Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 6, 2014

more

February 6, 2014

What a wonderful sanctuary! The love and dedication of all who work and volunteer there is apparent- the chimpanzees and monkeys all have beautiful habitats with tons of enrichment, good nutrition, and all look happy and healthy. Love PRC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes necessary!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be able to visit this primate sanctuary during the recent NAPSA workshop and was absolutely blown away. The habitats for the monkeys and chimpanzees were so clean and FULL of enrichment items. The staff truly loves and cares for all the primates there and it was evident. I feel so lucky to have been able to see such a beautiful place, but the faces on the monkeys and chimps were the best- happy, confident, and loved. A big thank you to Primate Rescue Center for stepping in and helping these unwanted exotic pets and used biomedical subjects and to be a place of healing and hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

As a management consultant with experience and expertise with non-profit organizations, I have been extremely impressed with all aspects of the Primate Rescue Center. A facility and organization of this size requires sound operational practices ranging from care and feeding, maintainance, financial management, project management, fundraising and staff/volunteer management. The operations and leadership at the Primate Rescue Center are top notch and highly efficient. What's more impressive still is how these strong practices are just the starting point for the dedication and commitment shown by April Truitt and her staff to the animals in there care and the advocacy of animal rights across the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I had the honor of meeting April Truitt, founder and director of Primate Rescue Center when she contacted me about providing sanctuary for 5 chimpanzees she was instrumental in rescuing. I reluctantly agreed to meet her at a facility where they were being temporarily housed. Although, emotionally wrapped up in their heartbreaking story - I did not feel I had the experience or facility to house these very, very strong animals. I said to her, it only makes sense that since you were the one to give them their freedom from the terrible conditions in which you found them - that YOU should take them. Long story short, she did just that and did a bang up job with their care. I went to visit the facility after the chimps were settled into Primate Rescue Center and I was blown away by the professional housing and the equally professional staff and volunteers dedicated to the care of these and other primates. Ms Truitt also does her part in trying to stem the flow of the exotic pet trade - as if she doesn't have enough to do with the center. Kudos to all she does for our furry relatives. Cindy Carroccio, founder - Austin Zoo and Sanctuary

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

March 12, 2011

more

March 12, 2011

Ten years ago I began volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center (PRC) while attending college in Lexington, KY. As a volunteer I cleaned enclosures, chopped fruits and vegetable and made toys for the dozens of monkeys and 11 chimpanzees calling the PRC home. Although the animals at the PRC come from different backgrounds, they all have one thing in common -- though in the past they have suffered much at the hands of humans, they now lead happy and healthy lives thanks to the dedicated people at the PRC.
Not only has the PRC had such a positive effect on the lives of countless animals, it has also had a huge impact on the people who are fortunate enough to spend time there. My favorite part of volunteering was watching the animals, and my fascination with their behavior quickly turned to a career. I earned a PhD in psychology and my area of research is primate cognition -- how monkeys and apes think and learn. As an expert in primate behavior I can truly say that the care the animals receive at the primate rescue center is second to none.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My volunteer work here changed my life-- I became so fascinated with primate behavior that I pursued a PhD and study primate cognition. Not only has it changed my life, but it has changed the lives of countless animals who owe their lives and sanity to the PRC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As with just about any nonprofit, they could use more funding--the PRC staff makes amazing things happen with limited funds, but could do even more to help animals if they had more money.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Start a "Pennies 4 Primates" drive at your local school or organization; Create yummy enrichment treats from our Primate Cookbook; write a letter to the editor or op-ed article decrying the use and abuse of exotic animals as "pets." Volunteer