Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.866145
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

This place is scamming the public for tens of thousands of dollars to rescue animals from who? Private owners,
Think about this for one minute please, are they not a private owner who started out with one cat and found that being non profit is a way for you to fund their hobby? And they want to
take your pets away but they can keep theirs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

I am extremely disappointed in Black Pine Animal Sanctuary-The mission stated here has changed to suit the need to find new donations from Animal Rights Extremists-They encourage boycotts and bans on animal ownership now-This is a political agenda.
They themselves rather hypocritical by having
tours and allowing people to roam the facility-This is considered 'exploitation of animals' yet state they are against anyone else doing the same.
Apparently, it's now all about the money and not the animal at this facility-Extremely disappointed. I give it -0- stars but required to give it a rating and the only reason I gave it -1- star.
Attacking others on FB does nothing to help a single animal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change their political policy and if they want to be considered a bonified 'sanctuary' and against showing of animals, it needs to be a closed facility.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


4 previous reviews - show all
April 5, 2013

I've been visited Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, aka Professional Animal Retirement Center for 6-7 years and I've grown to love it more each year. The animals that call it home have come from a variety... more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I visit Black Pine Animal Sanctuary (current name) about once a month during their open season. I always look forward to seeing the animals having "known" some of them for 5 years of visits. New animal residents are always exciting to meet. It is wonderful to see a sanctuary where the animals come first--because it is THEIR forever home. I thoroughly recommend it as a place to visit for anyone who loves and respects animals. It is also a place that one feels good about helping with donations. Donations is how they survive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been visited Black Pine Animal Sanctuary, aka Professional Animal Retirement Center for 6-7 years and I've grown to love it more each year. The animals that call it home have come from a variety of situations, some deplorable and others from caring homes--they just didn't belong in homes because they ARE wild animals. The staff shares their stories, and their love and concern for these animals is obvious and contagious. I don't see how a visitor could leave the place without being touched and wanting to help in someway. The staff is mainly volunteer which says a lot about how important the mission of this sanctuary is. They work so hard to make this place not a good place, but a great place. BPAS rocks!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

I have had the opportunity to visit PARC, better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary on about a monthly basis for 3-4 years. As an animal lover and advocate, I am greatly appreciative of the fine work they do, caring for animals that needed a home for a variety of reasons. I think it is amazing all they accomplish when most of their staff are volunteer. I think it says a lot about an organization when it is able to draw so many volunteers to help--and help on a regular basis. That is a labor of love. BP also serves in educating their visitors to the plight of the individual animals and the animals they represent. I recommend Black Pine as a place to visit, enjoy, and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since I last wrote about PARC (better known as Black Pine Animal Sanctuary), much has happened. More animals are now in larger enclosures and more animals have moved to their new "forever" home. Instead of two black bears, there are now five and they will soon be moving into a new habitat constructed specifically for them. Additional residents are a female cougar, three wolves, and a marbled fox. The staff is still dedicated and work hard for the betterment of the residents. It is a MUST for any animal lover who is in the area. And there are now permanent bathrooms--the decor is another MUST see.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I have had some wonderful experiences at what I refer to as Black Pine (Animal Sanctuary). I've visited it frequently in the last couple of years and am always excited when I turn down the last road and into the facility property. The animals are so special and interesting. Some are retired performers and others have been rescued from terrible situations. There are quite a variety of animals, some farm and some exotics. My favorites are the tigers and bears, but there are also lions, leopards, several species of primates, reptiles, various birds, etc. Some of the older ones (Mr. Bear, Isaac, Caesar, India, Cody, Coby) have died in the last few years and I miss them all, but new residents are added when space and finances allow. The staff are wonderful--only 2 are paid a salary and all the others are volunteers. They are so dedicated and willing to share their love and experiences with the animals. For anyone in Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio (& anyone visiting in the area), who loves animals and their welfare should plan a trip there. Their website is: http://www.blackpineanimalpark.com/

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able to go behind the scenes and really being able to be closer to these amazing animals, than one typically finds in zoos.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourge marketing--I'm always finding people in the area who have never heard of it--but marketing costs money.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the closeness to the animals and hearing the tigers chuffing--the first time I heard one I was thrilled--and now I have heard them dozens of times.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

ARE dedicated and devoted to the animals.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

build larger enclosures for the animals that don't have them yet. Also a new sewer system is needed, and the ability to have more paid positions.

Ways to make it better...

it were closer to me--I have to drive an hour.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

money.

One thing I'd also say is that...

it is addictive--I am always ready to go back for a visit.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been to Black Pine many times, taking my camera with me. Every time I share my pictures, more and more of my friends become enamored with Black Pine Animal Sanctuary.
This year, my sister and I took my daughter, my grandson and his friend to this wonderful place. I was a little worried
that the boys (ages 13 and 12) would be bored, but the were not! We went for a general visit and they both want to go back for a tour so they can learn more about the beautiful animals that call Black Pine their forever home. None of these animals came from very good places in their past and it is just a joy to see them relaxed and contented in a sanctuary that caters to their needs, not to the public's needs.
During this summer break from school, my sister plans to take my other grandchildren during the week for a tour. I would like my son and his wife to also be able to go. My son loves wolves and Black Pine has a wonderful pack.
If you are in the Northern Indiana area, it is worth a trip to see the magnificent animals that live their lives here, in safety and grace

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so they would be able to rescue even more exotic pets. There are so many animals that would benefit from having these loving and caring people as their forever family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I just took my girls to the Black Pine Animal Sanctuary and we left with huge smiles. This place is awesome. The animals are wild and beautiful and it's a much more intimate view of animals vs. going to a zoo. I have such admiration for the people for work and volunteer there and place like it. We also visited the gift shop which had the cutest items to choose from for reasonable prices. This year we decided to visit Black Pine instead of renewing a zoo membership and we are SO glad we did. We'll be visiting Black Pine from now on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This will be out 3rd year visiting this great place. My grandson knew a lot of the animals names at 3 yrs old. It's much more up close and personal than a regular zoo. The staff is great. We love visiting every year. It's our "birthday trip" this yr. What a great service all of you provide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

today was the first time there . we took r granddaughter . the staff was so helpful , my heart was heavy when we left . how sad that animals never new that mankind could love them see the beauty in them . my granddaughter said granny there home now and they have the staff to love them along with all the people that take time to come see them

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i would love to see a fun raiser

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Living only 20 minutes away, I had no idea what a treasure we had so close...After my first encounter and tour I have now volunteered and hope people will get on board. For me it was almost a spiritual experience... and hearing the heartbreaking stories of these animals...makes me want to do more... the staff is wonderfully supportive and dedicated to these animals...it is not a ZOO...these lucky souls can live out the rest of their life feeling loved and cared for...after being abused and used...hope we can show them that not all humans are barbarians... Can't wait to work with the staff and help make a difference... GREAT PLACE...please go and see for yourself... We need more places like that!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that they could get better funding and support through the county and city...!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Great place. Obviously the staff and volunteers care for the basic needs of the animals, but what is fascinating is how the organization goes above and beyond meeting basic needs. They find ways to give quality life to animals that have lived most of their lives in a cage performing for human entertainment.

Beyond the needs of the animals, the addition of Black Pine has been a huge benefit to a small town. In some ways, it has put Albion on the map!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 8, 2013

Although I am home bound I have followed the great work that BPAS is doing for animals on FB. Their exceptional care and support for their animals is evident in how the facility has grown and expande... more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have followed the awesome work of the staff and volunteers at BPAS for the last several years. First learning about it when Lori Gagen accepted her job there and being curious about what had taken her from her current job and her passion about the animals. Being an animal lover myself and a lifelong cat owner, it was only natural I would follow the BPAS story.

Not being able to visit BPAS since I am home bound at this time, I have so enjoyed the fantastic way the public is kept updated with social media. From the move to the addition of animals, building of new habitats, various illnesses, some deaths, more animals, special programs, tours and so much more. The public is part of BPAS story, the community is involved, even though I am not there, the names the organizations frequently are local, the vet, the construction crews, the winery for the night fund raiser. It is a passion for all, to give the animals the best forever home they can. The friends I have sent rave about the facility, and the fantastic experience their children had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Although I am home bound I have followed the great work that BPAS is doing for animals on FB. Their exceptional care and support for their animals is evident in how the facility has grown and expanded to meet the needs of the animals that come to them. Whether it is a black bear coming from a concrete slab corn crib to a habitat where she can run and play and sleep in comfort on her own hammock or a pack of wolves reunited in their own habitat, or lions and tigers. It is amazing to watch, the community involvement, the volunteers hours, the staff creative innovations to raise awareness not only of BPAS needs but also the universal needs of the exotic animal trade, raising our awareness of abuse and need for legislation to be passed. With the use of social media and videos, we are kept very involved in their cause, forever homes for animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a Homebound person who has knowledge of Black Pine only through the Internet and knowing Lori from outside contact. When she went to BPAS I became interested because I love cats, and have had one all my adult life as a pet. I have learned so much about "exotic pets" through Lori's postings and the BPAS's website and activity on Facebook. I then pass it on and share wtih my network as well. Lori and BPAS are truly making a difference in our neck of the woods!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with groundskeeping, preparing animal diets, housekeeping, maintenance projects, fundraising and awareness projects. Volunteer