Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
128 Reviews
1234.867195
Write A Review
April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Six years ago, my daughter volunteered at Black Pine. They were still in their old facility and operating on limited resources, but their caring and kindness toward the animals was very evident in everything they did.

Later, when they moved to the new, larger facility, things got even
better for the animals that they care for so much. These animals, each with a story that could break your heart, move to Black Pine, and they are loved and cared for for the rest of their lives. It's a wonderful thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Wow, this place rocks. I have been helping out there for two years now. They take awesome care of the animals and provide careful training to all the volunteers to keep everyone safe and happy. I drive 75 miles one way to work all day for free and I am happy to do it because of the way the staff treats everyone. They stretch every dollar to the max while still making the sanctuary a beautiful place to visit and comfortable for the animals. This place far exceeds some of the zoos I have been to. I can't say enough good things about it, but I think you get the point by now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization. My family and I have visited Black Pine many times and donated as well. There mission is wonderful and to help animals is simply outstanding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What an amazing place to take children or for adults to visit! You get a close up, guided tour of beautiful animals who are loved and well cared for. I live in the same town and we are proud of BPAP! I am so glad there is such a wonderful group of people who are willing to go above and beyond taking care of animals for "the rest of their lives." I remember when Black Pine was started 1/4 mile down my road. Their growth and move to a larger location is a testament to the good work they are doing. Way to go!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This place is amazing to take the kids! Mine love it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 19, 2013

When the State of Ohio changed its exotic animal laws, we reached out to Black Pine to help the four remaining big cats at our sanctuary, and provide them sanctuary with quality care for the rest of t... more

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When the State of Ohio changed its exotic animal laws, we reached out to Black Pine to help the four remaining big cats at our sanctuary, and provide them sanctuary with quality care for the rest of their lives. They stepped up to help us & the tigers, and they were moved to Black Pine in Oct. 2012 with the help of many other devoted supporters, the new enclosures are now under construction, and hopefully by spring will be completed, and the tigers will be able to enjoy living the remainder of their lives! We are excited for Sammie, Delilah, Taz, & Ticha as they and all the animals at Black Pine deserve to live their lives with peace and happiness! Thanks to all the staff, volunteers, and those who have donated to this great cause! We look forward to many, many visits, and volunteering with the animals!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When the State of Ohio changed its exotic animal laws, we reached out to Black Pine to help the four remaining big cats at our sanctuary, and provide them sanctuary with quality care for the rest of their lives. They stepped up to help us & the tigers, and they were moved to Black Pine in Oct. 2012 with the help of many other devoted supporters, the new enclosures are now under construction, and hopefully by spring will be completed, and the tigers will be able to enjoy living the remainder of their lives! We are excited for Sammie, Delilah, Taz, & Ticha as they and all the animals at Black Pine deserve to live their lives with peace and happiness! Thanks to all the staff, volunteers, and those who have donated to this great cause! We look forward to many, many visits, and volunteering with the animals!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012

Black Pine Animal sanctuary is well on its way to excellence in Exotic Animal Care, & Rescue. They have a wonderful Staff, great people running the Facility, and the animals are happy & healthy. It takes allot of dedication, heart, soul, & hard work, and they have proved that! Now they have stepped up once again to take in four tigers, and help out a fellow rescue facility in Ohio that had no other options but to find new homes for the animals they have rescued and cared for many years.This shows their capabilities as a organization, to go forward in helping animals in need, to the best of their ability, and paves the road for others in the future!

Photos

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They always put the animal's welfare & safety first!

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Thank goodness there is a place like Black Pine! My sister and her husband were in dire need of finding an appropriate home for a beautiful little fox, and Black Pine came to the rescue! I hear that it is a quality facility with top-notch staff. I hope to visit there this spring. As an animal advocate myself, I want to thank Black Pine for what they are doing to provide excellent habitats for their animals and excellent care for them.

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Black Pine has been very supportive in our efforts to place a domesticated fox in need of a home. I plan on visiting Black Pine for the first time this weekend and very much appreciate their willingness to help a stranger with a little fox who desperately needs a home. My wife and I have searched the country for months looking for someone to help us and Black Pine is going to do just that. There is no way we could ever express our gratitude for their help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Black Pine Animal Sanctuary will always be a part of who I am. In the fall of 2010 I began volunteering with Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, knowing little of what this non-profit was going to offer me! After graduating from college, I was still looking for the right career path, and found Black Pine as a place to escape the never-ending job search. After giving several school field trips/ private tours (to generous donors), learning more about the need for exotic animal sanctuaries, joining the fundraising committee, and familiarizing myself with the animals (of course) and staff, I began to see Black Pine as an opportunity! I started my Internship in December 2010 and was given many opportunities to learn more about non-profit management, fundraising, and donor relationships. I learned so much in this short time and cannot thank the volunteers and (Lori Gagen) for their knowledge and support! After my internship ended, I still continued to volunteer and applied for the part-time keeper position. In August 2011, I began my short career at Black Pine and will never forget the lessons and memories given! The staff and volunteers at Black Pine Animal Sanctuary are all hard-working, amazing individuals! The facility itself is very exceptional. The animals come first, their care consist of clean waters, diets (keepers very informed on what is best for each animal), clean habitats, medications, spacious and enriching living quarters, but most all unconditional love! I wish I could spend as much time as I had at Black Pine, and savor each moment I get to go back! Please support Black Pine Animal Sanctuary!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Our family LOVES Black Pine along with all of the staff and volunteers. Each family member has their favorite animal to visit each time we go. We always learn something new while visiting and love that the animals are all rescued and well cared for as they live out the remainder of their lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer