Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
129 Reviews
1234.868225
Write A Review
October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Our family LOVES Black Pine along with all of the staff and volunteers. Each family member has their favorite animal to visit each time we go. We always learn something new while visiting and love that the animals are all rescued and well cared for as they live out the remainder of their lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been there to photograph the animals at BPAS. The animals are truly cared for in 5 star way. The care takers are caring, responsible & provide what these poor animals need for the rest of their lives. Since these animals cannot go back into the wild. BPAS is the best place for them! Thank you to BPAS for all that you do! ~Paul

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The compassion Black Pine and Lori showed a great private owner here in Ohio told the story all on it's own. We all have our own piece of the mission to carry out in this life, but these folks out did themselves. After countless hours of research on a whole lot of sanctuaries, and asking a million irritating questions, I found that Black Pine will be well worth the 3 hour trip to visit. This home for animals works on a fraction of the budget as it's peers, and they do the job better than a whole lot them. They deserve the kudos, well wishes, helping hands, and donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I love Black Pine and have taken my grand daughter there on spring break for the last 3 yrs. She loves seeing the animals so close up and I love the relaxed atmosphere of the park. We always have a great time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

My husband and I visited Black Pine for the first time last year. It was an amazing experience to see these animals in such a loving and well managed setting. We plan to financially support the organization for many years to come as well as visit the animals as often as possible. I highly recommend this organization for your consideration as you look for opportunities to make a difference in the lives of very special animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

A beautiful "mission," a beautiful setting, beautiful animals . Very encouraging to see the devoted care and enrichment given these wild animals, their wild natures are respected, not Used for sensationalism. I know the paid Staff is minimal, and pour far more hours and energy of their lives than you can imagine, and the Sanctuary relies on many great volunteers They operate frugally with their funds to enrich the animals habitats & lives. Visitors can get so close (but safe) to see them! The Staff share such interesting info, and compelling sad backrounds of the rescued residents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

I work as a "volunteer" in the course of my employment as a clinical Rehabiliation Service Provider for children with emotional and learning disabilities. In this capacity, I have worked with children in this wonderfully therapeutic setting known as Black Pine Professional Animal Retirement Center. The children learn to care for the animals by preparing their diets, provide enrichment activities for the animals, and learn to understand commitment, responsibility, and to better identify their own feelings. Feelings? Yes, feelings! Simply misting the tropical birds on a warm summer's day, helps a child understand what doing something nice for someone means. That's right - a happily chirping Macaw helps a child learn this important fact of life. In this same way, the Cockatoo that moves away from the gentle spray of water is saying "I don't like this." Again, the child learns. I have a child client who created her own Black Pine scrap book. This simple scrapbook is now a part of her toolbox of coping skills; she keeps it with her at all times and this helps her deal with crippling anxiety. When she is at the Park, she blossoms and this carries over into her life outside as well. Another child (in foster care) was blessed with a person visit to the wolves; simply calling to Nanook and having Nanook respond to him is a memory he is so proud of - something he can call his own. There is no better therapy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

It's been a while since I've visited Black Pine since I no longer live in the area but no matter how much time passes, I will always remember my experiences there. Every single member of the staff was polite and helpful and obviously cared very deeply for all the animals at the sanctuary. All the animals had adequate space and it was easy to see they were well fed and well taken care of. I had the pleasure to go on the feeding tours several times and will be forever amazed at the trust the animals showed the staff when they entered many of the enclosures to feed the animals up close and personal. A mistreated or abused animal, in my opinion, would never show that level of trust especially around meal times. It's too bad there are not more places like Black Pine for these animals to go. Hopefully they will be around for many, many years to come so they can continue the amazing work they do in helping these animals live out their lives in a warm and caring environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

Black Pine Animal Sanctuary has been an enormous help to me in my effort to care for a domesticated fox who's owner could not care for her. I have corresponded numerous times with them either asking for advice on nutrition or some other type of guidance. Always Black Pine has given me excellent information and showed that they genuinely wanted to help me. I have contacted many sanctuaries over the last few months but Black Pine has by far been the most helpful and professional. I am so glad there is a place like this where these beautiful animals can live out their days with the kind of care and excellence this facility provides. My husband and I visited Black Pine last weekend and we were very impressed. It was a lovely area and the animals were clearly well cared for. The staff and volunteers were extremely helpful as well. We are all very fortunate to have Black Pine.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I have volunteered at Black Pine Animal Sanctuary for over 8 years and have been a Board member for over 6. I have seen the organization struggle and grow, meet adversity and over come it. The passion of the staff and volunteers both is incredible. The support they have received for their mission has been constantly increasing as they continue to educate the public. I have volunteered for many nonprofits and have never experienced the energy, passion, and dedication that is present at Black Pine

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer