Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

What an amazing place! I hate to imagine what would happen to monkeys in need in our region if the Primate Rescue Center was not in existence. 100% of donations are used for the care of the monkeys and chimpanzees, it is nice to know that the funds are being put to such a great cause. You can give with confidence!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase funding to help increase capacity

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I had the privilege to visit the primate center this year and was thoroughly impressed. I love how in the best interest of the animals, they do not allow regular visits to the center, but instead work to allow the animals to have the most natural experience possible. Also, they are creative in finding toys that the primates will enjoy and use that as a way for people to contribute to the center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

The Primate Rescue in Nicholasville, KY is a wonderful place for God's creatures that need a home. My daughter worked there for a long time before her death. She absolutely adored working there! They are so good to the animals! I have many pictures and videos of her enjoying her work! I wouldn't take anything for them! This place is Heaven on earth for our chimps and monkeys, etc. Thank you, Primate Rescue Center for being you....with your zeal and love for the animals happy life there. I'll love you forever!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It's just right like it is........

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

I so respect this organization and their work. It's so important to spread the word that primates should not be made pets or used in experiments or entertainment. I'm glad the Primate Rescue Center gives these animals a healthy, peaceful home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

The Primate Rescue Center is an important and wonderful organization. Its mission is to alleviate the suffering of primates wherever it occurs. The Center currently provides lifetime care for 11 chimpanzees and over 40 monkeys who have found a safe haven there. In addition, the PRC collaborates with a nationwide network of primate sanctuaries to rescue and relocate animals in need. I've visited the facilities at several Open House opportunities and was extremely impressed by the facilities, the grounds, the obvious good health of the animals, and the affinity the animals had for PRC staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2013

more

May 31, 2013

Primate Rescue Center does wonderful work by alleviating the suffering of primates purchased as pets and those housed in horrific conditions around the globe. We've known April and Clay Miller for years (when Gizmo was new to the family). Anything the Miller's do, they do 110%.

Having
been supporters of the Jane Goodall Institute (JGI) for a number of years, it was a simple choice to navigate to, and support, a facility that's in our own local community.

This month we attended the Members Only Spring Gala and were able to see first hand how our and the support of others helps the center and it's residents.

To April, Clay, and all the volunteers, keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 12, 2013

more

January 12, 2013

I was a summer Primate Husbandy intern at the PRC in 2010. I spent that summer working with the PRC staff and getting to be a part of their daily efforts to provide a loving, fulfilling home to these rescued primates. The reality for primates in America right now is that we need more places like the PRC for them to go in peace in a respectful loving environment where they are encouraged to live their days socially and happily. I am thankful that we have places like the PRC to set the standard and give fellow sanctuaries something to strive for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center for two years now and hope to be able to continue for years to come. I've fallen in love with the chimps and monkeys and all of their unique personalities. Knowing them personally makes it even more rewarding that I may play at least a small role in improving their lives. It is a honor to work with such a dedicated care staff. They go above and beyond to enrich the lives and health of all those in their care. Their respect and love for the primates can be seen in everything they do for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Primate Rescue Center Is a wonderful place. Primates rescued from all over the US wind up here. Most have a story. Each are treated with dignity. The enclosures are made to exacting standards, to maximize the comfort, enjoyment, and safety of the residence. The food is balanced to meet the residence's dietary needs. The center also tries to educate the general public about the different residence, and why it is not a good idea to try to make pets out of these creatures. As a child, my Grandmother rescued an abused Chimpanzee named Tammy. She had issues caused by the abuse. Back then, there were no Primate rescue facilities close by. The only offers to take her were research labs, to us, that was not an option. My mother , who knew about the true nature of Chimpanzees, allowed This chimp to finish out her days in an area that was safe both for her, and humans. It was not an easy task, to keep her well fed, and her enclosure clean. It took a lot of hard work. When she passed away many years later, it was a sad time for us all. I have seen first hand how the Primate center operates it's facility. The enclosures are clean, no easy task to be sure. the different residence run the gambit when it comes to Primates. The personel do a great job researching the needs of individuals in their care. Someday, i hope they raise the necessary funds to have a full fledged visitors center for educational purposes. This Center is vital to the rescue and rehabilitaion of these animals. It provides a vital service. The Staff work long hours with little compensation. They have dedicated themselves to the well being of their many charges.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had both employed and volunteer working experience at the Primate Rescue Center over the past 5 years and I gave absolutely nothing negative to say. I am never surprised when I visit the center year after year for the Open House in May in terms of the friendliness of the staff and most importantly, the care that is given to the residents at the PRC. Each animal is extremely well cared for and given the enrichment he or she deserves. Many of the residents came from horrid living situations before joining the PRC crew and while it is impossible to reserve the damage done to them in their past, it is obvious that the primates know they have a bright future at the PRC. I know without a doubt that the staff at the PRC takes into consideration EVERY detail necessary to maintain such an upstanding and recognized facility and I'm certain that will remain the truth for many, many years to come! Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Start a "Pennies 4 Primates" drive at your local school or organization; Create yummy enrichment treats from our Primate Cookbook; write a letter to the editor or op-ed article decrying the use and abuse of exotic animals as "pets." Volunteer