Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
128 Reviews
1234.867195
Write A Review
July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

I've been visited Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, aka Professional Animal Retirement Center for 6-7 years and I've grown to love it more each year. The animals that call it home have come from a variety... more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I visit Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (current name) about once a month during their open season. I always look forward to seeing the animals having "known" some of them for 5 years of visits. New animal residents are always exciting to meet. It is wonderful to see a sanctuary where the animals come first--because it is THEIR forever home. I thoroughly recommend it as a place to visit for anyone who loves and respects animals. It is also a place that one feels good about helping with donations. Donations is how they survive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been visited Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, aka Professional Animal Retirement Center for 6-7 years and I've grown to love it more each year. The animals that call it home have come from a variety of situations, some deplorable and others from caring homes--they just didn't belong in homes because they ARE wild animals. The staff shares their stories, and their love and concern for these animals is obvious and contagious. I don't see how a visitor could leave the place without being touched and wanting to help in someway. The staff is mainly volunteer which says a lot about how important the mission of this sanctuary is. They work so hard to make this place not a good place, but a great place. BPAS rocks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit PARC, better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary on about a monthly basis for 3-4 years. As an animal lover and advocate, I am greatly appreciative of the fine work they do, caring for animals that needed a home for a variety of reasons. I think it is amazing all they accomplish when most of their staff are volunteer. I think it says a lot about an organization when it is able to draw so many volunteers to help--and help on a regular basis. That is a labor of love. BP also serves in educating their visitors to the plight of the individual animals and the animals they represent. I recommend Black Pine as a place to visit, enjoy, and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since I last wrote about PARC (better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary), much has happened. More animals are now in larger enclosures and more animals have moved to their new "forever" home. Instead of two black bears, there are now five and they will soon be moving into a new habitat constructed specifically for them. Additional residents are a female cougar, three wolves, and a marbled fox. The staff is still dedicated and work hard for the betterment of the residents. It is a MUST for any animal lover who is in the area. And there are now permanent bathrooms--the decor is another MUST see.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have had some wonderful experiences at what I refer to as Black Pine (Animal Sanctuary). I've visited it frequently in the last couple of years and am always excited when I turn down the last road and into the facility property. The animals are so special and interesting. Some are retired performers and others have been rescued from terrible situations. There are quite a variety of animals, some farm and some exotics. My favorites are the tigers and bears, but there are also lions, leopards, several species of primates, reptiles, various birds, etc. Some of the older ones (Mr. Bear, Isaac, Caesar, India, Cody, Coby) have died in the last few years and I miss them all, but new residents are added when space and finances allow. The staff are wonderful--only 2 are paid a salary and all the others are volunteers. They are so dedicated and willing to share their love and experiences with the animals. For anyone in Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio (& anyone visiting in the area), who loves animals and their welfare should plan a trip there. Their website is: http://www.blackpineanimalpark.com/

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to go behind the scenes and really being able to be closer to these amazing animals, than one typically finds in zoos.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourge marketing--I'm always finding people in the area who have never heard of it--but marketing costs money.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the closeness to the animals and hearing the tigers chuffing--the first time I heard one I was thrilled--and now I have heard them dozens of times.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

ARE dedicated and devoted to the animals.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

build larger enclosures for the animals that don't have them yet. Also a new sewer system is needed, and the ability to have more paid positions.

Ways to make it better...

it were closer to me--I have to drive an hour.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

money.

One thing I'd also say is that...

it is addictive--I am always ready to go back for a visit.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I just took my girls to the Black Pine Animal Sanctuary and we left with huge smiles. This place is awesome. The animals are wild and beautiful and it's a much more intimate view of animals vs. going to a zoo. I have such admiration for the people for work and volunteer there and place like it. We also visited the gift shop which had the cutest items to choose from for reasonable prices. This year we decided to visit Black Pine instead of renewing a zoo membership and we are SO glad we did. We'll be visiting Black Pine from now on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great place. Obviously the staff and volunteers care for the basic needs of the animals, but what is fascinating is how the organization goes above and beyond meeting basic needs. They find ways to give quality life to animals that have lived most of their lives in a cage performing for human entertainment.

Beyond the needs of the animals, the addition of Black Pine has been a huge benefit to a small town. In some ways, it has put Albion on the map!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough about the good works of Black Pine Animal Sanctuary. The staff and loyal volunteers are an amazing group of individuals.

My first interaction with BPAS was in the fall of 2012. I desperately needed to find a home for a domesticated fox who could no longer remain with
her owner. BPAS helped me through the process and eventually gave this little fox sanctuary within their facility. For this fox it was her last shot at a decent life. I will always be grateful for the kindness shown and the professional manner in which transitioning this fox to BPAS was conducted.

I continue to maintain close contact with Black Pine and follow them on Facebook and via their website. They are a fine organization in which I support every chance I get. They truly care about their animals. I will be making a sixteen hour trip this month to pay BPAS a visit. It will be worth every mile.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This place is amazing to take the kids! Mine love it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Our family watched the documentary, "The Elephant in the Living Room." We are about 2 hours from Black Pine and decided to make the trip with our 4 kids. We all enjoyed the tour, facility and learned a lot that day. We are planning more return trips!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

BPAS is a wonderful place for families! The staff explain everything about the animals!! I have been there a few times and have learned something new every time! I would suggest that everyone go atleast once!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012

Went with my daughters preschool class and the staff were very good with them and understanding if there lack of patience. This is a GREAT place for young children or anyone really to learn about excotic animals in the wild and how u are suppose to take care of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 6, 2011

We visited Black Pine this fall at their Halloween festivities for the first time. It was a wonderful park! We were able to see the animals closer than our traditional zoo and learn their history. The people who worked there were very friendly and took time to discuss each animal. The park offers so much for the community, not only to assist the exotic cast aways but to enrich the lives of our community members by showing compassion for their animals and promoting responsible pet ownership. My family as well as anyone who will listen to me will be visiting Black Pine and supporting Black Pine for years to come! Thank you Black Pine for all you do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My children have a better understanding of why keeping exotic pets is not appropriate. The also have seen the compassion displayed towards animals and have learned to appreciate wildlife better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate all the money in the world to expand this sanctuary and ensure its survival as it is a place that is needed. Places like these are wonderful, but also struggle to make ends meet financially and rely on generous donations.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer