Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

PINCC (or PCC) is a great organization. Having volunteered with them a number of times, I have seen firsthand how much can be done for the women of the world by a small number of dedicated people.
I can recommend this charity without reservation!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been a volunteer with PINCC since 2011, helping develop their community outreach and education program. When I first met them and learned about the work they do to help women all over the world I was amazed. Their model of not only screening and treating the local women at these sites, but also training the medical staff, making them self sufficient by donating necessary equipment such as microscopes etc, educating local women and the community health workers about cervical prevention and treatment, and then revisiting all the sites periodically to ensure that quality of work is maintained is an ideal and self sustaining one. Their work has always been appreciated by the communities of these sites and has now also started gaining recognition by the governments who want to collaborate with PINCC to develop national Cervical Cancer screening programs. Being from India myself I am aware of how common cervical cancer is in the developing nations. I feel both honored and humbled to be associated with PINCC and am fortunate to have this opportunity to make a small contribution to the improvement of health of women all over the world.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

There are so many good causes to give one's time and money to; but so few good solutions. Preventing Cervical Cancer has the solution to preventing Cervical Cancer. Instead of going to a country doing some good work and not leaving anything behind, PCC goes where invited, trains staff & provides the necessary medical equipment so that screening and treatment can carry on without PCC. Over 30 clinics and hospitals in the Global South have graduated and are carrying on so that now many thousands of poor women are protected from this terrible disease. Mostly volunteers go to Africa, Latin America and India. Ethiopia and Bangladesh are eager for us to come and we will as soon as we can raise the money. It is such a joy to tell a woman that the displasia was removed and the threat of cancer is gone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I went on a volunteer trip with PINCC to Nicaragua and found it to be an amazing experience. I think PINCC offers an invaluable service to women in developing countries. I am eager to do another trip with the organization.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I believe PINCC to be a model for a medical non-profit: it offers a focused, life-saving service that can be easily taught, with minimal resources, with enormous potential benefit to the health of women around the world. I have volunteered with other medical teams in underserved areas where we deliver healthcare directly to patients, but after we leave I've always felt uneasy about how these patients might fare, left with overstrained and under equipped personnel and resources. But with PINCC, we are enabling the practitioners themselves to continue to deliver life-saving care, to far more patients than we could ever see, by teaching them this simply method of screening and treating pre-cancerous cervix lesions and thereby preventing premature death.
I have decided after my experience with PINCC that the only kind of medical volunteer trip I want to do in the future will be one which leaves behind a legacy like theirs!
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

300,000 women die each year of cervical cancer in developing countries, a disease that has been almost eliminated in the United States. Using vinegar and headlamps and dustbusters bought on the local market, PINCC is training local medical staff to stop cervical cancer. Volunteers pay their own way and administrative costs are kept to a minimum so that the vast majority of all funding goes for direct on the ground services. I know. I spent two weeks in western Kenya in 2014 and I got to watch PINCC in action. What makes PINCC unique is not that they are saving women's lives on three continents, but that they are training local staff to create and fund their own low cost clinics and then going one step further to train the trainees to become trainers themselves. As a volunteer, I learned how to make swabs (because there are none), clean speculums, did data entry, set up clinic rooms (without electricity) and assisted in procedures. The local trainees worked all night and then came to classes twice a day and learned, hands on, how to diagnose and treat the lesions which lead to cervical cancer. Women walked for miles and waited for hours to be seen. And the trainees knew that whatever they could learn would save the women of their communities, their families, themselves.
There are other clinics in other countries on a long waiting list to invite PINCC to come to them to train. The only limitation is financial. Every dollar is stretched to its outer limit because every dollar means another woman saved, another grandmother survives to care for the next generation, another trainee becomes a trainer to pass along the education to stop cervical cancer everywhere, forever.
October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 28, 2010

Working with PINCC, first in Africa, and now twice a year in India is the most amazing and fulfilling work I have ever done! So many women in the slum & village areas of developing countries develop c... more

October 27, 2014

PINCC is the premier global NGO in screening for and preventing cervical cancer in the world. Our work in India demonstrated that this wholly preventable, but very deadly, cancer can indeed be prevented inexpensively!
May 28, 2010

Working with PINCC, first in Africa, and now twice a year in India is the most amazing and fulfilling work I have ever done! So many women in the slum & village areas of developing countries develop cervical cancer, which is totally preventable and is seldom seen in developed areas where Pap smears are used. The single visit "see & treat" screening process is safe, easy to teach to local doctors, and very effective at preventing the onset of cervical cancer. Perhaps the most wonderful aspect is that we are building the capacity of local health workers to do the screening on a regular basis, and also preparing them to train other health workers, to spread the availability of this remarkable process.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As Administrator for PINCC India and also as a Board member, I have access to the clinical success results from the screening and treatment process.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Seeing the screening and training process work so effectively

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Really surprised at how fulfilling the work is

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Eradicate most of the cervical cancer in the world and asve many thousands of lives each year

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 7, 2013

PINCC is a very well organized charity that does lots of good work on a very small budget. I have volunteered with them in a support, i.e. non-medical, role in El Salvador in November 2012 and in Ni... more

October 27, 2014

I have volunteered with PINCC in Central America, and can attest that they operate on a very limited budget. PINCC recruits volunteer medical and non-medical folks (like me) who pay their own way on 1-2 week trips to countries like El Salvador and Kenya. The volunteer medical team trains local doctors to detect cervical cancer using vinegar (yes, the white vinegar we use at home!). During these training clinics up to 50 women are seen and treated each day. PINCC trains the doctors to detect and treat early-stage lesions the same day they are detected, which is important in a poor country where the women may travel great distances to obtain medical care.
PINCC is very effective. They use their volunteers wisely, and they create sustainable cervical cancer detection and treatment programs by training the local docs and donating the equipment the doctors will need to treat early stage cancers.
October 7, 2013

PINCC is a very well organized charity that does lots of good work on a very small budget. I have volunteered with them in a support, i.e. non-medical, role in El Salvador in November 2012 and in Nicaragua in June 2013. Carol Cruickshank led the team of volunteer doctors and support folks for both trips. She made sure that the local staff were taught in both a classroom and practice setting in how to perform the procedures to detect cervical cancer and treat it in its early stages. All volunteers were kept fully engaged in seeing the patients, counseling them on HIV prevention, and recording the results of our work. It is a terrific organization and I can't say enough good things about them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with PINCC in Peru, Kenya and India. As an Ob Gyn physician I can wholeheartedly support their mission and process. They operate on a shoestring budget and do important work that no other organization is doing. Cervical cancer is huge problem for poor women around the world- but neglected by many governments and health care organizations. PINCC knows the value of saving women's lives.
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I had a great experience with PINCC- I have done a lot of international work and I was really impressed by PINCC's approach and model- really felt like we were leaving tools and skills that healthcare professionals would be able to use after we left.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers