Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.866145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I am extremely disappointed in Black Pine Animal Sanctuary-The mission stated here has changed to suit the need to find new donations from Animal Rights Extremists-They encourage boycotts and bans on animal ownership now-This is a political agenda.
They themselves rather hypocritical by having
tours and allowing people to roam the facility-This is considered 'exploitation of animals' yet state they are against anyone else doing the same.
Apparently, it's now all about the money and not the animal at this facility-Extremely disappointed. I give it -0- stars but required to give it a rating and the only reason I gave it -1- star.
Attacking others on FB does nothing to help a single animal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change their political policy and if they want to be considered a bonified 'sanctuary' and against showing of animals, it needs to be a closed facility.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 19, 2013

When the State of Ohio changed its exotic animal laws, we reached out to Black Pine to help the four remaining big cats at our sanctuary, and provide them sanctuary with quality care for the rest of t... more

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When the State of Ohio changed its exotic animal laws, we reached out to Black Pine to help the four remaining big cats at our sanctuary, and provide them sanctuary with quality care for the rest of their lives. They stepped up to help us & the tigers, and they were moved to Black Pine in Oct. 2012 with the help of many other devoted supporters, the new enclosures are now under construction, and hopefully by spring will be completed, and the tigers will be able to enjoy living the remainder of their lives! We are excited for Sammie, Delilah, Taz, & Ticha as they and all the animals at Black Pine deserve to live their lives with peace and happiness! Thanks to all the staff, volunteers, and those who have donated to this great cause! We look forward to many, many visits, and volunteering with the animals!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When the State of Ohio changed its exotic animal laws, we reached out to Black Pine to help the four remaining big cats at our sanctuary, and provide them sanctuary with quality care for the rest of their lives. They stepped up to help us & the tigers, and they were moved to Black Pine in Oct. 2012 with the help of many other devoted supporters, the new enclosures are now under construction, and hopefully by spring will be completed, and the tigers will be able to enjoy living the remainder of their lives! We are excited for Sammie, Delilah, Taz, & Ticha as they and all the animals at Black Pine deserve to live their lives with peace and happiness! Thanks to all the staff, volunteers, and those who have donated to this great cause! We look forward to many, many visits, and volunteering with the animals!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

Black Pine Animal sanctuary is well on its way to excellence in Exotic Animal Care, & Rescue. They have a wonderful Staff, great people running the Facility, and the animals are happy & healthy. It takes allot of dedication, heart, soul, & hard work, and they have proved that! Now they have stepped up once again to take in four tigers, and help out a fellow rescue facility in Ohio that had no other options but to find new homes for the animals they have rescued and cared for many years.This shows their capabilities as a organization, to go forward in helping animals in need, to the best of their ability, and paves the road for others in the future!

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They always put the animal's welfare & safety first!

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked in the animal field for 17 years now. Through all of my Vet Tech work, work in zoos, wildlife centers, and other animal related industries, I can not think of a better place to receive the award as a great nonprofit! The 2.5 paid staff members and team of volunteers are amazing and put the care of the animals first! They have a huge community that supports them as much as Black Pine supports its community! They are also trying to help on a state and federal level with the laws regarding exotic animal ownership. The director went to OH to testify during their making of the new laws recently put into place. So, it's not only the animals that call Black Pine home that this organization cares about, it's all animals. They are also helping other organizations with training! Having the members of the Tri-state CART exotics team come to our sanctuary to learn and train on what to do and how to handle situations with escaped exotic animals and how to transport them safely with out the danger of sedation. I can't say enough good things about this organization! Working with Black Pine staff and volunteers has been life changing for me! They deserve to win this great award!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I completed an internship about 5 years ago at black pine animal park. Now I'm an education curator at a small zoo I love to visit and continue to see the incredible improvements. My co workers are also impressed with black pine's success. The difference the staff makes in these animals lives is remarkable. Black Pine is a must see for any animal lover.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Black Pine has partnered with dedicated volunteers, local refuse service companies, and visiting educators to provide recycling services on site to encourage good stewardship and GREEN living! The animals enjoy natural habitats. Organic waste is composted daily. The sanctuary's septic system features one of only a handful of constructed wetlands for natural, organic breakdown of waste. BPAS is GREEN! Bravo!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine is a must facility with some of the most dedicated volunteers and board members I have ever seen in this profession! I share their beliefs and I am continuously amazed at how much they sacrifice to save animals of all different taxa. A wonderful facility that will always be close to my heart!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Black Pine animal Park is a great facility tha needs as much help as they can get. They do a wonderful job with limited resources. I encourage anyone to go there and observe what they do for animals and become educated about the problems that many of their rescued animals face. Without dedicated individuals and organizations like theirs, many animals would die or have no where to go when their owners grow tired of them or cannot handle them any longer. They deserve recognition, admiration and whatever resources can be awarded to them for their valiant efforts!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The tour and stories about what the animal residents there have suffered was a very eye-opening experience for me and my students. We were very sad to hear their stories but delighted that they were able to live out their lives at the park now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My hopes for them is that more resources be made available to them, both monetary and volunteers.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer