Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

The PRC is truly a one-of-a-kind place. I feel very fortunate to have spent the summer here as an intern. The care for the animals is above and beyond exceptional, and the staff and volunteers are all extremely kind and welcoming. For me, not only did I feel like I was helping out animals in need, but also I learned a great deal as well. I got to see first hand the interactions of many chimpanzees with one another in a group dynamic, as well as dominance and display behaviors, lip smacking in monkeys, and even a routine vasectomy performed (by a veterinarian) on one of the newest members. Overall I consider my time there a blessing, and would rate the Rescue Center and its members as a top-notch organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

By far one of the best opportunities to volunteer I have ever experienced. Participating in such a noble pursuit of work had profound impacts on my life. I cannot thank the staff enough for their dedication, willingness to share their knowledge and their commitment to the welfare of the animals they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I Do A Lot Of Volunteering For A Lot Of Organizations. I Have Never Encountered An Executive Staff Before That Eats, Lives & Breathes Their Organization (And The Support Of Others That do Similar Work) Like ThIs One Does. Total Dedication Is An Understatement! They Are Even Mindful Of Human Impact On Their Residents So Much That They Only Open Their Doors Once A Year For A Private, Invitation-Only Fundraiser In Order To minimalize Stress On Their Primates. This Facility, Like No Other That I Have Ever Encountered (Human Or Animal Oriented), Puts The Health, Comfort, Well-Being And Happiness Of Souls Under Their Care Above All Else. April Is Sooooo Dedicated That She Even Networks With Other Primate Facilities To Find Homes For Abused Or Neglected Primates Across The Nation. She Is An Advocate For Primates 24/7/365. She Is Dedicated Not Only To The Animals ThemSelves But To The Education Of The Public That Primates Are Not Domesticated Pets In An Effort To Prevent Future Need For Rescue. This Facility Is Ever Mindful Of The Safety Of Their PrIMates And Staff. Preservation Of Quality Of Life Is A Definite Priority Here. I Can't Say Enough About The Quality Of This Facility!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge All Of The Living Habitats To Encompass The Trees So The Smaller Primates Would Live In A More Natural Habitat & Roam Freely Through The Trees. I Would Provide A Steady Steam Of Mega Funding To Take The Stress Off April So She Could Take A Breather.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2013

more

January 12, 2013

I was a summer Primate Husbandy intern at the PRC in 2010. I spent that summer working with the PRC staff and getting to be a part of their daily efforts to provide a loving, fulfilling home to these rescued primates. The reality for primates in America right now is that we need more places like the PRC for them to go in peace in a respectful loving environment where they are encouraged to live their days socially and happily. I am thankful that we have places like the PRC to set the standard and give fellow sanctuaries something to strive for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center for two years now and hope to be able to continue for years to come. I've fallen in love with the chimps and monkeys and all of their unique personalities. Knowing them personally makes it even more rewarding that I may play at least a small role in improving their lives. It is a honor to work with such a dedicated care staff. They go above and beyond to enrich the lives and health of all those in their care. Their respect and love for the primates can be seen in everything they do for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had both employed and volunteer working experience at the Primate Rescue Center over the past 5 years and I gave absolutely nothing negative to say. I am never surprised when I visit the center year after year for the Open House in May in terms of the friendliness of the staff and most importantly, the care that is given to the residents at the PRC. Each animal is extremely well cared for and given the enrichment he or she deserves. Many of the residents came from horrid living situations before joining the PRC crew and while it is impossible to reserve the damage done to them in their past, it is obvious that the primates know they have a bright future at the PRC. I know without a doubt that the staff at the PRC takes into consideration EVERY detail necessary to maintain such an upstanding and recognized facility and I'm certain that will remain the truth for many, many years to come! Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The dedication of the staff and volunteers at the Primate Rescue Center is truly inspiring. The primates who are fortunate enough to reside in this sanctuary receive the best possible enrichment, diet, veterinary care. The animals, most of whom have been abused or neglected in the past , are able to live out the remainder of their lives in a nurturing and comfortable environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Our company helps in every way to keep safety to the staff and animals. I have witnessed over the years is the worker, Eileen, Melanie, and Nikki pour their heart and soul into each animal. They know and understand the hardship they have been through. It is a very amazing place. Each primate has a story, it is truly a miracle to watch how they act when they first come to Primate Center and a year later. They are much better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Primate Rescue Center is an amazing place. The staff and volunteers are dedicated to the philosophy that the center was built on which includes their mission statement of caring and providing sanctuary for rescued primates. This also includes working to educate the public about the laws to end the pet trade in the US and abroad. My experience as a volunteer has taught me a great deal and I am appreciative to be able to be a part of this agency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2011

more

March 23, 2011

The Primate Rescue Center is run with precision and care. I have seen animals arrive on death's doorstep, then fill out and flourish at PRC, enjoying life as a monkey (or chimp, or gibbon, or baboon) like they had never been able to experience previously. The caretakers are chosen with care by the owner. Attention to health (mental as well as physical) of the animals is a priority. The animals are fed with proper diets according to their species, they are offered enrichment activities regularly, and the grounds are kept clean and organized. Volunteers there pour their soul into helping out. As someone who went on to study veterinary medicine and environmental policy, I learned a great deal in my time as a volunteer/worker there.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching the animals flourish.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them acquire xray equipment.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Start a "Pennies 4 Primates" drive at your local school or organization; Create yummy enrichment treats from our Primate Cookbook; write a letter to the editor or op-ed article decrying the use and abuse of exotic animals as "pets." Volunteer