Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.725495
Write A Review
June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

PRomujer is an example of hard working and passionate people that not only offers credit to women they offer the opportunity to be someone and empower themselves through development and friendship. I love the way they work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Pro Mujer is empowering incredibly poor women throughout Latin America to change their own lives. Their children will live better, healthier, more financially secure lives thanks to Pro Mujer's winning combination of small loans, health care, and training.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I first experienced working with ProMujer in 2007 when I founded a microfinance service trip to Bolivia through my university, Boston College. Through the partnership with Foundations for Sustainable Development, a group of us spent a week with ProMujer in Cochabamba, Bolivia interacting with clients at various local branches. After seeing the impact of ProMujer on its clients and the empowerment it gives women, my disposition of microfinance as a viable means for a family's sustainability strengthened. Starting in 2008, I partook in ProMujer's junior committee for 2 and a half years, mainly in the fundraising area. I highly recommend ProMujer as one of the top great nonprofits for all their efforts to help women support themselves and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

My dream job is to work for Pro Mujer! The work they do is so important and so necessary. Their programs are amazing and you can tell that their leadership is passionate about their mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Pro Mujer is a smart and effective solution that provides women with the necessary resources to achieve their full potential. The unique Pro Mujer model that combines credit, business training, and healthcare gives women the opportunities necessary to succeed and empower themselves. By further growing its operations, the organization will have a lasting impact on society globally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Pro Mujer has made great strides among women in Latin America--helping them help themselves. The organization not only provides credit opportunities, but also the capacity and self confidence support essential for responsible assistance. These women, through Pro Mujer, have improved the livelihoods of families across the region. Now, Pro Mujer is poised to expand operations, apply a proven model, and achieve high level social and financial performance in new countries. I do not doubt their future success.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The entire Pro Mujer organization - Board and staff - are commited to working together to help women become agents of change at home and in their communities. We use a multidimensional approach providing clients with small loans, business and empowerment training, and low cost primary health care. We hold ourselves to a very high standard, and believe that we are one of the most efficient and impactful organization in addressing the problems of women living in extreme poverty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Almost 20 years ago, well maybe longer now, I was asked to help move incorporation papers through the process for Pro Mujer. I was happy to do this as it seemed like a worthwhile endeavor. Then I visited Bolivia to see the program myself and was hooked! My first visit to the Friday meetings for the communal banks made me fall in love with these women..... many of whom had walked many many miles to get to the center in El Alto. I learned on that first visit why people worship the sun.... you will do almost anything to find that little sliver of sun to stand in for a few minutes 'cause it's cold and windy most of the time. The women were greeted to the smell of someone baking hot rolls and making hot beverages..... for many of them it would be one of their two meals that day.... which they consumed with gusto and smiles. Then the banking activity began.... the women had formed and named their banks, each having I believe 5 or 6 women each. They sat around tables carefully counting out what they would be required to payback as a portion of their loans and what they were required to save. I was fascinated with their hands.....turned deep brown by the sun, rough and often gnarled....even the young women. I discovered later that many who looked in their 60s were in their 30s or 40s.... or younger. These women were not numerate nor literate, but really smart and eventually were using calculators and took leadership positions in the group. They supported one another in so many ways and not the least being they had to kick in any money owed by a member who was not there that day.... a good incentive to make it each week and this incredible community developed. Once in awhile a husband or partner would appear to pay the client's share if they couldn't be there. Then the training in empowerment began, how to be and stay healthy and how to get your children an education, etc. The trainers were wonderful and it was a joy to watch. At the end of the day there was music and a little dancing.... Pro Mujer is now in a total of 5 countries and the success of the women and their families is fully documented. Over the years it's been wonderful to learn from these women (and their children) how much Pro Mujer changed their lives. Supporting this organization is one of the activities that reminds me how much good and kindness and generosity there is in the world. Jeanniemack

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Pro Mujer is a great organization making a big impact in Latin America. Combining Microfinance, health services and business education is an innovative model and demonstrates that an integrative approach is the key to success. Their leadership and staff is deeply committed to empowering Latin American Women.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

The great job that Pro Mujer is doing in Latin America is really amazing. You can only see in the faces of the women (and families) the happiness and hopeful possibility to grow up after the contact with the Institution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers