Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center for two years now and hope to be able to continue for years to come. I've fallen in love with the chimps and monkeys and all of their unique perso... more

September 25, 2014

I have volunteered with the Primate Rescue Center for several years, both on-site and off, and I can't say enough about the great facilities and the care the primates get. The primates and staff are hands down some of my favorite beings on the planet. The work they are doing here is important and amazing and I'm proud to support them.
November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center for two years now and hope to be able to continue for years to come. I've fallen in love with the chimps and monkeys and all of their unique personalities. Knowing them personally makes it even more rewarding that I may play at least a small role in improving their lives. It is a honor to work with such a dedicated care staff. They go above and beyond to enrich the lives and health of all those in their care. Their respect and love for the primates can be seen in everything they do for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Outstanding non-profit for which I proudly volunteer. There is a shared kindred spirit and devotion to the daily care of animals that desperately needed rescued and desperately needed a home. This organization is also eager to educate the community so everyone can make a difference in primate lives.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

When I retired from another nonprofit, the Primate Rescue Center was where I chose to volunteer. I have been volunteering now for almost 2 years, once a week. This center is a wonderful place to be ! The folks at the Center have their priorities in order with the care of the primates being the number one duty of everyone, staff and volunteer. They are very caring with the volunteers as well as the animals, training volunteers for all duties needed. I have always had a love for primates and have learned so much from observing them! I feel fortunate to have this opportunity right in my back yard !
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The Primate Rescue Center is a wonderful place. I have been volunteering there once a week for
almost eight years. The care staff there are exceptional. The Primates get the best of care. It is a beautiful place for the Primates to live the rest of their life out. I have learned so much from
volunteering there. The care staff has so much passion for helping the primates. I truly love everything about the PRC and feel I am so fortunate to be a part of it. Thanks so much to the PRC for giving the Primates a good and happy life. Its sad to think of where they would be if not for the PRC.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

My experience at the PRC as a summer intern was unforgettable. Not only did I expand my knowledge of husbandry care activities, but I was also able to get creative and learn how to enrich the animals in new and exciting ways. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity I received this summer to work with not only great animals but a wonderful staff as well! The caregivers and volunteers assisted me in the personal growth that I have experienced this summer. I loved learning how to properly interact with apes versus monkeys as these skills will surely be of use in my future. The PRC residents receive the utmost care from the staff and are surrounded by a stimulating environment. I am sincerely glad to say that I interned at the PRC this summer as it is a truly wonderful place! :)
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

The PRC is truly a one-of-a-kind place. I feel very fortunate to have spent the summer here as an intern. The care for the animals is above and beyond exceptional, and the staff and volunteers are all extremely kind and welcoming. For me, not only did I feel like I was helping out animals in need, but also I learned a great deal as well. I got to see first hand the interactions of many chimpanzees with one another in a group dynamic, as well as dominance and display behaviors, lip smacking in monkeys, and even a routine vasectomy performed (by a veterinarian) on one of the newest members. Overall I consider my time there a blessing, and would rate the Rescue Center and its members as a top-notch organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

By far one of the best opportunities to volunteer I have ever experienced. Participating in such a noble pursuit of work had profound impacts on my life. I cannot thank the staff enough for their dedication, willingness to share their knowledge and their commitment to the welfare of the animals they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I Do A Lot Of Volunteering For A Lot Of Organizations. I Have Never Encountered An Executive Staff Before That Eats, Lives & Breathes Their Organization (And The Support Of Others That do Similar Work) Like ThIs One Does. Total Dedication Is An Understatement! They Are Even Mindful Of Human Impact On Their Residents So Much That They Only Open Their Doors Once A Year For A Private, Invitation-Only Fundraiser In Order To minimalize Stress On Their Primates. This Facility, Like No Other That I Have Ever Encountered (Human Or Animal Oriented), Puts The Health, Comfort, Well-Being And Happiness Of Souls Under Their Care Above All Else. April Is Sooooo Dedicated That She Even Networks With Other Primate Facilities To Find Homes For Abused Or Neglected Primates Across The Nation. She Is An Advocate For Primates 24/7/365. She Is Dedicated Not Only To The Animals ThemSelves But To The Education Of The Public That Primates Are Not Domesticated Pets In An Effort To Prevent Future Need For Rescue. This Facility Is Ever Mindful Of The Safety Of Their PrIMates And Staff. Preservation Of Quality Of Life Is A Definite Priority Here. I Can't Say Enough About The Quality Of This Facility!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge All Of The Living Habitats To Encompass The Trees So The Smaller Primates Would Live In A More Natural Habitat & Roam Freely Through The Trees. I Would Provide A Steady Steam Of Mega Funding To Take The Stress Off April So She Could Take A Breather.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2013

more

January 12, 2013

I was a summer Primate Husbandy intern at the PRC in 2010. I spent that summer working with the PRC staff and getting to be a part of their daily efforts to provide a loving, fulfilling home to these rescued primates. The reality for primates in America right now is that we need more places like the PRC for them to go in peace in a respectful loving environment where they are encouraged to live their days socially and happily. I am thankful that we have places like the PRC to set the standard and give fellow sanctuaries something to strive for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had both employed and volunteer working experience at the Primate Rescue Center over the past 5 years and I gave absolutely nothing negative to say. I am never surprised when I visit the center year after year for the Open House in May in terms of the friendliness of the staff and most importantly, the care that is given to the residents at the PRC. Each animal is extremely well cared for and given the enrichment he or she deserves. Many of the residents came from horrid living situations before joining the PRC crew and while it is impossible to reserve the damage done to them in their past, it is obvious that the primates know they have a bright future at the PRC. I know without a doubt that the staff at the PRC takes into consideration EVERY detail necessary to maintain such an upstanding and recognized facility and I'm certain that will remain the truth for many, many years to come! Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

...enable you to start a "Pennies 4 Primates" drive at your local school or organization, or you could bake enrichment treats from our Primate Cookbook, and then write a letter to the editor decrying the use and abuse of exotic animals as "pets." Volunteer