Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
129 Reviews
1234.868225
Write A Review
June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great place. Obviously the staff and volunteers care for the basic needs of the animals, but what is fascinating is how the organization goes above and beyond meeting basic needs. They find ways to give quality life to animals that have lived most of their lives in a cage performing for human entertainment.

Beyond the needs of the animals, the addition of Black Pine has been a huge benefit to a small town. In some ways, it has put Albion on the map!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 8, 2013

Although I am home bound I have followed the great work that BPAS is doing for animals on FB. Their exceptional care and support for their animals is evident in how the facility has grown and expande... more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have followed the awesome work of the staff and volunteers at BPAS for the last several years. First learning about it when Lori Gagen accepted her job there and being curious about what had taken her from her current job and her passion about the animals. Being an animal lover myself and a lifelong cat owner, it was only natural I would follow the BPAS story.

Not being able to visit BPAS since I am home bound at this time, I have so enjoyed the fantastic way the public is kept updated with social media. From the move to the addition of animals, building of new habitats, various illnesses, some deaths, more animals, special programs, tours and so much more. The public is part of BPAS story, the community is involved, even though I am not there, the names the organizations frequently are local, the vet, the construction crews, the winery for the night fund raiser. It is a passion for all, to give the animals the best forever home they can. The friends I have sent rave about the facility, and the fantastic experience their children had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am home bound I have followed the great work that BPAS is doing for animals on FB. Their exceptional care and support for their animals is evident in how the facility has grown and expanded to meet the needs of the animals that come to them. Whether it is a black bear coming from a concrete slab corn crib to a habitat where she can run and play and sleep in comfort on her own hammock or a pack of wolves reunited in their own habitat, or lions and tigers. It is amazing to watch, the community involvement, the volunteers hours, the staff creative innovations to raise awareness not only of BPAS needs but also the universal needs of the exotic animal trade, raising our awareness of abuse and need for legislation to be passed. With the use of social media and videos, we are kept very involved in their cause, forever homes for animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Homebound person who has knowledge of Black Pine only through the Internet and knowing Lori from outside contact. When she went to BPAS I became interested because I love cats, and have had one all my adult life as a pet. I have learned so much about "exotic pets" through Lori's postings and the BPAS's website and activity on Facebook. I then pass it on and share wtih my network as well. Lori and BPAS are truly making a difference in our neck of the woods!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been enjoying Black Pine for many, many years. Each year they amaze me with their growth and improvements to the Sanctuary. As long as it is necessary they will be there lovingly caring for and protecting those animals that for some reason became unloved and unwanted by their original family. Lori and everyone at Black Pine pour their heart and soul into each and every animal each and every day. It was a very rough winter and yet all the volunteers and staff kept their focus and love on each precious being in their care. I praise the staff and volunteers so much for all they do. We donate supplies when we can and will continue to do so as long as they are needed. Please know that this wonderful place deserves all the help and support it can get. Thank you, Mary Jo Schaaf.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We went to Black Pines animal sanctuary a few years ago with our children. It is a fantastic place to visit, the animals are very well taken care of. The staff is very knowledgeable of the animals and truly care about all of them. I would highly recommend a visit! We can't wait to return and see the animals.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Just visited and took the tour of The Black Pine Animal Sanctuary last week. My daughter had always wanted to visit and made donations to them so off we went. What a positive and enlightening experience. We were so impressed. First class operation. The animals are well taken care of and just beautiful. I was very surprised as to how many years the parrots had lived there and how some animals came to live there. I only live about 15 miles from there and it sure is one of our community's best kept secrets. The staff and workers who were interning there were very knowledgeble about all the animals. A must go. You get to se the animals up close and personal. They are so happy there.. Thank you to the sanctuary for caring for them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Our son moved to Fort Wayne which is about 1/2 hour from Albion. We found out about the sanctuary through a brochure he received. The first time we visited we wanted to go to the sanctuary. We weren't going to take the guided tour even though it is suggested. When we got there we decided to take tour and were very glad we did. We learned more from our guide in that visit than we would have in 25 trips to a zoo. The knowledge they have of their animals is amazing and the love they have for the animals is evident every step of the tour. Everyone there was friendly and knowledgeable We can't wait until we can visit again, this is definitely going to be a regular stop for us and our son liked it so much he got the year long admission deal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

They are a dedicated, top notch professional group. I have been there and see the care they take of all of the animals. Their spaces are clean and well cared for. They have a heart and do all they can for these animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

THree of us visited Black Pine for the first time last weekend. It was a very enriching and heartwarming experience. All the animals looked so well taken care of and "at peace". I can tell that this sanctuary is truly a positive place for these animals to live!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine is an excellent refuge for the animals they take in "for the rest of their lives"! The staff and volunteers are extremely dedicated and caring-it takes special people to give of themselves as they do every day of the year. I love visiting Black Pine and it is an exceptionally fun and learning experience! Please donate to this very worthy facility-your donation will be appreciated and used responsibly!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to Black Pines for the past few years. I LOVE visiting this incredible animal park and wish I lived closer so that I could join the amazing group of volunteers there. To realize that there are only 3 paid staff at this facility is mind boggling! The animals are cared for beautifully and loved unconditionally! I love hearing the stories about each animal and knowing that they have such a wonderful home for the "rest of their lives".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer