Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center for two years now and hope to be able to continue for years to come. I've fallen in love with the chimps and monkeys and all of their unique personalities. Knowing them personally makes it even more rewarding that I may play at least a small role in improving their lives. It is a honor to work with such a dedicated care staff. They go above and beyond to enrich the lives and health of all those in their care. Their respect and love for the primates can be seen in everything they do for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Primate Rescue Center Is a wonderful place. Primates rescued from all over the US wind up here. Most have a story. Each are treated with dignity. The enclosures are made to exacting standards, to maximize the comfort, enjoyment, and safety of the residence. The food is balanced to meet the residence's dietary needs. The center also tries to educate the general public about the different residence, and why it is not a good idea to try to make pets out of these creatures. As a child, my Grandmother rescued an abused Chimpanzee named Tammy. She had issues caused by the abuse. Back then, there were no Primate rescue facilities close by. The only offers to take her were research labs, to us, that was not an option. My mother , who knew about the true nature of Chimpanzees, allowed This chimp to finish out her days in an area that was safe both for her, and humans. It was not an easy task, to keep her well fed, and her enclosure clean. It took a lot of hard work. When she passed away many years later, it was a sad time for us all. I have seen first hand how the Primate center operates it's facility. The enclosures are clean, no easy task to be sure. the different residence run the gambit when it comes to Primates. The personel do a great job researching the needs of individuals in their care. Someday, i hope they raise the necessary funds to have a full fledged visitors center for educational purposes. This Center is vital to the rescue and rehabilitaion of these animals. It provides a vital service. The Staff work long hours with little compensation. They have dedicated themselves to the well being of their many charges.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had both employed and volunteer working experience at the Primate Rescue Center over the past 5 years and I gave absolutely nothing negative to say. I am never surprised when I visit the center year after year for the Open House in May in terms of the friendliness of the staff and most importantly, the care that is given to the residents at the PRC. Each animal is extremely well cared for and given the enrichment he or she deserves. Many of the residents came from horrid living situations before joining the PRC crew and while it is impossible to reserve the damage done to them in their past, it is obvious that the primates know they have a bright future at the PRC. I know without a doubt that the staff at the PRC takes into consideration EVERY detail necessary to maintain such an upstanding and recognized facility and I'm certain that will remain the truth for many, many years to come! Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The dedication of the staff and volunteers at the Primate Rescue Center is truly inspiring. The primates who are fortunate enough to reside in this sanctuary receive the best possible enrichment, diet, veterinary care. The animals, most of whom have been abused or neglected in the past , are able to live out the remainder of their lives in a nurturing and comfortable environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The dedication to the animals and the commitment to their well being is amazing. My grandson has spent time on the compound and has returned with a renewed love of these primates, that is due to love and care given to the primates by the staff. Jo Anne

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

As a management consultant with experience and expertise with non-profit organizations, I have been extremely impressed with all aspects of the Primate Rescue Center. A facility and organization of this size requires sound operational practices ranging from care and feeding, maintainance, financial management, project management, fundraising and staff/volunteer management. The operations and leadership at the Primate Rescue Center are top notch and highly efficient. What's more impressive still is how these strong practices are just the starting point for the dedication and commitment shown by April Truitt and her staff to the animals in there care and the advocacy of animal rights across the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Our company helps in every way to keep safety to the staff and animals. I have witnessed over the years is the worker, Eileen, Melanie, and Nikki pour their heart and soul into each animal. They know and understand the hardship they have been through. It is a very amazing place. Each primate has a story, it is truly a miracle to watch how they act when they first come to Primate Center and a year later. They are much better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Primate Rescue Center is unlike any place else. The commitment and dedication to these animals is amazing, and the staff does it on a shoestring budget.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

I learned of Primate Rescue Center several years ago when, as a journalist, I interviewed the director for a radio story. I was so taken with the commitment and professionalism of the place. Always, the primates come first. They are not handled by humans, except as necessary for their health. In other words, they are allowed to be as wild as they can be, within safe bounds. To think that we have this amazing sanctuary here in a rural part of Kentucky makes me very proud. No longer a journalist, I now support the center as much as I can.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Primate Rescue Center is an amazing place. The staff and volunteers are dedicated to the philosophy that the center was built on which includes their mission statement of caring and providing sanctuary for rescued primates. This also includes working to educate the public about the laws to end the pet trade in the US and abroad. My experience as a volunteer has taught me a great deal and I am appreciative to be able to be a part of this agency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Start a "Pennies 4 Primates" drive at your local school or organization; Create yummy enrichment treats from our Primate Cookbook; write a letter to the editor or op-ed article decrying the use and abuse of exotic animals as "pets." Volunteer