Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.901795
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

we take deer over to them when we can. recently i had the chance to talk with them. they took the time to explain the park and thier mission. i have never seen such passion to take care of the animals. each animal is treated as if it was a house pet. with that kind od love and compassion they can't be beat!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot say enough about the good works of Black Pine Animal Sanctuary. The staff and loyal volunteers are an amazing group of individuals.

My first interaction with BPAS was in the fall of 2012. I desperately needed to find a home for a domesticated fox who could no longer remain with
her owner. BPAS helped me through the process and eventually gave this little fox sanctuary within their facility. For this fox it was her last shot at a decent life. I will always be grateful for the kindness shown and the professional manner in which transitioning this fox to BPAS was conducted.

I continue to maintain close contact with Black Pine and follow them on Facebook and via their website. They are a fine organization in which I support every chance I get. They truly care about their animals. I will be making a sixteen hour trip this month to pay BPAS a visit. It will be worth every mile.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

WE Discovered Black Pine Two Years Ago WhenWeSawAn Advertisement ForTheir Halloween Event. WE HaveTaken OUr Grandchildren Nieces Nephews And Friends ForSeveral Visits Since Then. The Staff Are Kind CaRing And Knowledgeable. TheyShowDeep Affection ForTheAnimalsInTheirCare. WAreVeryFortunateToHaveThisOrganization In Our Community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

I have never worked with any not-for-profit organization that has been so focused on doing what is the best for the animals who need the help the most. It is sometimes easy to place domestic animals ... more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wnen I first started attending events at Black Pine I was amazed at how many volunteers dedicated hours every week to helping at Black Pine. As I heard the stories of why each animal was at Black Pine I had a whole new respect for all that has been accomplished there. Last year we were asked to take on a group of tigers that would have been hard to place and through the hard work and determination of many people and the financial support of so many people we were able to say yes to bringing all 4 tigers to Black Pine, so they can live out the rest of their lives surrounded by people that love and respect them. With the help of staff, volunteers and supporters we will be able to continue to help even more animals live out the rest of their lives in comfort. I am proud to say I am now a part of the Black Pine "family" and look forward to helping our close to 100 animals, birds and reptiles for the "rest of their lives".

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have never worked with any not-for-profit organization that has been so focused on doing what is the best for the animals who need the help the most. It is sometimes easy to place domestic animals with a loving family, but who can take care of the "exotics" with all their special needs? Black Pine is one organization that ALWAYS puts the best interest of the animals first and will go that extra mile to make sure these animals are well cared for, and most importantly, well loved for the rest of their lives. The community, the people, the volunteers and the very small staff work tirelessly 365 days per year to make sure these animals are well fed, comfortable and loved....and sometimes it is done on a shoestring and a prayer. I highly recommend Black Pine as an organization that is good for the soul and for the heart.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

Black Pine is such an inspiration on so many levels-from being a savior to animals in need of rescuing or needing a home, to being the "heart" of so many volunteers and neighbors. The organizations, staff and volunteers that keep Black Pine alive are truly amazing in how they can do so much with so little. It is obvious that the animals are well taken care of and truly loved which makes their final years comfortable and comforting. I highly recommend that everyone take just one trip to Black Pine Animal Sanctuary and I can guarantee you will be "hooked"....

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the building of the habitats and the efforts at fund raising so more animals can be rescued and taken care of throughout the rest of their lives

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the buildings and animal enclosures so we could take even more requests for help. It is unfortunate that we have to turn down animals due to lack of space/money.

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I gather meat that ny friends have that us getting old in their freezer and make a trip or two every year. I can't think of another facility like Black Pine close to my area. The service they provide is so needed, they help the animals and all the people that enjoy seeing happy animals. I think they are very creative in their fund raising, I attend ad many events as I can, and have introduced many of my friends to the Black Pine experience. I also donated to their silent auction, and will every year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit PARC, better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary on about a monthly basis for 3-4 years. As an animal lover and advocate, I am greatly appreciative of the fine wo... more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been visited Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, aka Professional Animal Retirement Center for 6-7 years and I've grown to love it more each year. The animals that call it home have come from a variety of situations, some deplorable and others from caring homes--they just didn't belong in homes because they ARE wild animals. The staff shares their stories, and their love and concern for these animals is obvious and contagious. I don't see how a visitor could leave the place without being touched and wanting to help in someway. The staff is mainly volunteer which says a lot about how important the mission of this sanctuary is. They work so hard to make this place not a good place, but a great place. BPAS rocks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit PARC, better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary on about a monthly basis for 3-4 years. As an animal lover and advocate, I am greatly appreciative of the fine work they do, caring for animals that needed a home for a variety of reasons. I think it is amazing all they accomplish when most of their staff are volunteer. I think it says a lot about an organization when it is able to draw so many volunteers to help--and help on a regular basis. That is a labor of love. BP also serves in educating their visitors to the plight of the individual animals and the animals they represent. I recommend Black Pine as a place to visit, enjoy, and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since I last wrote about PARC (better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary), much has happened. More animals are now in larger enclosures and more animals have moved to their new "forever" home. Instead of two black bears, there are now five and they will soon be moving into a new habitat constructed specifically for them. Additional residents are a female cougar, three wolves, and a marbled fox. The staff is still dedicated and work hard for the betterment of the residents. It is a MUST for any animal lover who is in the area. And there are now permanent bathrooms--the decor is another MUST see.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have had some wonderful experiences at what I refer to as Black Pine (Animal Sanctuary). I've visited it frequently in the last couple of years and am always excited when I turn down the last road and into the facility property. The animals are so special and interesting. Some are retired performers and others have been rescued from terrible situations. There are quite a variety of animals, some farm and some exotics. My favorites are the tigers and bears, but there are also lions, leopards, several species of primates, reptiles, various birds, etc. Some of the older ones (Mr. Bear, Isaac, Caesar, India, Cody, Coby) have died in the last few years and I miss them all, but new residents are added when space and finances allow. The staff are wonderful--only 2 are paid a salary and all the others are volunteers. They are so dedicated and willing to share their love and experiences with the animals. For anyone in Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio (& anyone visiting in the area), who loves animals and their welfare should plan a trip there. Their website is: http://www.blackpineanimalpark.com/

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to go behind the scenes and really being able to be closer to these amazing animals, than one typically finds in zoos.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourge marketing--I'm always finding people in the area who have never heard of it--but marketing costs money.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the closeness to the animals and hearing the tigers chuffing--the first time I heard one I was thrilled--and now I have heard them dozens of times.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

ARE dedicated and devoted to the animals.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

build larger enclosures for the animals that don't have them yet. Also a new sewer system is needed, and the ability to have more paid positions.

Ways to make it better...

it were closer to me--I have to drive an hour.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

money.

One thing I'd also say is that...

it is addictive--I am always ready to go back for a visit.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known about Black Pine for years. Yes they do a fantastic job and the animals are very well cared for. The staff is the best. But I wanted to say that because of the pure passion of each of the staff and Board members that is why it works so great. Each person has to have a passion to care for these wild creatures of the earth. It is not an easy job. The staff makes it look easy and no work to it but the daily cleaning and the daily feeding and the general care of each animal is something the general public does not see. They don't see how each volunteer and staff member thinks of things to enrich the animal's life on a daily basis. There's a lot behind the scenes that is not praised and known about and these people do a fantastic job. Thank you to all that make this happen. That includes the Board memebers , staff, and the donors and alas the visitors each year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Six years ago, my daughter volunteered at Black Pine. They were still in their old facility and operating on limited resources, but their caring and kindness toward the animals was very evident in everything they did.

Later, when they moved to the new, larger facility, things got even
better for the animals that they care for so much. These animals, each with a story that could break your heart, move to Black Pine, and they are loved and cared for for the rest of their lives. It's a wonderful thing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Wow, this place rocks. I have been helping out there for two years now. They take awesome care of the animals and provide careful training to all the volunteers to keep everyone safe and happy. I drive 75 miles one way to work all day for free and I am happy to do it because of the way the staff treats everyone. They stretch every dollar to the max while still making the sanctuary a beautiful place to visit and comfortable for the animals. This place far exceeds some of the zoos I have been to. I can't say enough good things about it, but I think you get the point by now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization. My family and I have visited Black Pine many times and donated as well. There mission is wonderful and to help animals is simply outstanding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer