Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.725495
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have been a donor for over 10 years. I have seen the effectiveness of microfinancing and the professionalism of this organization. An excellent way of fighting poverty in these countries is to empower the people to create their own businesses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I am a donor and former volunteer. I have given a huge amount of my time to this organization because of its vision, mission and execution. Not only has Pro Mujer helped over a million women and their families to find dignity through being able to build a livelihood but they always share their learnings and have been a role model for other NGOs throughout the world. Microfinance, Health services, Training all done at a local level by dedicated and fantastic staff is a winning model to change the face of poverty for this generation and the next.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I am a current donor and former board member of Pro Mujer. I am also an industry expert, and served for over 13 years as director of an association of microfinance organizations. I became committed to Pro Mujer because the organization's focus on poverty alleviation through its focus on women is compelling. It has never lost sight of that goal in the pursuit of profit, and it has conscientiously worked to track its performance and increase its effectiveness year after year. The staff are committed, the board provides strong oversight and expertise to the institution, and its founders remain keepers of the vision for all engaged in the endeavor. I have heard its clients speak eloquently of the profound transformative effects that they've experienced through their participation in the program, and I've seen the economic effects in their households.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

We are priviliged to support the mission and commitment of Pro Mujer to the women of Latin America. Our small loan gives us an opportunity to be a part of an organization that believes in women and helps them to be successful entrpreneurs, break down barriers and become self-sustaining.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I have watched the influence of Pro Mujer grow substantially over the years. I have visited all the countries where they are based and recognize how vitally important their work is. In addition to the modest loans they make to individual women they go the extra mile, offering classes in health care, internet access, child care, and business. Their work has transformed lives and will continue to bless each generation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Pro Mujer is a great organization that really empowers women. I really hope they get bigger and expand to more countries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

PRomujer is an example of hard working and passionate people that not only offers credit to women they offer the opportunity to be someone and empower themselves through development and friendship. I love the way they work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Almost 20 years ago, well maybe longer now, I was asked to help move incorporation papers through the process for Pro Mujer. I was happy to do this as it seemed like a worthwhile endeavor. Then I visited Bolivia to see the program myself and was hooked! My first visit to the Friday meetings for the communal banks made me fall in love with these women..... many of whom had walked many many miles to get to the center in El Alto. I learned on that first visit why people worship the sun.... you will do almost anything to find that little sliver of sun to stand in for a few minutes 'cause it's cold and windy most of the time. The women were greeted to the smell of someone baking hot rolls and making hot beverages..... for many of them it would be one of their two meals that day.... which they consumed with gusto and smiles. Then the banking activity began.... the women had formed and named their banks, each having I believe 5 or 6 women each. They sat around tables carefully counting out what they would be required to payback as a portion of their loans and what they were required to save. I was fascinated with their hands.....turned deep brown by the sun, rough and often gnarled....even the young women. I discovered later that many who looked in their 60s were in their 30s or 40s.... or younger. These women were not numerate nor literate, but really smart and eventually were using calculators and took leadership positions in the group. They supported one another in so many ways and not the least being they had to kick in any money owed by a member who was not there that day.... a good incentive to make it each week and this incredible community developed. Once in awhile a husband or partner would appear to pay the client's share if they couldn't be there. Then the training in empowerment began, how to be and stay healthy and how to get your children an education, etc. The trainers were wonderful and it was a joy to watch. At the end of the day there was music and a little dancing.... Pro Mujer is now in a total of 5 countries and the success of the women and their families is fully documented. Over the years it's been wonderful to learn from these women (and their children) how much Pro Mujer changed their lives. Supporting this organization is one of the activities that reminds me how much good and kindness and generosity there is in the world. Jeanniemack

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Pro Mujer is an organization that gives women pride in being who they are. Through small loans, primary health care and various forms of education including empowerment, Pro Mujer clients are lifted from poverty and become productive members of society. What is most important, is that by doing so, the cycle of poverty is broken for the next generation. I have been a proud donor to this organization for almost 10 years and have witnessed first hand how my investments are being used.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

changing women's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

grow, grow, grow!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

This is the most fantastic organization in which i have ever been involved.

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

I AM IN CHARGE OF MY FAMILY'S CHARITABLE FOUNDATION.I HAVE SPENT A GREAT DEAL OF MY TIME SEARCHING FOR THE BEST CHARITIES TO DONATE TO. PRO MUJER IS OUR #1 CHARITY. BASED ON THE QUALITY OF THEIR ORGANIZATIONAL STAFF,EFFECTIVENESS OF THEIR SUCCESSFUL PROGRAMS AND OPEN TRANSPARENCY OF THEIR OPERATION. I HAVE PERSONALLY VISITED A NUMBER OF THIER LOCATIONS IN MEXICO, PERU AND NICARAGUA AND WAS VERY POSITIVELY IMPRESSED.I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND PRO MUJER TO BE CHOSEN FOR THE AWARD. THE MORE YOU WILL LOOK INTO PRO MUJER THE MORE YOU TOO WILL BE IMPRESSED. THANK YOU....STANLEY EISENBERG

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers