Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.901795
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2012

I am a Homebound person who has knowledge of Black Pine only through the Internet and knowing Lori from outside contact. When she went to BPAS I became interested because I love cats, and have had on... more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am home bound I have followed the great work that BPAS is doing for animals on FB. Their exceptional care and support for their animals is evident in how the facility has grown and expanded to meet the needs of the animals that come to them. Whether it is a black bear coming from a concrete slab corn crib to a habitat where she can run and play and sleep in comfort on her own hammock or a pack of wolves reunited in their own habitat, or lions and tigers. It is amazing to watch, the community involvement, the volunteers hours, the staff creative innovations to raise awareness not only of BPAS needs but also the universal needs of the exotic animal trade, raising our awareness of abuse and need for legislation to be passed. With the use of social media and videos, we are kept very involved in their cause, forever homes for animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Homebound person who has knowledge of Black Pine only through the Internet and knowing Lori from outside contact. When she went to BPAS I became interested because I love cats, and have had one all my adult life as a pet. I have learned so much about "exotic pets" through Lori's postings and the BPAS's website and activity on Facebook. I then pass it on and share wtih my network as well. Lori and BPAS are truly making a difference in our neck of the woods!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

Quietly tucked away in a sleepy little town lies one of the best-kept secrets in northern Indiana. Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (BPAS) is home to about 90 exotic animals, all of whom have been abandone... more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Tucked away in the sleepy little town of Albion, Indiana lies one of Midwest America's best-kept secrets. The Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (BPAS) is a non-profit organization that remarkably cares for about 95 exotic animals that have been confiscated, abandoned, neglected, mistreated or abused. From South American macaws and cockatoos to reptiles, primates, llamas, bears, tigers and lions, BPAS operates on a "shoestring" budget with only one full-time paid employee and two part-time paid staffers. All the rest of the people you encounter at Black Pine are volunteers, absolutely dedicated to the care and welfare of the animals who come to BPAS "for the REST of their lives". Black Pine is a 'retirement home' where animals aren't sold or traded; they don't breed animals or exploit them for commercial purposes. Nestled among acres of tall pine trees, it's the perfect setting for all these beautiful creatures. My personal 'favorite' (if I absolutely had to pick just 'one') is "Betsy", a tiny black bear who suffered at the hands of an atrocious practice called "bear baiting". Betsy was chained to a post so her owner could charge his hunting buddies to release their dogs and teach the dogs how to 'attack'. Defenseless, and unable to escape the torment, Betsy now suffers traumatic injuries: she's blind, crippled and endures permanent trauma from years of unspeakable abuse. Black Pine has been able to provide Betsy (and five other black bears) comfortable surroundings, appropriate medical care, and a healthy diet, so that she now enjoys an excellent quality of life. The staff, Board and volunteers at Black Pine live by one simple motto: "our animals come first". I implore you to plan a 'road trip' this summer to visit Black Pine; it's an experience you that will tug at your heartstrings, and make you appreciate the value and importance of exotic animals to our planet!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Quietly tucked away in a sleepy little town lies one of the best-kept secrets in northern Indiana. Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (BPAS) is home to about 90 exotic animals, all of whom have been abandoned, abused, mistreated, neglected or confiscated by authorities. From tiny little reptiles like Louie, the bearded dragon, to Mufasa, a handsome 562-lb. lion, BPAS is where these animals come "for the rest of their lives". The sanctuary is a 501c3 non-profit organization that does not trade, sell or breed any animals. Think of Black Pine as a 'retirement home' for these animals, none of whom can ever be returned to their wild, natural habitats, and none of them who would want to go back to the lives they endured before coming to BPAS. Albion, Indiana is a village of a few thousand citizens. Yet, this tiny community gives Black Pine its full, unwavering support and commitment. Without its many volunteers (many of whom live in or near Albion), the one full-time and two part-time paid staffers would never be able to continue in their mission, fully dedicated to the health and well-being of this band of unusual animals.
You'll meet 'Peaches', a cockatoo who has gained national notoriety for her 'colorful' vocabulary. Thanks to an enormously generous donor, Black Pine now houses six beautiful black bears, including little Betsy, who was once used as 'bait' in a 'bear baiting' arena that left her blind, crippled and in need of constant medical attention. Nala, a gorgeous 20-year-old African lioness, was a young cub in a private home before becoming Black Pine's first permanent big cat resident. Gus the gator started his life in a college dorm where students kept him in the dormitory's bathtub until Gus outgrew it, and had to be given new quarters at Black Pine. Chui and China were only a few weeks old when they came to Black Pine, victims of the multi-billion-dollar illegal exotic animal smuggling trade. You'll thrill to the spectacular sight of our nine - yes, nine! - tigers!
Situated on 18 acres of elegantly wooded property outside of town, BPAS has gradually, over the years, become recognized as a leader in the "business" of rescuing these exotic animals from the hands of neglectful 'pet' owners, or have suffered untold abuse at the hands of people putting profit before humane treatment of these creatures.
As a volunteer tour guide (and a member of the Board of Directors), I have come to appreciate BPAS as one of the leading exotic animal sanctuary in the United States. In fact, many experts in the field have told us that they consider Black Pine to be one of the very best sanctuaries in the country. This spring, or summer, take a leisurely drive to rural Noble County, Indiana and see for yourself what a learnign adventure your visit can be! Black Pine takes no government money or taxpayer dollars; it relies strictly on money from gate admissions, donations, and sales of items in our gift shop. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, the sanctuary is open to the public from 10-5 seven days a week. If you come up on any Sunday morning at 11 o'clock, I'll personally give you a guided tour and you can 'meet' our residents and hear their stories, some humorous, some interesting, some tragic.
For more information, visit www.blackpine.org.
We've had guests from almost every state in the Union, as well as England, China, Canada, New Zealand, and other parts of the world. Where ever you're from, please know that you're welcomed anytime (even during the winter by appointment). So, if you find yourself in northern Indiana with a little time to spare, be sure and visit Albion, Indiana and the Black Pine Animal Sanctuary. There's a quaint little bed-and-breakfast nearby, and many others things to do in the immediate area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

Professional Animal Retirement Center, d/b/a Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, takes in exotic animals that have been abandoned, confiscated, neglected, mistreated or abused. Our 85+ animals include lions, tigers, black bears, gray wolves, red foxes, primates, reptiles, exotic birds, 'pasture' animals (donkeys, llamas, pot-bellied pigs, etc.) and spotted leopards. Experts in the exotic animal field have told us we're one of only four or five such sanctuaries in the U.S.A. where they would even consider bringing an animal. With the exception of one full-time paid employee and two part-time employees, all others at the sanctuary are volunteers. I've volunteered as a tour guide for three years, and also serve on the fund-raising committee and the Board of Directors. As with many of our volunteers, this has become a 'passion' for me as we take these desperate animals in for the "rest" of their lives. We don't swap, sell, trade or breed animals; Black Pine is their 'retirement' home, and they're all well taken care of by our platoon of volunteer veterinarians. For more information, please visit our website: www.blackpine.org. Also, see the Fort Wayne (IN) Journal-Gazette's 'Metro' section of today's paper (10/16) for a front-page report on the two tigers that were just moved to Black Pine last Sunday (and two more are arriving next Sunday). We take no taxpayer dollars or government funds, relying strictly on volunteers, admissions, gift shop purchases and donations - large or small. Voted one of Indiana's top ten "summer gotta do" road trips, Black Pine is a stimulating, educational and inspiring experience for animal lovers of all ages. Come see us whenever you're in the northeastern Indiana area!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

Black Pine Animal Sanctuary in Albion, Indiana (www.blackpine.org) is an awesome 'retirement' home for exotic animals that have been abused, mistreated, neglected or abandoned. With one paid full-time employee and one part-time employee, there's still a desperate need to feed and house the 80+ animals that reside here. Tigers, lions, llamas, reptiles, chimpanzees and exotic birds all make up the population of this remarkable refuge, staffed primarily by dozens of volunteers dedicated to the care and protection of these animals. As a volunteer 'tour guide', I have told these animals' "stories" to countless visitors, all of whom walk away with a better understanding of the plight of these animals - and so many more like them around the nation. I urge you to consider gifting Black Pine with your $5000; it would be a worthwhile investment, just as my volunteerism has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life!! Thank you!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...its obvious care and compassion of these animals. Black Pine has helped educate numerous visitors about why it's important to "respect all creatures, large and small". We teach young children about the need to preserve, protect and care for these species, many of whom are becoming extinct due to man's inhumanity toward them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd encourage the organization to do more 'outreach' programs to help attract visitors to the sanctuary and to educate the general public about the need for such facilities. We should be speaking to local service clubs, community organizations, schools and businesses about how they can participate in and contribute to this worthy, well-managed organization.

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

THree of us visited Black Pine for the first time last weekend. It was a very enriching and heartwarming experience. All the animals looked so well taken care of and "at peace". I can tell that this sanctuary is truly a positive place for these animals to live!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine is an excellent refuge for the animals they take in "for the rest of their lives"! The staff and volunteers are extremely dedicated and caring-it takes special people to give of themselves as they do every day of the year. I love visiting Black Pine and it is an exceptionally fun and learning experience! Please donate to this very worthy facility-your donation will be appreciated and used responsibly!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor to Black Pines for the past few years. I LOVE visiting this incredible animal park and wish I lived closer so that I could join the amazing group of volunteers there. To realize that there are only 3 paid staff at this facility is mind boggling! The animals are cared for beautifully and loved unconditionally! I love hearing the stories about each animal and knowing that they have such a wonderful home for the "rest of their lives".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

LOVED my visit to Black Pine!! Everyone was super friendly and very informative. I believe in the job they are doing and definitely support them! I will be back and will refer friends and family to visit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When you arrive at Black Pine and walk through the gates you can feel the caring and love for the animals. It truly is a sanctaury. There is an air of peace there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine is an exceptional exotic animal "rest home" and very different from other places you may have stopped. This dedicated staff build shelters as needy animals request a home. Located in a gorgeous pine woods, you'll find a group that really knows how to stretch a dollar and market their location with out of the box techniques. Definitely worth a stop when you are in the area!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Several years ago I did a search for a big cat sanctuary near enough to visit and came across Black Pine. It's a 3 1/2 hour drive and well worth it! The staff are well versed in the life histories of the animals, and have a real passion for taking the best care of each animal in their care. The number and variety of animals there has grown as well as the facility in the years I have been a visitor, but it's still the big cats I enjoy the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Black Pine Animal Sanctuary adopted our red-footed tortoise, "Footloose".
We loved him dearly, but he outgrew his enclosure and we knew for him to be happy, he needed a lot more room. In the summer he would stroll around a large deck where we gave him free reign, but in the winter, the big
wading pool we had for him just wasn't big enough. I know this may sound a little strange for a tortoise, but Footloose loves people.... When we came near him, he would bob his head showing he was glad to see us. At Black Pine, Footloose has interaction with kids through their education sessions. He is so happy and has grown much bigger in his large enclosure.
We will always be grateful to the wonderful folks at Black Pine for giving Footloose not only a great home, but also a "job" that he loves!
Black Pine puts the animals they care for first.. Folks get to enjoy them, but their well-being supersedes all else. We are so proud and happy that our little buddy is in their capable hands! It's no wonder Black Pine has been awarded "Top-Rated Charity for two years running. Let's help them make it three!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer