I'm always finding people in the area who have never heard of it--but marketing costs money.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the closeness to the animals and hearing the tigers chuffing--the first time I heard one I was thrilled--and now I have heard them dozens of times.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

ARE dedicated and devoted to the animals.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

build larger enclosures for the animals that don't have them yet. Also a new sewer system is needed, and the ability to have more paid positions.

Ways to make it better...

it were closer to me--I have to drive an hour.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

money.

One thing I'd also say is that...

it is addictive--I am always ready to go back for a visit.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known about Black Pine for years. Yes they do a fantastic job and the animals are very well cared for. The staff is the best. But I wanted to say that because of the pure passion of each of the staff and Board members that is why it works so great. Each person has to have a passion to care for these wild creatures of the earth. It is not an easy job. The staff makes it look easy and no work to it but the daily cleaning and the daily feeding and the general care of each animal is something the general public does not see. They don't see how each volunteer and staff member thinks of things to enrich the animal's life on a daily basis. There's a lot behind the scenes that is not praised and known about and these people do a fantastic job. Thank you to all that make this happen. That includes the Board memebers , staff, and the donors and alas the visitors each year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Six years ago, my daughter volunteered at Black Pine. They were still in their old facility and operating on limited resources, but their caring and kindness toward the animals was very evident in everything they did.

Later, when they moved to the new, larger facility, things got even
better for the animals that they care for so much. These animals, each with a story that could break your heart, move to Black Pine, and they are loved and cared for for the rest of their lives. It's a wonderful thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer