Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center for two years now and hope to be able to continue for years to come. I've fallen in love with the chimps and monkeys and all of their unique perso... more

September 25, 2014

I have volunteered with the Primate Rescue Center for several years, both on-site and off, and I can't say enough about the great facilities and the care the primates get. The primates and staff are hands down some of my favorite beings on the planet. The work they are doing here is important and amazing and I'm proud to support them.
November 12, 2012

I have been volunteering at the Primate Rescue Center for two years now and hope to be able to continue for years to come. I've fallen in love with the chimps and monkeys and all of their unique personalities. Knowing them personally makes it even more rewarding that I may play at least a small role in improving their lives. It is a honor to work with such a dedicated care staff. They go above and beyond to enrich the lives and health of all those in their care. Their respect and love for the primates can be seen in everything they do for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Outstanding non-profit for which I proudly volunteer. There is a shared kindred spirit and devotion to the daily care of animals that desperately needed rescued and desperately needed a home. This organization is also eager to educate the community so everyone can make a difference in primate lives.
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

When I retired from another nonprofit, the Primate Rescue Center was where I chose to volunteer. I have been volunteering now for almost 2 years, once a week. This center is a wonderful place to be ! The folks at the Center have their priorities in order with the care of the primates being the number one duty of everyone, staff and volunteer. They are very caring with the volunteers as well as the animals, training volunteers for all duties needed. I have always had a love for primates and have learned so much from observing them! I feel fortunate to have this opportunity right in my back yard !
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The Primate Rescue Center is a wonderful place. I have been volunteering there once a week for
almost eight years. The care staff there are exceptional. The Primates get the best of care. It is a beautiful place for the Primates to live the rest of their life out. I have learned so much from
volunteering there. The care staff has so much passion for helping the primates. I truly love everything about the PRC and feel I am so fortunate to be a part of it. Thanks so much to the PRC for giving the Primates a good and happy life. Its sad to think of where they would be if not for the PRC.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

My experience at the PRC as a summer intern was unforgettable. Not only did I expand my knowledge of husbandry care activities, but I was also able to get creative and learn how to enrich the animals in new and exciting ways. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity I received this summer to work with not only great animals but a wonderful staff as well! The caregivers and volunteers assisted me in the personal growth that I have experienced this summer. I loved learning how to properly interact with apes versus monkeys as these skills will surely be of use in my future. The PRC residents receive the utmost care from the staff and are surrounded by a stimulating environment. I am sincerely glad to say that I interned at the PRC this summer as it is a truly wonderful place! :)
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

The PRC is truly a one-of-a-kind place. I feel very fortunate to have spent the summer here as an intern. The care for the animals is above and beyond exceptional, and the staff and volunteers are all extremely kind and welcoming. For me, not only did I feel like I was helping out animals in need, but also I learned a great deal as well. I got to see first hand the interactions of many chimpanzees with one another in a group dynamic, as well as dominance and display behaviors, lip smacking in monkeys, and even a routine vasectomy performed (by a veterinarian) on one of the newest members. Overall I consider my time there a blessing, and would rate the Rescue Center and its members as a top-notch organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 16, 2011

I first became involved with the Primate Rescue Center (PRC) when I wrote the sanctuary a letter, seeking information on how to prepare myself to work in the primatology field. Imagine my surprise whe... more

August 8, 2014

This organization is one of the best out there. Everything they do is for the benefit of their primate residents. It is heartwarming to see these animals, who have often been through much trauma, live out the rest of their lives in peace, comfort, and while getting the physical and mental stimulation they need. I also admire how the PRC remains involved and active in helping to change the legal and cultural issues that cause sanctuaries to be needed in the first place. The PRC is a prime example of a true animal advocacy organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 16, 2011

I first became involved with the Primate Rescue Center (PRC) when I wrote the sanctuary a letter, seeking information on how to prepare myself to work in the primatology field. Imagine my surprise when the PRC's director, April Truitt, personally called me and not only spent valuable time answering all my questions, but also invited me to volunteer there for a week! I never dreamed of being offered such an opportunity, so I snatched it up and after continued education and research, I found myself volunteering at the PRC within a few short months.

I was amazed at the friendliness of the staff at PRC, their incredibly professional methods for caring for their primates, but most of all, I was impressed with the true care and empathy the staff had for each individual primate living within their walls. Staff at the PRC understood the varied histories and experiences of the intelligent, sensitive primates who were lucky enough to live out the rest of their lives at the sanctuary. Every system involved in the daily care of the primates had clearly been perfectly engineered for efficiency, cleanliness, and economy so as best to maintain a wonderful quality of life for the primates. The wisdom and experiences of April Truitt and her staff is invaluable, and I will forever be grateful to have had such a memorable foray into the primatology field.

Not living in the Kentucky area, my time volunteering at the PRC was inevitably cut short when I had to fly back to my home in New England. However, my experiences at the PRC changed me, and I know it is their professionalism and love for primates that inspired me to continue making a difference in the primatology field.

I donate to the Primate Rescue Center every chance I can, because I know my dollars go directly towards a good life for primates that have lived through so much, and deserve only the best. I thank the PRC, their staff, and yes, their nonhuman primates as well, for giving me the chance to join them, albeit for a short time. I only wish I lived closer so I could be there in person, not just in spirit, every day to witness their wonderful work with such special animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in the time that I spent volunteering there. I also continue to witness their growth and involvement in the sanctuary world via website and newsletter updates, as well as personal correspondence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would give them more money so they could take as many primates as need sanctuary. Oh, and I would move them to New England so I could be there more often!

February 7, 2014

more

February 7, 2014

By far one of the best opportunities to volunteer I have ever experienced. Participating in such a noble pursuit of work had profound impacts on my life. I cannot thank the staff enough for their dedication, willingness to share their knowledge and their commitment to the welfare of the animals they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

February 6, 2014

more

February 6, 2014

What a wonderful sanctuary! The love and dedication of all who work and volunteer there is apparent- the chimpanzees and monkeys all have beautiful habitats with tons of enrichment, good nutrition, and all look happy and healthy. Love PRC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes necessary!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2014

My son and his friends were all about playing with stuffed monkeys. But the stuffed ones were no comparison with the real, living, beautiful primates that two of them were able to see during the center's open house. The work the PROC does to save these "babies" is overwhelming, heartwarming, and priceless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

...enable you to start a "Pennies 4 Primates" drive at your local school or organization, or you could bake enrichment treats from our Primate Cookbook, and then write a letter to the editor decrying the use and abuse of exotic animals as "pets." Volunteer