Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.866145
| 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been enjoying Black Pine for many, many years. Each year they amaze me with their growth and improvements to the Sanctuary. As long as it is necessary they will be there lovingly caring for and protecting those animals that for some reason became unloved and unwanted by their original family. Lori and everyone at Black Pine pour their heart and soul into each and every animal each and every day. It was a very rough winter and yet all the volunteers and staff kept their focus and love on each precious being in their care. I praise the staff and volunteers so much for all they do. We donate supplies when we can and will continue to do so as long as they are needed. Please know that this wonderful place deserves all the help and support it can get. Thank you, Mary Jo Schaaf.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We went to Black Pines animal sanctuary a few years ago with our children. It is a fantastic place to visit, the animals are very well taken care of. The staff is very knowledgeable of the animals and truly care about all of them. I would highly recommend a visit! We can't wait to return and see the animals.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Just visited and took the tour of The Black Pine Animal Sanctuary last week. My daughter had always wanted to visit and made donations to them so off we went. What a positive and enlightening experience. We were so impressed. First class operation. The animals are well taken care of and just beautiful. I was very surprised as to how many years the parrots had lived there and how some animals came to live there. I only live about 15 miles from there and it sure is one of our community's best kept secrets. The staff and workers who were interning there were very knowledgeble about all the animals. A must go. You get to se the animals up close and personal. They are so happy there.. Thank you to the sanctuary for caring for them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Our son moved to Fort Wayne which is about 1/2 hour from Albion. We found out about the sanctuary through a brochure he received. The first time we visited we wanted to go to the sanctuary. We weren't going to take the guided tour even though it is suggested. When we got there we decided to take tour and were very glad we did. We learned more from our guide in that visit than we would have in 25 trips to a zoo. The knowledge they have of their animals is amazing and the love they have for the animals is evident every step of the tour. Everyone there was friendly and knowledgeable We can't wait until we can visit again, this is definitely going to be a regular stop for us and our son liked it so much he got the year long admission deal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

They are a dedicated, top notch professional group. I have been there and see the care they take of all of the animals. Their spaces are clean and well cared for. They have a heart and do all they can for these animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

Quietly tucked away in a sleepy little town lies one of the best-kept secrets in northern Indiana. Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (BPAS) is home to about 90 exotic animals, all of whom have been abandone... more

May 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Tucked away in the sleepy little town of Albion, Indiana lies one of Midwest America's best-kept secrets. The Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (BPAS) is a non-profit organization that remarkably cares for about 95 exotic animals that have been confiscated, abandoned, neglected, mistreated or abused. From South American macaws and cockatoos to reptiles, primates, llamas, bears, tigers and lions, BPAS operates on a "shoestring" budget with only one full-time paid employee and two part-time paid staffers. All the rest of the people you encounter at Black Pine are volunteers, absolutely dedicated to the care and welfare of the animals who come to BPAS "for the REST of their lives". Black Pine is a 'retirement home' where animals aren't sold or traded; they don't breed animals or exploit them for commercial purposes. Nestled among acres of tall pine trees, it's the perfect setting for all these beautiful creatures. My personal 'favorite' (if I absolutely had to pick just 'one') is "Betsy", a tiny black bear who suffered at the hands of an atrocious practice called "bear baiting". Betsy was chained to a post so her owner could charge his hunting buddies to release their dogs and teach the dogs how to 'attack'. Defenseless, and unable to escape the torment, Betsy now suffers traumatic injuries: she's blind, crippled and endures permanent trauma from years of unspeakable abuse. Black Pine has been able to provide Betsy (and five other black bears) comfortable surroundings, appropriate medical care, and a healthy diet, so that she now enjoys an excellent quality of life. The staff, Board and volunteers at Black Pine live by one simple motto: "our animals come first". I implore you to plan a 'road trip' this summer to visit Black Pine; it's an experience you that will tug at your heartstrings, and make you appreciate the value and importance of exotic animals to our planet!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Quietly tucked away in a sleepy little town lies one of the best-kept secrets in northern Indiana. Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (BPAS) is home to about 90 exotic animals, all of whom have been abandoned, abused, mistreated, neglected or confiscated by authorities. From tiny little reptiles like Louie, the bearded dragon, to Mufasa, a handsome 562-lb. lion, BPAS is where these animals come "for the rest of their lives". The sanctuary is a 501c3 non-profit organization that does not trade, sell or breed any animals. Think of Black Pine as a 'retirement home' for these animals, none of whom can ever be returned to their wild, natural habitats, and none of them who would want to go back to the lives they endured before coming to BPAS. Albion, Indiana is a village of a few thousand citizens. Yet, this tiny community gives Black Pine its full, unwavering support and commitment. Without its many volunteers (many of whom live in or near Albion), the one full-time and two part-time paid staffers would never be able to continue in their mission, fully dedicated to the health and well-being of this band of unusual animals.
You'll meet 'Peaches', a cockatoo who has gained national notoriety for her 'colorful' vocabulary. Thanks to an enormously generous donor, Black Pine now houses six beautiful black bears, including little Betsy, who was once used as 'bait' in a 'bear baiting' arena that left her blind, crippled and in need of constant medical attention. Nala, a gorgeous 20-year-old African lioness, was a young cub in a private home before becoming Black Pine's first permanent big cat resident. Gus the gator started his life in a college dorm where students kept him in the dormitory's bathtub until Gus outgrew it, and had to be given new quarters at Black Pine. Chui and China were only a few weeks old when they came to Black Pine, victims of the multi-billion-dollar illegal exotic animal smuggling trade. You'll thrill to the spectacular sight of our nine - yes, nine! - tigers!
Situated on 18 acres of elegantly wooded property outside of town, BPAS has gradually, over the years, become recognized as a leader in the "business" of rescuing these exotic animals from the hands of neglectful 'pet' owners, or have suffered untold abuse at the hands of people putting profit before humane treatment of these creatures.
As a volunteer tour guide (and a member of the Board of Directors), I have come to appreciate BPAS as one of the leading exotic animal sanctuary in the United States. In fact, many experts in the field have told us that they consider Black Pine to be one of the very best sanctuaries in the country. This spring, or summer, take a leisurely drive to rural Noble County, Indiana and see for yourself what a learnign adventure your visit can be! Black Pine takes no government money or taxpayer dollars; it relies strictly on money from gate admissions, donations, and sales of items in our gift shop. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, the sanctuary is open to the public from 10-5 seven days a week. If you come up on any Sunday morning at 11 o'clock, I'll personally give you a guided tour and you can 'meet' our residents and hear their stories, some humorous, some interesting, some tragic.
For more information, visit www.blackpine.org.
We've had guests from almost every state in the Union, as well as England, China, Canada, New Zealand, and other parts of the world. Where ever you're from, please know that you're welcomed anytime (even during the winter by appointment). So, if you find yourself in northern Indiana with a little time to spare, be sure and visit Albion, Indiana and the Black Pine Animal Sanctuary. There's a quaint little bed-and-breakfast nearby, and many others things to do in the immediate area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

Professional Animal Retirement Center, d/b/a Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, takes in exotic animals that have been abandoned, confiscated, neglected, mistreated or abused. Our 85+ animals include lions, tigers, black bears, gray wolves, red foxes, primates, reptiles, exotic birds, 'pasture' animals (donkeys, llamas, pot-bellied pigs, etc.) and spotted leopards. Experts in the exotic animal field have told us we're one of only four or five such sanctuaries in the U.S.A. where they would even consider bringing an animal. With the exception of one full-time paid employee and two part-time employees, all others at the sanctuary are volunteers. I've volunteered as a tour guide for three years, and also serve on the fund-raising committee and the Board of Directors. As with many of our volunteers, this has become a 'passion' for me as we take these desperate animals in for the "rest" of their lives. We don't swap, sell, trade or breed animals; Black Pine is their 'retirement' home, and they're all well taken care of by our platoon of volunteer veterinarians. For more information, please visit our website: www.blackpine.org. Also, see the Fort Wayne (IN) Journal-Gazette's 'Metro' section of today's paper (10/16) for a front-page report on the two tigers that were just moved to Black Pine last Sunday (and two more are arriving next Sunday). We take no taxpayer dollars or government funds, relying strictly on volunteers, admissions, gift shop purchases and donations - large or small. Voted one of Indiana's top ten "summer gotta do" road trips, Black Pine is a stimulating, educational and inspiring experience for animal lovers of all ages. Come see us whenever you're in the northeastern Indiana area!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

Black Pine Animal Sanctuary in Albion, Indiana (www.blackpine.org) is an awesome 'retirement' home for exotic animals that have been abused, mistreated, neglected or abandoned. With one paid full-time employee and one part-time employee, there's still a desperate need to feed and house the 80+ animals that reside here. Tigers, lions, llamas, reptiles, chimpanzees and exotic birds all make up the population of this remarkable refuge, staffed primarily by dozens of volunteers dedicated to the care and protection of these animals. As a volunteer 'tour guide', I have told these animals' "stories" to countless visitors, all of whom walk away with a better understanding of the plight of these animals - and so many more like them around the nation. I urge you to consider gifting Black Pine with your $5000; it would be a worthwhile investment, just as my volunteerism has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life!! Thank you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...its obvious care and compassion of these animals. Black Pine has helped educate numerous visitors about why it's important to "respect all creatures, large and small". We teach young children about the need to preserve, protect and care for these species, many of whom are becoming extinct due to man's inhumanity toward them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd encourage the organization to do more 'outreach' programs to help attract visitors to the sanctuary and to educate the general public about the need for such facilities. We should be speaking to local service clubs, community organizations, schools and businesses about how they can participate in and contribute to this worthy, well-managed organization.

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

THree of us visited Black Pine for the first time last weekend. It was a very enriching and heartwarming experience. All the animals looked so well taken care of and "at peace". I can tell that this sanctuary is truly a positive place for these animals to live!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine is an excellent refuge for the animals they take in "for the rest of their lives"! The staff and volunteers are extremely dedicated and caring-it takes special people to give of themselves as they do every day of the year. I love visiting Black Pine and it is an exceptionally fun and learning experience! Please donate to this very worthy facility-your donation will be appreciated and used responsibly!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to Black Pines for the past few years. I LOVE visiting this incredible animal park and wish I lived closer so that I could join the amazing group of volunteers there. To realize that there are only 3 paid staff at this facility is mind boggling! The animals are cared for beautifully and loved unconditionally! I love hearing the stories about each animal and knowing that they have such a wonderful home for the "rest of their lives".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

LOVED my visit to Black Pine!! Everyone was super friendly and very informative. I believe in the job they are doing and definitely support them! I will be back and will refer friends and family to visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer