Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
126 Reviews
1234.865085
| 1 2 3 4...11 |
Write A Review
April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine is an exceptional exotic animal "rest home" and very different from other places you may have stopped. This dedicated staff build shelters as needy animals request a home. Located in a gorgeous pine woods, you'll find a group that really knows how to stretch a dollar and market their location with out of the box techniques. Definitely worth a stop when you are in the area!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Several years ago I did a search for a big cat sanctuary near enough to visit and came across Black Pine. It's a 3 1/2 hour drive and well worth it! The staff are well versed in the life histories of the animals, and have a real passion for taking the best care of each animal in their care. The number and variety of animals there has grown as well as the facility in the years I have been a visitor, but it's still the big cats I enjoy the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine Animal Sanctuary adopted our red-footed tortoise, "Footloose".
We loved him dearly, but he outgrew his enclosure and we knew for him to be happy, he needed a lot more room. In the summer he would stroll around a large deck where we gave him free reign, but in the winter, the big
wading pool we had for him just wasn't big enough. I know this may sound a little strange for a tortoise, but Footloose loves people.... When we came near him, he would bob his head showing he was glad to see us. At Black Pine, Footloose has interaction with kids through their education sessions. He is so happy and has grown much bigger in his large enclosure.
We will always be grateful to the wonderful folks at Black Pine for giving Footloose not only a great home, but also a "job" that he loves!
Black Pine puts the animals they care for first.. Folks get to enjoy them, but their well-being supersedes all else. We are so proud and happy that our little buddy is in their capable hands! It's no wonder Black Pine has been awarded "Top-Rated Charity for two years running. Let's help them make it three!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

we take deer over to them when we can. recently i had the chance to talk with them. they took the time to explain the park and thier mission. i have never seen such passion to take care of the animals. each animal is treated as if it was a house pet. with that kind od love and compassion they can't be beat!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough about the good works of Black Pine Animal Sanctuary. The staff and loyal volunteers are an amazing group of individuals.

My first interaction with BPAS was in the fall of 2012. I desperately needed to find a home for a domesticated fox who could no longer remain with
her owner. BPAS helped me through the process and eventually gave this little fox sanctuary within their facility. For this fox it was her last shot at a decent life. I will always be grateful for the kindness shown and the professional manner in which transitioning this fox to BPAS was conducted.

I continue to maintain close contact with Black Pine and follow them on Facebook and via their website. They are a fine organization in which I support every chance I get. They truly care about their animals. I will be making a sixteen hour trip this month to pay BPAS a visit. It will be worth every mile.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

WE Discovered Black Pine Two Years Ago WhenWeSawAn Advertisement ForTheir Halloween Event. WE HaveTaken OUr Grandchildren Nieces Nephews And Friends ForSeveral Visits Since Then. The Staff Are Kind CaRing And Knowledgeable. TheyShowDeep Affection ForTheAnimalsInTheirCare. WAreVeryFortunateToHaveThisOrganization In Our Community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

I have never worked with any not-for-profit organization that has been so focused on doing what is the best for the animals who need the help the most. It is sometimes easy to place domestic animals ... more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wnen I first started attending events at Black Pine I was amazed at how many volunteers dedicated hours every week to helping at Black Pine. As I heard the stories of why each animal was at Black Pine I had a whole new respect for all that has been accomplished there. Last year we were asked to take on a group of tigers that would have been hard to place and through the hard work and determination of many people and the financial support of so many people we were able to say yes to bringing all 4 tigers to Black Pine, so they can live out the rest of their lives surrounded by people that love and respect them. With the help of staff, volunteers and supporters we will be able to continue to help even more animals live out the rest of their lives in comfort. I am proud to say I am now a part of the Black Pine "family" and look forward to helping our close to 100 animals, birds and reptiles for the "rest of their lives".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have never worked with any not-for-profit organization that has been so focused on doing what is the best for the animals who need the help the most. It is sometimes easy to place domestic animals with a loving family, but who can take care of the "exotics" with all their special needs? Black Pine is one organization that ALWAYS puts the best interest of the animals first and will go that extra mile to make sure these animals are well cared for, and most importantly, well loved for the rest of their lives. The community, the people, the volunteers and the very small staff work tirelessly 365 days per year to make sure these animals are well fed, comfortable and loved....and sometimes it is done on a shoestring and a prayer. I highly recommend Black Pine as an organization that is good for the soul and for the heart.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

Black Pine is such an inspiration on so many levels-from being a savior to animals in need of rescuing or needing a home, to being the "heart" of so many volunteers and neighbors. The organizations, staff and volunteers that keep Black Pine alive are truly amazing in how they can do so much with so little. It is obvious that the animals are well taken care of and truly loved which makes their final years comfortable and comforting. I highly recommend that everyone take just one trip to Black Pine Animal Sanctuary and I can guarantee you will be "hooked"....

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the building of the habitats and the efforts at fund raising so more animals can be rescued and taken care of throughout the rest of their lives

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the buildings and animal enclosures so we could take even more requests for help. It is unfortunate that we have to turn down animals due to lack of space/money.

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I gather meat that ny friends have that us getting old in their freezer and make a trip or two every year. I can't think of another facility like Black Pine close to my area. The service they provide is so needed, they help the animals and all the people that enjoy seeing happy animals. I think they are very creative in their fund raising, I attend ad many events as I can, and have introduced many of my friends to the Black Pine experience. I also donated to their silent auction, and will every year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known about Black Pine for years. Yes they do a fantastic job and the animals are very well cared for. The staff is the best. But I wanted to say that because of the pure passion of each of the staff and Board members that is why it works so great. Each person has to have a passion to care for these wild creatures of the earth. It is not an easy job. The staff makes it look easy and no work to it but the daily cleaning and the daily feeding and the general care of each animal is something the general public does not see. They don't see how each volunteer and staff member thinks of things to enrich the animal's life on a daily basis. There's a lot behind the scenes that is not praised and known about and these people do a fantastic job. Thank you to all that make this happen. That includes the Board memebers , staff, and the donors and alas the visitors each year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Six years ago, my daughter volunteered at Black Pine. They were still in their old facility and operating on limited resources, but their caring and kindness toward the animals was very evident in everything they did.

Later, when they moved to the new, larger facility, things got even
better for the animals that they care for so much. These animals, each with a story that could break your heart, move to Black Pine, and they are loved and cared for for the rest of their lives. It's a wonderful thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer