Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

The PRC is truly a one-of-a-kind place. I feel very fortunate to have spent the summer here as an intern. The care for the animals is above and beyond exceptional, and the staff and volunteers are all extremely kind and welcoming. For me, not only did I feel like I was helping out animals in need, but also I learned a great deal as well. I got to see first hand the interactions of many chimpanzees with one another in a group dynamic, as well as dominance and display behaviors, lip smacking in monkeys, and even a routine vasectomy performed (by a veterinarian) on one of the newest members. Overall I consider my time there a blessing, and would rate the Rescue Center and its members as a top-notch organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2011

I first became involved with the Primate Rescue Center (PRC) when I wrote the sanctuary a letter, seeking information on how to prepare myself to work in the primatology field. Imagine my surprise whe... more

August 8, 2014

This organization is one of the best out there. Everything they do is for the benefit of their primate residents. It is heartwarming to see these animals, who have often been through much trauma, live out the rest of their lives in peace, comfort, and while getting the physical and mental stimulation they need. I also admire how the PRC remains involved and active in helping to change the legal and cultural issues that cause sanctuaries to be needed in the first place. The PRC is a prime example of a true animal advocacy organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 16, 2011

I first became involved with the Primate Rescue Center (PRC) when I wrote the sanctuary a letter, seeking information on how to prepare myself to work in the primatology field. Imagine my surprise when the PRC's director, April Truitt, personally called me and not only spent valuable time answering all my questions, but also invited me to volunteer there for a week! I never dreamed of being offered such an opportunity, so I snatched it up and after continued education and research, I found myself volunteering at the PRC within a few short months.

I was amazed at the friendliness of the staff at PRC, their incredibly professional methods for caring for their primates, but most of all, I was impressed with the true care and empathy the staff had for each individual primate living within their walls. Staff at the PRC understood the varied histories and experiences of the intelligent, sensitive primates who were lucky enough to live out the rest of their lives at the sanctuary. Every system involved in the daily care of the primates had clearly been perfectly engineered for efficiency, cleanliness, and economy so as best to maintain a wonderful quality of life for the primates. The wisdom and experiences of April Truitt and her staff is invaluable, and I will forever be grateful to have had such a memorable foray into the primatology field.

Not living in the Kentucky area, my time volunteering at the PRC was inevitably cut short when I had to fly back to my home in New England. However, my experiences at the PRC changed me, and I know it is their professionalism and love for primates that inspired me to continue making a difference in the primatology field.

I donate to the Primate Rescue Center every chance I can, because I know my dollars go directly towards a good life for primates that have lived through so much, and deserve only the best. I thank the PRC, their staff, and yes, their nonhuman primates as well, for giving me the chance to join them, albeit for a short time. I only wish I lived closer so I could be there in person, not just in spirit, every day to witness their wonderful work with such special animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in the time that I spent volunteering there. I also continue to witness their growth and involvement in the sanctuary world via website and newsletter updates, as well as personal correspondence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would give them more money so they could take as many primates as need sanctuary. Oh, and I would move them to New England so I could be there more often!

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

By far one of the best opportunities to volunteer I have ever experienced. Participating in such a noble pursuit of work had profound impacts on my life. I cannot thank the staff enough for their dedication, willingness to share their knowledge and their commitment to the welfare of the animals they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

February 6, 2014

more

February 6, 2014

What a wonderful sanctuary! The love and dedication of all who work and volunteer there is apparent- the chimpanzees and monkeys all have beautiful habitats with tons of enrichment, good nutrition, and all look happy and healthy. Love PRC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes necessary!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2014

My son and his friends were all about playing with stuffed monkeys. But the stuffed ones were no comparison with the real, living, beautiful primates that two of them were able to see during the center's open house. The work the PROC does to save these "babies" is overwhelming, heartwarming, and priceless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I was fortunate enough to be able to visit this primate sanctuary during the recent NAPSA workshop and was absolutely blown away. The habitats for the monkeys and chimpanzees were so clean and FULL of enrichment items. The staff truly loves and cares for all the primates there and it was evident. I feel so lucky to have been able to see such a beautiful place, but the faces on the monkeys and chimps were the best- happy, confident, and loved. A big thank you to Primate Rescue Center for stepping in and helping these unwanted exotic pets and used biomedical subjects and to be a place of healing and hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I learned of this organization after voting in a chimp art contest. Although I'm involved in a number of animal rescue/rights charities (ASPCA, HSUS, etc), this was my first exposure to a sanctuary that focused on Primates. The literature that I've received has been enlightening and I'm looking forward to learning more about the Primate Rescue Center and improving the welfare of Primates in general.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I Do A Lot Of Volunteering For A Lot Of Organizations. I Have Never Encountered An Executive Staff Before That Eats, Lives & Breathes Their Organization (And The Support Of Others That do Similar Work) Like ThIs One Does. Total Dedication Is An Understatement! They Are Even Mindful Of Human Impact On Their Residents So Much That They Only Open Their Doors Once A Year For A Private, Invitation-Only Fundraiser In Order To minimalize Stress On Their Primates. This Facility, Like No Other That I Have Ever Encountered (Human Or Animal Oriented), Puts The Health, Comfort, Well-Being And Happiness Of Souls Under Their Care Above All Else. April Is Sooooo Dedicated That She Even Networks With Other Primate Facilities To Find Homes For Abused Or Neglected Primates Across The Nation. She Is An Advocate For Primates 24/7/365. She Is Dedicated Not Only To The Animals ThemSelves But To The Education Of The Public That Primates Are Not Domesticated Pets In An Effort To Prevent Future Need For Rescue. This Facility Is Ever Mindful Of The Safety Of Their PrIMates And Staff. Preservation Of Quality Of Life Is A Definite Priority Here. I Can't Say Enough About The Quality Of This Facility!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enlarge All Of The Living Habitats To Encompass The Trees So The Smaller Primates Would Live In A More Natural Habitat & Roam Freely Through The Trees. I Would Provide A Steady Steam Of Mega Funding To Take The Stress Off April So She Could Take A Breather.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I participated in a chimp art contest to vote which one is the most artistic. All of the chimps were rescues and in various locations. The most amazing work is being done by these primate rescue centers by taking in these poor animals who have suffered horribly due to inhumane testing in labs. It breaks my heart to think these intelligent and talented chimps endured such pain and probable isolation. The fact that some where taken from their natural habitats or born in the labs and subjected to this testing their entire lives is a crime. Bless these people who are caring for these magnificant animals who have suffered way too long. It is probably a hard adjustment for them and with patience and love they can finally live out their lives in freedom.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

This is a wonderful charity that helps poor chimps that spent there entire life being
Prodded and poked in labs

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Start a "Pennies 4 Primates" drive at your local school or organization; Create yummy enrichment treats from our Primate Cookbook; write a letter to the editor or op-ed article decrying the use and abuse of exotic animals as "pets." Volunteer