Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
128 Reviews
1234.867195
Write A Review
April 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 6, 2011

I have been to Black Pines many times, and each time I go, I am amazed at all of the hard work that goes into caring for these animals that otherwise would not have a home. They have a wonderful grou... more

April 27, 2012

I have visited Black Pine Animal Sanctuary many times and I am amazed at the amount of care that goes in to taking care of these rescued animals. I can tell the staff genuinely loves and cares for these animals and I can't imagine where these animals would be if it were not for Black Pine. They do such a wonderful job also of educating the public on the plight of exotic animals and the danger of owning one. I cannot recommend Black Pine enough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to Black Pines many times, and each time I go, I am amazed at all of the hard work that goes into caring for these animals that otherwise would not have a home. They have a wonderful group of volunteers that genuinely care for the animals, along with their minimal staff. I can tell all of the hard work is done out of love for these animals, and without Black Pines, these animals would still be suffering. In addition, the wonderful education that is done concerning the sad life of exotic animals that are kept by humans, is so needed. There are so many people that do not realize what goes on with these animals that are kept as pets, or for "show", and Black Pines brings attention to this problem. I admire everything they do for these animals and thank goodness for Black Pines Animal Sanctuary.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Visiting

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've now been to Black Pine on several occassions and each time I come away more impressed with the professionalism of the staff and volunteers. While the animals are obviously the main attraction, the grounds and habitates are lovely with lots of room for the inhabitants. The staff/volunteers are friendly and very knowledgable about the animals in their care; they can not only relate specific stories about each animal but also provide a lot of information about the breed in general.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love Black Pine for the service that they provide to the animals they protect. They also educate the public and provide a safe environment for the animals and the public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 27, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012

Went with my daughters preschool class and the staff were very good with them and understanding if there lack of patience. This is a GREAT place for young children or anyone really to learn about excotic animals in the wild and how u are suppose to take care of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Black Pine has partnered with dedicated volunteers, local refuse service companies, and visiting educators to provide recycling services on site to encourage good stewardship and GREEN living! The animals enjoy natural habitats. Organic waste is composted daily. The sanctuary's septic system features one of only a handful of constructed wetlands for natural, organic breakdown of waste. BPAS is GREEN! Bravo!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

I love visiting - it was such an up close experience in seeing the animals, and the care that is tendered them is so very clear. I intend to see much more of this place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I LOVE Black Pine! The animals' health and safety and happiness come first and foremost and that's good to see. Everyone involved with Black Pine is friendly and knowledgeable and visiting is a pleasure. We try to go every year, and it's exciting to see the place grow.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am an animal lover that hates to see wild animals being raised by regular individuals that find out later in life there's a lot more to it than being a cute animal. At Black Pine they have taken these animals in that cannot be put into the wild & have given them a lot of love & care in their handling. They take great care in the animals they have received over the years. Black Pine is a facility that I have great respect for in many different areas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine is a must facility with some of the most dedicated volunteers and board members I have ever seen in this profession! I share their beliefs and I am continuously amazed at how much they sacrifice to save animals of all different taxa. A wonderful facility that will always be close to my heart!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 8, 2011

I make it a habit to visit Black Pine Animal Sanctuary as often as possible! The animal caretakers have done a wonderful job to care for the individual needs of the animal residents. Animals that have been horrifically abused and/or neglected are given a loving home at Black Pine where they can finally thrive in environments that are painstakingly constructed by staff to meet all of their needs. Staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly to guests, making the sanctuary a pleasure to visit. I love to listen to Peaches the cockatoo talk, watch Tarzan the chimp "make monkeys" out of young and old visitors alike, and watch Joey the graceful Patagonian cavy wander around in her enclosure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When I first saw Wrigley the bear, my heart broke to see an animal that had been so horribly abused. Black Pine's staff ensure that she has a wonderful environment to live in, plenty of healthy food, and good care. She seems to be moving around with more ease and confidence since Black Pine adopted her. I've also learned so much from staff about the black market trade in exotic animals and how these practices lead to the abuse (out of ignorance or an uncaring quest for profit) of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. I wish I had more ample funds to donate to this organization as they try so hard to make a wonderful home for their animals and a beautiful location for guests to view and learn about them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned about this organization from my parents, who live near Black Pine.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer